Customer Reviews for

Just Ella

Average Rating 4.5
( 212 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(134)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Made Me Love To Read

THIS BOOK CHANGED MY LIFE FOREVER! I was 9 when I read this book and I couldn't put it down. This book made me realize that I love to read spinoffs of fairytales. This book makes you feel like your in the book. I reccomend this book to girls 11 yrs and up if you love to...
THIS BOOK CHANGED MY LIFE FOREVER! I was 9 when I read this book and I couldn't put it down. This book made me realize that I love to read spinoffs of fairytales. This book makes you feel like your in the book. I reccomend this book to girls 11 yrs and up if you love to read if not 14 years and up. Also another book by Haddix that is well written is Palace of Mirrors.

posted by 6696617 on July 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

its not "just Ella"

Historical Fiction

Just Ella

Margret Patterson Haddix

¿¿Once upon a time,¿ I said mischievously, wrinkling my nose so Jed would know I was making fun of the whole thing, `I was just a poor girl in rags¿¿ But somehow remembering everything tra...
Historical Fiction

Just Ella

Margret Patterson Haddix

¿¿Once upon a time,¿ I said mischievously, wrinkling my nose so Jed would know I was making fun of the whole thing, `I was just a poor girl in rags¿¿ But somehow remembering everything transported me back, and I quickly settled into seriousness. I wasn¿t even pretending to be Princess Cynthiana Eleanora anymore. I was myself again, Ella Brown, always hungry, always cold, always angry at my stepmother¿s and stepsister¿s cruelties. . . .¿

When you hear a `cinders Ella¿ story you think of a poor little girl being whisked away from her stepmothers and stepsisters home to live with the prince and have a happily ever after. Not this story. Ella has learned that her happily ever after is not so great but more¿ BORING! When Ella is taken off to the palace grounds she thinks that that she will have everything she has always wanted, but is endless, boring lessons and stupid, annoying restrictions what she wanted? No! Ella feels bad when she tries to end the engagement, but finds Quog, a terrible THING in her way to her escape.

As I read this story I was quickly able to guess the end by the 3rd-4th chapter. I could have stopped reading, flipped to the last page read that, and said DONE! But I didn¿t, I stuck it through and I was right about the end. This book was good¿ for a 5th-6th grader; I would say that it was pretty pathetic. I don¿t advise you to read this book if you are older than 11-12. IF you are older and you are in to fairytale and princesses than I say read it. But if you are more of a reader like me, who likes a suspense-full, twisted novel; I think you might despise this book as much as I do.

Over all, the book was, well, TERRIBLE. But it kept me busy and I read it. I will never buy this book for my personal collection. I will not be too sad if I never have to read it again.

posted by 3hoxwosn on January 13, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Made Me Love To Read

    THIS BOOK CHANGED MY LIFE FOREVER! I was 9 when I read this book and I couldn't put it down. This book made me realize that I love to read spinoffs of fairytales. This book makes you feel like your in the book. I reccomend this book to girls 11 yrs and up if you love to read if not 14 years and up. Also another book by Haddix that is well written is Palace of Mirrors.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    I HIGHLY RECCOMEND THIS BOOK!

    I love this book! Its mainly about a girl who thinks life will be perfect once she marries Prince Charming. WRONG! Ella is a great character who shows that you dont need magic to make your happily ever after.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Great book

    I luved this book! I reccomend it to anyone!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2009

    its not "just Ella"

    Historical Fiction <BR/><BR/>Just Ella<BR/><BR/>Margret Patterson Haddix<BR/><BR/>¿¿Once upon a time,¿ I said mischievously, wrinkling my nose so Jed would know I was making fun of the whole thing, `I was just a poor girl in rags¿¿ But somehow remembering everything transported me back, and I quickly settled into seriousness. I wasn¿t even pretending to be Princess Cynthiana Eleanora anymore. I was myself again, Ella Brown, always hungry, always cold, always angry at my stepmother¿s and stepsister¿s cruelties. . . .¿<BR/><BR/>When you hear a `cinders Ella¿ story you think of a poor little girl being whisked away from her stepmothers and stepsisters home to live with the prince and have a happily ever after. Not this story. Ella has learned that her happily ever after is not so great but more¿ BORING! When Ella is taken off to the palace grounds she thinks that that she will have everything she has always wanted, but is endless, boring lessons and stupid, annoying restrictions what she wanted? No! Ella feels bad when she tries to end the engagement, but finds Quog, a terrible THING in her way to her escape.<BR/><BR/>As I read this story I was quickly able to guess the end by the 3rd-4th chapter. I could have stopped reading, flipped to the last page read that, and said DONE! But I didn¿t, I stuck it through and I was right about the end. This book was good¿ for a 5th-6th grader; I would say that it was pretty pathetic. I don¿t advise you to read this book if you are older than 11-12. IF you are older and you are in to fairytale and princesses than I say read it. But if you are more of a reader like me, who likes a suspense-full, twisted novel; I think you might despise this book as much as I do.<BR/><BR/>Over all, the book was, well, TERRIBLE. But it kept me busy and I read it. I will never buy this book for my personal collection. I will not be too sad if I never have to read it again.

