Customer Reviews for

Just Like Heaven (Smythe-Smith Quartet Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 523 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(243)

4 Star

(159)

3 Star

(70)

2 Star

(32)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Is love truly the cure for what ails us?

Marcus Holroyd, the Earl of Chatteris knew two facts about his life - that he was well trained for his title and that he would always be alone. Honoria Smythe-Smith also knew two facts, she would never be alone since she was part of a large family, and not one of them h...
Marcus Holroyd, the Earl of Chatteris knew two facts about his life - that he was well trained for his title and that he would always be alone. Honoria Smythe-Smith also knew two facts, she would never be alone since she was part of a large family, and not one of them had a musical bone in their body. Marcus was taught friendship from Honoria's brother Daniel when they met at school and learned how to have the young Honoria around Marcus took his lonely childhood and grabbed onto the large, boisterous Smythe-Smith family.

When Honoria grew up, she became a stunning young woman who needed her brother to protect her but he had fled to Italy in scandal. What she did not know was Daniel had asked Marcus to watch over her and he did just that quietly and alone in the background as he did everything his life. He went to balls and stood by the back wall unnoticed, checking on the potential suitors who went after Honoria and drove them away one by one. He also attended the yearly Smythe-Smith Musicale, featuring the unmarried female cousins in the family who yearly massacred any type of credible music. The family was known for this event and all in attendance understood it was going to be awful but for Marcus who sat in the front row he never heard the notes being butchered he only had eyes for the beauty playing the violin, Honoria.

When Marcus decides he may try courting her, Honoria has decided to step up the husband hunt. Honoria sees Marcus less as a potential suitor and more like a brother while Marcus is trying to change that and his first step toward winning her hand finds him stepping in a hole and doing damage to his ankle. This simple twisted ankle turns into a bad situation when a secondary injury leads to infection and near death for Marcus. Honoria comes to care for Marcus with her mother and with no regard for propriety or knowledge of how to make him better only a willingness to be someone in his life when he truly has no one. Honoria and her mother take Marcus from brink of death to recovery and somewhere along the way Honoria and Marcus both realize what they feel for each other is love, not friendship or family affection but deep, burning love. Neither is quite sure what to do with these feeling but someone has to take the first step. Will it be the man wearing new boots or the woman in a pair of red slippers?

Reading a Julia Quinn book such a calming, romantic, and wonderful experience, you look forward to each book with anticipation. I am in awe of her ability to spin a fresh and exciting story with each book and make you think "I love these characters the most of them all" when in fact with the next book you will say the same and it will be true. Marcus will forever be dear to me because he knows he wants love he just does not know how to get it and Honoria is such a self-confident and strong woman who knows she can cure everything but her cousins' lack of musical talent.

posted by The_Reading_Reviewer on May 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Felt Rushed

I normally LOVE everything Julia Quinn writes and I've read everything she's written, but I was disappointed with this. I felt she could have done so much more, it felt rushed and all together too short. I swear when I finished the book I thought to myself, "that's it...
I normally LOVE everything Julia Quinn writes and I've read everything she's written, but I was disappointed with this. I felt she could have done so much more, it felt rushed and all together too short. I swear when I finished the book I thought to myself, "that's it?"

However I don't regret buying/reading the story and it wont prevent me from picking up the rest of the series.

posted by NeptuneKH on August 18, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 243 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Posted May 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Is love truly the cure for what ails us?

    Marcus Holroyd, the Earl of Chatteris knew two facts about his life - that he was well trained for his title and that he would always be alone. Honoria Smythe-Smith also knew two facts, she would never be alone since she was part of a large family, and not one of them had a musical bone in their body. Marcus was taught friendship from Honoria's brother Daniel when they met at school and learned how to have the young Honoria around Marcus took his lonely childhood and grabbed onto the large, boisterous Smythe-Smith family.

    When Honoria grew up, she became a stunning young woman who needed her brother to protect her but he had fled to Italy in scandal. What she did not know was Daniel had asked Marcus to watch over her and he did just that quietly and alone in the background as he did everything his life. He went to balls and stood by the back wall unnoticed, checking on the potential suitors who went after Honoria and drove them away one by one. He also attended the yearly Smythe-Smith Musicale, featuring the unmarried female cousins in the family who yearly massacred any type of credible music. The family was known for this event and all in attendance understood it was going to be awful but for Marcus who sat in the front row he never heard the notes being butchered he only had eyes for the beauty playing the violin, Honoria.

