Customer Reviews for

Just Imagine

Average Rating 4
( 44 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2008

    awesome

    read this book, I fell in love with this story and this is one book that I can read over and over again

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Reconstruction Era romance

    The Civil War is over and the country tries to heal its¿ wounds. However, eighteen years old Katherine ¿Kit¿ Weston of Risen Glory Plantation was ruined in the war. The woman from Rutherford, South Carolina has a personal battle to fight. She comes to New York mistaken for a young boy due to her ragged clothing to kill Northern war hero Major Baron Cain, current owner of what is left of her family plantation. <P>Kit obtains a job working as a stable boy for Baron, but soon learns he is also her guardian. However, Baron soon uncovers the truth that his outspoken street urchin is actually a lovely-determined young lady, who wants him dead even as he falls in love with her. <P> JUST IMAGINE reengineering a highly regarded novel that started your career¿s rise to the top. Susan Elizabeth Phillips risks doing just that to her fabulous 1984 Reconstruction Era romance RISEN GLORY and succeeds in improving the already strong novel. Ms. Phillips keeps the core essence of the original story line, and the hearts and souls of Kit and Baron intact, but tightens loose passages so that readers have quite a treat that will be labeled a classic seventeen years from now. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2001

    Tension-filled Historical

    This historical, chronicling the stormy attraction between a Southern woman and a Yankee war hero, is actually a revision of RISEN GLORY published in 1984. <br><br> At the conclusion of the Civil War, Kit Weston travels from South Carolina to New York to kill the only man that stands between her and Risen Glory, the plantation that she stands to inherit upon his death. Major Baron Cain, Union ¿Hero of Missionary Ridge¿, was deeded the plantation by his wayward mother, Rosemary, who also happened to be Kit¿s stepmother. <br><br> Believing that Kit is a boy, Baron hires her to be his stable boy. When Cain discovers his mistake and learns her true identity, he decides to send Kit away to finishing school. Not only does Risen Glory belong to him, but, in a coincidence true only in romance novels, he is also Kit¿s guardian. <br><br> Though Kit despises Baron, she agrees to do as he suggests. If not, he has promised that he will sell Risen Glory. But three years later, at the tender age of twenty-one, Kit returns to South Carolina to see the prospering of her plantation. Tension between Cain and Kit is like an electric storm, as they are constantly sparring amidst the sparks of attraction. <br><br> The cast of supporting characters are the condiments to this Yankee/Southern sandwich. There is Sophronia, a freed former slave and friend of Kit¿s and Magnus, also a freed slave who is both friend and employee to Cain. And one could hardly forget the ever-proper Miss Dolly, Kit¿s slightly batty, aging Southern belle chaperone. <br><br> In the tradition of the tension filled romance novel, Kit and Baron are the perfect protagonists, coming together in their moments of passion, though they are distant and constantly at each others¿ throats any other time. Ms. Phillips weaves a delightful mix of tears, laughter, and passion into this memorable historical, another novel in her growing list of exceptional reads.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    Testing Bay

    -ImagiLabs

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    SEP

    I love SEP and this book was very her. It almost earned 3 stars but there was just something missing for me about this book. I could never truly understand the characters motives or why they behaved the way they did. It was a good read...i finished the thing so that says something right there....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    The best book ever!

    This is my favorite book! I have listened to it twice, on audio book... and I could listen to it again. I wish it would be made into a movie....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2007

    Um...

    Uh...yeah. Not to go up against all these five star reveiws or anything but...I hated this book. I picked it up on account that I had just finished Gone with the Wind and it had left me with an unquenchable thirst for more Civil War romances. This book was a disappointment. I couldn't even finish reading it. Okay, I admit that I really have no place to critize it without first reading the ending, and I shouldn't compare it with a timeless classic like Gone with the Wind, but I can't help it. It was awful. It was not just the shallow story line that made it bad, but the way the book moved way to quickly to one thing to another without stopping to instill emotion into the pages just left the words dry and pointless. It seemed to me that it was trying to copy another story that I loved so well and was just butchering it instead. This is all just my opinion, but I think the book was not even worth the energy and time spent to grab it from the shelf. Don't read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2006

    A Unexpected Disappointment

    I have read just about everything from Susan Elizabeth Phillips and enjoyed each and every one. However, this book was a disappointment. I found that I lost interest in the characters early on but trudge on hoping it would get better. Unfortunately, I was forced to put it down two thirds of the way through out of sheer boredom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2006

    Let Your Imagination Run Wild In This Wonderful Story...

    This is the first book by SEP that I have read. I knew I was in for a winner as the author starts the entry page with the following: ¿So, come back with me to an earlier time¿a time when men were men, and women were put on earth to give them trouble!¿ I just knew it was going to be a great book and I was not disappointed. It may have had many similarities to ¿Gone With The Wind¿ but, it also had plenty of deviances and nuances to make it fresh and unique to itself. Baron and Kit far surpass Rhett and Scarlett in the exciting couple category by leaps and bounds. I really enjoyed our heroine Katherine Louise ¿ better known as Kit. I preferred that she was a feisty wench that rode horses, learned to shoot a gun better than most men, wore shirts and boots and britches, hated to take baths and simply ran like one of the boys. I would have hated her to be the perfect southern belle ¿ instead she was the perfect southern hellion. Even after she learned to be a lady ¿ she kept her naughtiness and that was a delight. I really liked our hero Major Baron Cain. He was your quintessential northern man ¿ tough, hard working, handsome, intelligent and with a hardened but, deep heart. He was scared by life, scared by war but, still believed in better things. He was protective and kind to those he cared for but, made sure to never get too close else he would loose control. I was glad he was not the perfect northern yank ¿ instead he was an imperfect war hero and guardian but, with so much potential ¿ just as we want him to be. The way the story unfolded itself was great ¿ Kit going north to shoot the nasty Yankee who now was guardian of her and her home, Kit not having the courage to kill him when needed, Baron taking her on and when he saw her wildness sent her to New York for years to a finishing school to clean up her act, Kit coming back once her studies was done to claim her home ¿ Risen Glory and of course, once they meet up again the attraction between the two is explosive. They fight tooth and nail to control the land, their home, their lives and their loves. There is nothing gentle and soft with these two ¿ it¿s pure intensity, passion, anger, desire and deep emotion. I was pleased Kit and Baron pulled away the masks of anger and defiance and PRIDE at the end. All I can say is the ending was super satisfying. I really liked all the secondary characters in this story too Magnus, Sophronia, Veronica, Brandon, Dolly and of course at the end, a special young lady named Elizabeth enters the picture. These characters all held important roles in this book and made the story come alive even further with their situations, tales and entwining roles. This was five stars for an excellent tale! It will go on one of my favorite¿s lists now. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2005

    the best i have read in a while

    this book is a definate must read. It will blow you away with the plot and writting. very romantic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2003

    For the heart of hearts

    My second Susan Elizabeth Phillips novel, i must say the author has managed to snuggle comfortably and firmly in my heart as one of my favourite romantic novelists. Funny and witty, this book is a must for those amorous hearts out there just waiting for a story that could make every part of their body tingle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3