Customer Reviews for

Just Listen

Average Rating 4.5
( 1464 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1042)

4 Star

(293)

3 Star

(76)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(25)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

71 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

Just Listen...To This Review

When I went to the library I saw this book and thought "Oh well this is going to be one of those girlie dramas, but I'll give it a shot." There was in fact a lot of drama but not so much to a point where it was overwhelming just to read it. Annabelle Annabelle Annabelle...
When I went to the library I saw this book and thought "Oh well this is going to be one of those girlie dramas, but I'll give it a shot." There was in fact a lot of drama but not so much to a point where it was overwhelming just to read it. Annabelle Annabelle Annabelle Greene (a joke) a model, actress, with a perfect life...on the outside. At home she struggles with her sister's eating disorder, at school drama with a girl (ex-friend) who thinks Annabelle slept with her boyfriend, as well as the (ex-BFF) other girl who all over the summer and for most of the semester Annabelle thinks hates her.Juggling all this plus a new friendship with Owen Armstrong the mysterious boy who always has his headphones on. As this friendship blooms into love, Annabelle will have to open up and discuss what really happened the night at the party that led to the fight and all the drama. Annabelle will find herself and discover that even though it may hurt, honesty is the best policy.

posted by TeenReaderIL on January 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

Completely boring.

I was excited to read this book but as I started, I kept waiting for the part when it becomes excited and it never did until near the last 100 pages. But this is my opinion. It was interesting in a few parts and then it just died out, this is how it was for me over and ...
I was excited to read this book but as I started, I kept waiting for the part when it becomes excited and it never did until near the last 100 pages. But this is my opinion. It was interesting in a few parts and then it just died out, this is how it was for me over and over again. The most exciting part was the explanation behind the end of the friendship with Sophie and most of the parts with her music loving friend. Her family life was not as exciting though, maybe sort of shocking but not all the way up there.

posted by xraawrimapinja on November 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1042 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 53
  • Posted January 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Just Listen...To This Review

    When I went to the library I saw this book and thought "Oh well this is going to be one of those girlie dramas, but I'll give it a shot." There was in fact a lot of drama but not so much to a point where it was overwhelming just to read it. Annabelle Annabelle Annabelle Greene (a joke) a model, actress, with a perfect life...on the outside. At home she struggles with her sister's eating disorder, at school drama with a girl (ex-friend) who thinks Annabelle slept with her boyfriend, as well as the (ex-BFF) other girl who all over the summer and for most of the semester Annabelle thinks hates her.Juggling all this plus a new friendship with Owen Armstrong the mysterious boy who always has his headphones on. As this friendship blooms into love, Annabelle will have to open up and discuss what really happened the night at the party that led to the fight and all the drama. Annabelle will find herself and discover that even though it may hurt, honesty is the best policy.

    71 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good read

    I have read all Sarah Dessen's books and this one is one of my favourites.

    19 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2010

    Wonderful!

    This is easily my favorite of Ms. Dessen's stories. As always, she did a fabulous job portraying popular teens vs. the outcasts, and how it only takes on little misunderstanding to find yourself on the other side of the fence. With the character of Owen, she shows that you (no pun intended) cannot judge a book by it's cover (or a teen by their clothes or attitude). There are many layers to people and Ms. Dessen showed each and every one in the amazing story.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2009

    great book for young readers.

    Just Listen by Sarah Dessen is a story about secrets and consequences that keeps you flipping the pages and wanting more. This story is about a teenage girl named Annabel Greene who in the beginning stars as "the girl who has it all" in a commercial for a local mall. Months later when the comercial finally airs, Annabel sees herself differently. She was best friends with a girl named Sophie and the reason they ended their friendship isn't revealed until the later chapters. Annabel is more comfortable keeping her own secrets than actually opening up to the truth and facing her problems. I think this is one of those books that teenagers and young adults can relate to. I would recomend this to anyone that has read any of Dessen's other novels such as Dreamland, Someone Like You, and Along for the Ride

    13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    LOVED IT!!!!!

