Customer Reviews for

Just Listen

Average Rating 4.5
( 1464 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1042)

4 Star

(293)

3 Star

(76)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

71 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

Just Listen...To This Review

When I went to the library I saw this book and thought "Oh well this is going to be one of those girlie dramas, but I'll give it a shot." There was in fact a lot of drama but not so much to a point where it was overwhelming just to read it. Annabelle Annabelle Annabelle...
When I went to the library I saw this book and thought "Oh well this is going to be one of those girlie dramas, but I'll give it a shot." There was in fact a lot of drama but not so much to a point where it was overwhelming just to read it. Annabelle Annabelle Annabelle Greene (a joke) a model, actress, with a perfect life...on the outside. At home she struggles with her sister's eating disorder, at school drama with a girl (ex-friend) who thinks Annabelle slept with her boyfriend, as well as the (ex-BFF) other girl who all over the summer and for most of the semester Annabelle thinks hates her.Juggling all this plus a new friendship with Owen Armstrong the mysterious boy who always has his headphones on. As this friendship blooms into love, Annabelle will have to open up and discuss what really happened the night at the party that led to the fight and all the drama. Annabelle will find herself and discover that even though it may hurt, honesty is the best policy.

posted by TeenReaderIL on January 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

Completely boring.

I was excited to read this book but as I started, I kept waiting for the part when it becomes excited and it never did until near the last 100 pages. But this is my opinion. It was interesting in a few parts and then it just died out, this is how it was for me over and ...
I was excited to read this book but as I started, I kept waiting for the part when it becomes excited and it never did until near the last 100 pages. But this is my opinion. It was interesting in a few parts and then it just died out, this is how it was for me over and over again. The most exciting part was the explanation behind the end of the friendship with Sophie and most of the parts with her music loving friend. Her family life was not as exciting though, maybe sort of shocking but not all the way up there.

posted by xraawrimapinja on November 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1469 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 74
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Just Listen...To This Review

    When I went to the library I saw this book and thought "Oh well this is going to be one of those girlie dramas, but I'll give it a shot." There was in fact a lot of drama but not so much to a point where it was overwhelming just to read it. Annabelle Annabelle Annabelle Greene (a joke) a model, actress, with a perfect life...on the outside. At home she struggles with her sister's eating disorder, at school drama with a girl (ex-friend) who thinks Annabelle slept with her boyfriend, as well as the (ex-BFF) other girl who all over the summer and for most of the semester Annabelle thinks hates her.Juggling all this plus a new friendship with Owen Armstrong the mysterious boy who always has his headphones on. As this friendship blooms into love, Annabelle will have to open up and discuss what really happened the night at the party that led to the fight and all the drama. Annabelle will find herself and discover that even though it may hurt, honesty is the best policy.

    71 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    I have read all Sarah Dessen's books and this one is one of my favourites.

    19 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    Wonderful!

    This is easily my favorite of Ms. Dessen's stories. As always, she did a fabulous job portraying popular teens vs. the outcasts, and how it only takes on little misunderstanding to find yourself on the other side of the fence. With the character of Owen, she shows that you (no pun intended) cannot judge a book by it's cover (or a teen by their clothes or attitude). There are many layers to people and Ms. Dessen showed each and every one in the amazing story.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2009

    great book for young readers.

    Just Listen by Sarah Dessen is a story about secrets and consequences that keeps you flipping the pages and wanting more. This story is about a teenage girl named Annabel Greene who in the beginning stars as "the girl who has it all" in a commercial for a local mall. Months later when the comercial finally airs, Annabel sees herself differently. She was best friends with a girl named Sophie and the reason they ended their friendship isn't revealed until the later chapters. Annabel is more comfortable keeping her own secrets than actually opening up to the truth and facing her problems. I think this is one of those books that teenagers and young adults can relate to. I would recomend this to anyone that has read any of Dessen's other novels such as Dreamland, Someone Like You, and Along for the Ride

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2008

    Completely boring.