    6 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    A favorite

    Read a long time back. Reread it a few times definitly a favorite. I'm 24 now and still like this retelling.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    I love margret peterson haddix!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is really good. It is about ella a poor girl who goes to a ball and dances with the prince. She ends up becoming the princess but learns she dosnt like that kind of life. This is a great spin on the origional cinderella story. Also by haddix i reccomend double identity and uprising.
    (Pardon my spelling) :)

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Omg si good

    I loved this princess cinderalla remix! I just didnt like the ending. Well i liked ut i just eish it was longer!!!!! Really good overall!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    ....

    This book would have been good. But the ending was STUPID!!!! Seriously, it just says she went back to work. She should have FELL IN LOVE WITH JED.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Really good but a little far from romance

    I thought this book was really interesting at first and the main plot was simply marvolous. What would happen to cinderella if the happy ever after was a hoax? I thought the first hundread pages were very good but the end didnt capture me at all. No real feelings were shared with the prince , ella, and sorry-i-forgot-his-name ellas tutor u might say i guess. The end i found was very tedious waiting for something to happen when she escaped (spolier) and i ended just skipping pages with the same old event. I thought this was okay-but-good-as-well but i wouldnt stop u from buying the book except for SOME BORING PARTS i dont regret reading just ella.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    ??????????

    is it a romance novel?

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    hated it.

    i picked this book up all excited thinking that it was going to be amazing but let me just tell you... eww. ove only gotten through the first two chapters and ive had this book for four years. i can not get into it at all. i find it to be very boring and just blah. i suggest to not pick this book up unless your taste in books is ick.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm a 6th grade student in Glendale AZ and the book Just Ella rocks!

    Just Ella by Margaret Peterson Haddix, is about a girl named Ella.Her journey from a slave in her own house, to princess in training, to escaped convict takes place in mid evil times. Even then you could learn a lesson or two.The lesson of this story is that life is not a fairy tale. Even though the story is a little dramatic, I like it because it has more twists and turns than you can imagine and that it relates to the Cinderella story. It relates to the Cinderella story and to some mid evil towns. Another book that I have read that is similar to Just Ella is the Cinderella movie novel and Ida B.Ida B changes when other things in her life change like Ella and Cinderella is like what Ella had to go through. Overall, I think that Just Ella rocks!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Great

    Ella from ella enchanted( except she doesnt have a fairy godmother) is engaged to prince charming. She realizes that his love is a show and tells him that she doesnt want to merry him. He reveals his true self and puts her in jail untill she comes to her sences about the subject. She digs her way out wih the help of her servant friend and reunites with her tutor who is helping the sick from the war. She realizes who she realy loves...

    This is a great book! I couldnt put it down! Very well written! I hope Mrs. Haddix writes a sequal! And soon!
    Oh and i there is one please inform me and title your review to bella123! Thanks,
    Reader :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Mackenzie speaking here

    I love this book Mageret Peterson Haddix is an amzing author even though the ending was a little boring it was amazing book please read but if you don't like fairytales then I wouldn't read this book even though it is good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!You have got to read it AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    A MUST READ!!!!!!

    Loved it! A+++

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Mary ann

    I love this book, just sooooo nice and unique

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Book worm

    This book is absoloutly AMAZING! Love it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Ayannomus

    I dont have it but i want it cuz it mostly 4 and 5 stars! So i will prob ask my mom for it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Greatest book ever

    This is a fun version cinderella wow!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    Good!

    I loved this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 212 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11