    When Marcus decides he may try courting her, Honoria has decided to step up the husband hunt. Honoria sees Marcus less as a potential suitor and more like a brother while Marcus is trying to change that and his first step toward winning her hand finds him stepping in a hole and doing damage to his ankle. This simple twisted ankle turns into a bad situation when a secondary injury leads to infection and near death for Marcus. Honoria comes to care for Marcus with her mother and with no regard for propriety or knowledge of how to make him better only a willingness to be someone in his life when he truly has no one. Honoria and her mother take Marcus from brink of death to recovery and somewhere along the way Honoria and Marcus both realize what they feel for each other is love, not friendship or family affection but deep, burning love. Neither is quite sure what to do with these feeling but someone has to take the first step. Will it be the man wearing new boots or the woman in a pair of red slippers?

    Reading a Julia Quinn book such a calming, romantic, and wonderful experience, you look forward to each book with anticipation. I am in awe of her ability to spin a fresh and exciting story with each book and make you think "I love these characters the most of them all" when in fact with the next book you will say the same and it will be true. Marcus will forever be dear to me because he knows he wants love he just does not know how to get it and Honoria is such a self-confident and strong woman who knows she can cure everything but her cousins' lack of musical talent.

    15 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Loved it!

    This book is so deliciously witty, easy flowing and the characters are lovable...I love Julia Quinn books and wasn't disapointed with this one! I recommend this book if you love to laugh out loud while reading, warning though people may look at you weird if you are reading this book in public and laughing out loud!! Happy reading!

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    What a great book!!!

    Very sweet book. I like when two characters grow up together and then find out each other are their soul mates..... Very good funny clean book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good easy read

    interesting characters, good plot. Emotion, good romance, humor, a little suspense. One of my favourites. I enjoyed it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    Quinn at her best

    Julia Quinn has done it again. This book is one of her best. It was worth the wait and a perfect summer read. The relationship is believable and unique. I also enjoy that Quinn adds elevated vocabulary to her novels. The worst part about finishing this book is that I now have to wait for her next book. Write quickly, Julia!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    Wonderful

    The whole series is worth reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Anonymous

    I laughed and cried through the whole book. Not to spoil, but i especially loved the hole scene and the broken violin scene. Very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Nice, easy reading

    This book was a really nice easy reading, I usually like sci-fi so it was a good break from all the action and something sweet and romantic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2013

    Yeah!

    Can't wait for the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    loved it

    Loved it, I just finished the Cynster series by Stephenie Laurens and wanted to find something like it. This was perfect. I liked the fact that the hot and steamy parts were left more to my imagination than in the Laurens books...Just enough to be great but not boring and overdone. Laurens goes overboard with too many repetive hot chapters. I read everything but find these light romances are calming when my stress levels start to peak. good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Fun read.

    Lovable characters. Sweet, but not too sweet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Kiki

    Lol for real! Evreone try this book! You will be wowed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it. Laughed thru the whole book.

    Not sure why, but I've always enjoyed the Smythe-Smith recitals. Maybe because my musical talents equal theirs. Anyway, this was a first-rate romance, with a behind-the-scene, hilarious, look at what it's like to grow up in the Smythe-Smith family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Lexi

    Wanna goto a party?hunger game book one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    A Cute Story

    I personally loved the main characters and their story. It's a feel good book that is fun even if it's not the reinvention of the wheel. It was also fun to "see" characters from the other novels pop up. I thought that the leads were interesting and more appealing than some others, since neither are the typical characters that lead most romances. That elevated the story for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    great read!

    great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Mamasaint60

    If you want a short introduction to Marcus Holroyd, Earl of Chatteris read Eloisa James's "Once Upon a Tower". JS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2012

    highly recommended

    If you enjoy the plots and twist in Julia Quinn novels. You will enjoy the introduction of the Smythe-Smith Quartet. The characters in the story will make you laugh and smile throughout their journey. I am looking forward to series #3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    Julia Quinn- Genius of the Bridgertons & the Smythe-Smiths.

    Julia Quinn- Genius of the Bridgertons & the Smythe-Smiths. The horrible musicals. The strong sexy smart women. She continues. This is just another amazing wonderful feel good love story. With family, background characters, future characters, old characters....all the best of Julia Quinn world. Very smooth story, no real crisis at all. Kind of a strange ending. But sweet and lovely all the same. Julia always gets me. Another great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    AN ENTERTAINING READ

    Two characters haunted by their past brought together by a musicale with a history of horrible performances. The descriptions if the musicale are hilarious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 243 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13