    I was excited to read this book but as I started, I kept waiting for the part when it becomes excited and it never did until near the last 100 pages. But this is my opinion. It was interesting in a few parts and then it just died out, this is how it was for me over and over again. The most exciting part was the explanation behind the end of the friendship with Sophie and most of the parts with her music loving friend. Her family life was not as exciting though, maybe sort of shocking but not all the way up there.

    10 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    LOVED IT!!!!!

    In my opinion, this is the BEST of sarah's work! There are a few topics that'll be geared toward older teens, and a few f-bombs, but it wad totally worth it! A must on everyone's reading list!!!!!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2008

    eh

    Sarah Dessen's writing is very elementary. I've attempted to read her books many times, and Just Listen is the first book of hers that I read without stopping in the middle. The story is not moving at all, she switches subjects, telling us all these stories in the beginning, not relating to the plot at all, and it just gets you so bored, that you want to put the book down. I apologize to the avid Sarah Dessen readers, if you find her books amazing, but it wasn't very moving for me.

    8 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2010

    Just Listen

    This was a beautiful book. One of the best I've ever read. Dessen did a fabulous job writing it. I don't know if Annabell's 'big secret' was suppose to be a suprise the whole book, but looking at the cover and the title and the first chapter, I knew exactly what happened to her. The book itself is just sad, and has that depressing presence to it. If you love Dessen's books, I think you'll love this one!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Anabelle This novel truly explains what it is like to be a sixte

    Anabelle This novel truly explains what it is like to be a sixteen-year-old girl. Every woman can relate to the main character, from conflicting emotions to unspeakable tragedy. This book is applicable to all young women whether they have experienced eating disorders, attempted rape or not. The reader becomes part of the family through the small details expressed by Dessen. This book should be read by women and girls everywhere, the author helps to show women that life moves on and that hope emerges even in the midst of adversity.  I know most of you have probably read this book, but I just read it, and it is excellent - my favorite Sarah Dessen book. It deals with a lot of big issues in a real down-to-earth way, like all of her other books. And I have to say that I am officially in love with Owen. :) If you haven't read it yet, read it and you'll understand why. Wouldn't it be wonderful if a guy like him actually existed?   Very inspirational and insightful. It kept me wanting to keep reading. Lots of great life lessons. I loved the character Owen, not a typical teenage boy.     

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!

    When I first found out about Sarah Dessen, I was kind of reluctant to start reading her books. I don't know why, I just was. This was the first book I read by her and I have to say it was amazing! The story line was very well organized and it's easy to go along with it, because so much of each character is explained that you find yourself relating to one of them at some point. I did not want to put this book down after I started it! It's just amazing and I absolutely recommend it to anybody who likes a little romance, humor, and plenty of suspense and drama. (:

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    AMAZING

    All of Sarah's book are phenomenal. This story moved me and I would recommend it to teens ages 12 and up.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Hate

    Wat in the world was this crap i hate it so much
    10 reasons why i hate it!!!!!
    1# to much "im a model and lets know why im not
    Friends with people any more
    2# i hated when her friends boy friend tried to have
    U know what with her that was missed up and gross
    3# her sister always complaind about... well every
    Thing!!!
    4# her sisters were models that were so pretty and every
    Girl wanted to be friends with but they still complain!!!
    5# how she just left her friend to go to a party?
    6# and dont get me started on the whole (but we r friends
    And we stick togother) cuz if u love ur friend then dont read
    This!!!!
    7# these gurls have so much to be thankful for and
    Yet there all bratz!!!
    8#its so slow
    9# every one in this book were nothing but crap
    10# if u read this book u can just die
    Now im only 12 years old so i dont think
    I was evan alowd to read this book

    3 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2010

    Don't think, or judge. Just listen...

