Customer Reviews for

Just Like Other Daughters

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This story is both uplifting and full of heart. A mother's love

This story is both uplifting and full of heart. A mother's love is boundless and we see it here. Faulkner drew me in from the very beginning with a story that you'll truly enjoy. She's found a new fan in me! You'll love it!

posted by Anonymous on October 29, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Corny

I really wanted to like this book, and it was okay enough. The characters in the novel could be a bit infuriating (several times I asked aloud "what are you thinking?!"). There didn't really seem to be a responsible adult in the entire novel. Some scenes were unintentio...
I really wanted to like this book, and it was okay enough. The characters in the novel could be a bit infuriating (several times I asked aloud "what are you thinking?!"). There didn't really seem to be a responsible adult in the entire novel. Some scenes were unintentionally comical, and the ending was meant to tug at your heartstrings but actually ended up being a bit ridiculous and over the top. It wasn't boring, but it was superficial and silly at best.

posted by Anonymous on January 17, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Sensitively written story by a talented, versatile author Just

    Sensitively written story by a talented, versatile author

    Just Like Other Daughters" is touching and thought provoking. The characters,
    relationships, and situations are so real. At times I thought that I was
    reading nonfiction.

    This book is an excellent choice for reading groups.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2013

    Just Like Other Daughters is a remarkable story. It is simple, d

    Just Like Other Daughters is a remarkable story. It is simple, direct and beautiful and then deceptively complex. Chloe goes to adult care on a day she doesn’t normally attend and meets Thomas.  How can two mentally disabled 20-somethings make a go of a real relationship and do they deserve that chance? As much as Alicia loves Chloe she sees her as somewhat suspended in time. A forever child.  Alicia, to an extent, has also put her own life on hold using her daughter as something of an excuse not to spend too much time with anyone or get close to anyone. In a bold and brillant move, Faulkner not only gives us the tale from Alicia’s point of view but Chloe’s as well.




    Just Like Other Daughters is a character driven tale of the relationship of a mother and daughter who have been on their own throughout the daughter’s life. Readers will think of the novel’s description that they’ve read this story before. You have not. Faulker’s approach is fresh and new. She takes chances from which a less experienced writer might shy away. Whatever happens in the course of the story, the reader is left with the sense that this is a mother who truly loves her daughter and truly wants the best for her. Sentimentality isn’t usually my chosen genre but I could not put Just Like Other Daughters down. The course seemed obvious but as the tale progressed I simply had to know what would happen next.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Heartbreaker

    Tender & sweet,well written

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    This book touches on the deep love between a mother and daughter

    This book touches on the deep love between a mother and daughter and the struggles of a single woman to provide for the needs and wants of a mentally challenged adult child. I wept and laughed with Alicia, and as a mother, I felt the reality of Alicia and Chloe's story. Fantastic book. A keeper.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2013

    I read it in one day. Beautifully written story about a mother t

    I read it in one day. Beautifully written story about a mother trying to give her mentally handicapped daughter the best life she can. The decisions become more complex as the child grows up and falls in love. Compelling story!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    This story is both uplifting and full of heart. A mother's love

    This story is both uplifting and full of heart. A mother's love is boundless and we see it here.
    Faulkner drew me in from the very beginning with a story that you'll truly enjoy. She's found a new fan in me! You'll love it!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Great read!

    Really enjoyed it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Corny

    I really wanted to like this book, and it was okay enough. The characters in the novel could be a bit infuriating (several times I asked aloud "what are you thinking?!"). There didn't really seem to be a responsible adult in the entire novel. Some scenes were unintentionally comical, and the ending was meant to tug at your heartstrings but actually ended up being a bit ridiculous and over the top. It wasn't boring, but it was superficial and silly at best.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2015

    HOW MANY PAGES ON THIS ONE?

    Please and thank you.Much appreciated folks.~~~Granny B.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2015

    I thought this was a brutally honest portrayal of a mother with

    I thought this was a brutally honest portrayal of a mother with a special needs child. We're no different than any other parent who wants what's best for our children. Sometimes we make bad choices- being the parent of a special needs child doesn't make us immune to that!I think it was bold of this author to bring up some of the thoughts that run through our heads-- just like any other parents'. A good story that will stay with me for a very long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2014

    Not a good read

    This book was misleading, not from a true parent of a special needs child and the mother involved was selfish and resentful not as a true special needs mother is.
    There was not enough honest research done prior to the writing this book.
    I would give it an F

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1