    Just Listen was so captivating that I couldn't put the book down. The fact that the story was based thoroughly on relationships(with the family as well as friends)and music. I felt that I could relate. Annabel Greene, the protagonist, was faced with the conflict of many things including a secret that she has yet to tell. She then meets Owen Armstrong, a guy who has a passion for music. A deep passion. He shows that music is his escape, he constantly seeks for it, and can't imagine life without it. He knows the obscure music, that most people won't think it's music, but really, that IS the TRUE music. Music changed both Annabel's and Owen's life. Who they were, their outlook on life, that silence is much louder than any noise. The title Just Listen, is true to the story and yes, in real life. "Don't think, or judge. Just listen." One of my favorite quotes from the book, and a memorable line... Just Listen, is yes a 'chick lit' but a great one.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Im a reader

    Im a reader. Ive read so many books ive lost count, but this book definitely will alwats stay with me. I first read this book when my mom made me stop reading the twilight series over and over. You see i use to hate reading but the twilight movie made me want to give it a shot. This book just happened to be at walmart soi bought it not really having high expectation......but HONESTLY it blow me out of the water. It's STILL my favorite back after reading at least 200 books maybe more that should say something. BUY IT. It's worth every penny

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Beautiful....

    This story was emotional and absoulutely wonderful.... I loved it..... I love music and can relate to Owen...

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    Good, but not good enough.

    I was excited to read this book, hearing that Sarah Dessen was a talented author, but after reading this, I was a little disappointed. The story is great and the characters are realistic, but I wish it was written a little differently. There seemed to be a lot of filler, and the book would have flowed better if it had just cut to the chase when it should've. That's my only main complaint, but I didn't like Annabel either. I can't stand weak characters that don't know how to speak their mind when it is necessary, as I am the opposite (but not in a bad way), so I found myself pulling my hair out at times, egging Annabel on but failing. =P The story and messages were really good though, and I'd recommend this to people who can sit through a slightly fluffy book to get to the message within.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    I liked it except.....

    Ok so i absolutely love the way Sarah Dessen writes her books, my only complaint is that it gets old. Ive read lock and key, along for the ride, and what happened to goodbye before i read just listen. I loved all of them, its just that they were all the same story: girl feels lonely. Meets a guy. They start hanging out. Then something goes wrong and they stop talking for weeks. Then they work things out. The end. Im not saying the books are all the same, its just that they dont have anything particularly special that surprises you and makes it better than all the other ones. I loved lock and key (because it was the first one i read by sarah dessen), and after that it kept getting more and more boring because i felt i was reading the same thing again. So all in all, i love sarah dessen, but u could only read so many books by her by the time you get bored of it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    anonymous

    i dont rhink this was one if her better pieces. it was very slow to read, almost too slow until annabel met owen, and even then you had another 200 pages until the climax. the plot didnt build up to the climaxtoo, dessen kept jumping around explaining how annabel got to this point in life. it was like annabel was going back in the past sometimes for a whole chapter, when she didnt want to. it wasnt that it was confusing but the stories of annabels past were so surprising that it was hard to go back to the present with her. there some good qualities like being honest which led to finally letting your past go so you can move on, and not pushing people away when you get close to them. i do have to say i liked all the characters in the book, including the end result of Whitney and Kirsten. however when dessen first described her mom being so happy and a smile on her face always it was harderto think she went through depression. this book hits a bunch of topics including depression, eating disorder, modeling, music, friendships, family life and rape. definately for older and mature teens if you decide to read this at all. i wouldnt recommend it for all the above reasons.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    This is a GREAT book. It's drama filled and I never wanted to pu

    This is a GREAT book. It's drama filled and I never wanted to put it down because I wasn't sure what was going to happen with Annabel and Owen. It was a chick flick, but not to the point where it was annoying. It has a good way on describing hwo people may seem one way on the outside, when actually they are suffering at home or on the inside. I think it could realy open some people's eyes to different views. The story line in general was just great! THEY SHOULD MAKE THIS INTO A MOVIE.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2012

    .

    this was a great book, sometimes it got kind of boring but otherwise it was pretty good. i wouldnt recomend this to anybody under thirteen years of age because there is a pretty descriptive rape in it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1469 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 74