    In my opinion, this is the BEST of sarah's work! There are a few topics that'll be geared toward older teens, and a few f-bombs, but it wad totally worth it! A must on everyone's reading list!!!!!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Anabelle This novel truly explains what it is like to be a sixte

    Anabelle This novel truly explains what it is like to be a sixteen-year-old girl. Every woman can relate to the main character, from conflicting emotions to unspeakable tragedy. This book is applicable to all young women whether they have experienced eating disorders, attempted rape or not. The reader becomes part of the family through the small details expressed by Dessen. This book should be read by women and girls everywhere, the author helps to show women that life moves on and that hope emerges even in the midst of adversity.  I know most of you have probably read this book, but I just read it, and it is excellent - my favorite Sarah Dessen book. It deals with a lot of big issues in a real down-to-earth way, like all of her other books. And I have to say that I am officially in love with Owen. :) If you haven't read it yet, read it and you'll understand why. Wouldn't it be wonderful if a guy like him actually existed?   Very inspirational and insightful. It kept me wanting to keep reading. Lots of great life lessons. I loved the character Owen, not a typical teenage boy.     

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing!

    When I first found out about Sarah Dessen, I was kind of reluctant to start reading her books. I don't know why, I just was. This was the first book I read by her and I have to say it was amazing! The story line was very well organized and it's easy to go along with it, because so much of each character is explained that you find yourself relating to one of them at some point. I did not want to put this book down after I started it! It's just amazing and I absolutely recommend it to anybody who likes a little romance, humor, and plenty of suspense and drama. (:

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    AMAZING

    All of Sarah's book are phenomenal. This story moved me and I would recommend it to teens ages 12 and up.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2010

    Don't think, or judge. Just listen...

    Just Listen was so captivating that I couldn't put the book down. The fact that the story was based thoroughly on relationships(with the family as well as friends)and music. I felt that I could relate. Annabel Greene, the protagonist, was faced with the conflict of many things including a secret that she has yet to tell. She then meets Owen Armstrong, a guy who has a passion for music. A deep passion. He shows that music is his escape, he constantly seeks for it, and can't imagine life without it. He knows the obscure music, that most people won't think it's music, but really, that IS the TRUE music. Music changed both Annabel's and Owen's life. Who they were, their outlook on life, that silence is much louder than any noise. The title Just Listen, is true to the story and yes, in real life. "Don't think, or judge. Just listen." One of my favorite quotes from the book, and a memorable line... Just Listen, is yes a 'chick lit' but a great one.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Im a reader

    Im a reader. Ive read so many books ive lost count, but this book definitely will alwats stay with me. I first read this book when my mom made me stop reading the twilight series over and over. You see i use to hate reading but the twilight movie made me want to give it a shot. This book just happened to be at walmart soi bought it not really having high expectation......but HONESTLY it blow me out of the water. It's STILL my favorite back after reading at least 200 books maybe more that should say something. BUY IT. It's worth every penny

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2012

    This is a GREAT book. It's drama filled and I never wanted to pu

    This is a GREAT book. It's drama filled and I never wanted to put it down because I wasn't sure what was going to happen with Annabel and Owen. It was a chick flick, but not to the point where it was annoying. It has a good way on describing hwo people may seem one way on the outside, when actually they are suffering at home or on the inside. I think it could realy open some people's eyes to different views. The story line in general was just great! THEY SHOULD MAKE THIS INTO A MOVIE.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Absolutely amazing. Its a book that everyone should read

    I just finished reading this book and it was absolutely amazing. I could really feel annabels pain through the course of the story. The plot was great and it kept me at the edge of my seat. Sarah dessen has never disappointed me in her books. She is one of my favorite authors

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Best one!!!!!!

    In my opinion, this is her best by far. I couldn't help but fall in love with some of the characters ( and hating some too). Sarah Dessen at her best by far!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Sucks balls

    I didnt even read this book but it looks like crap to me by the reviews.

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Just finnished this book last night and I loved it! I must say t

    Just finnished this book last night and I loved it! I must say though after reading the first four chapters i wanted to stop. It did alot of thinking back, kind of jumpy, didnt know if it was happing in the moment or was part of the past. By about chapter six it stopped the back and forth thing and started to get exciting for me and i couldn't put it down. In the end it all came together and was actually quite life changing for me. I really dont see why anyone wouldn't like this book other than it was kind of hard to follow in the begining.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2012

    Just Listen

    This book is about a model named annabel greene. She has twoolder sisters named kristen and whitney. Kristen is the loud in your face type of person that is not afraid to speak her mind. Then there is whitney. Whitney develops a eating disorder and is more quiet, if you want to know how she feels you have to ask her, while kristen wouldnjust tell you. Annabel falls somewhere in between. She usualy says her sisters are two extremes and she is somewhere in the middle. There are four other characters that are a big part of annabels life. Owen, a music fanatic that struggles with anger issues and takes an anger management class. Sophie, a snotty popular girl that, like kristen, is in your face and has not many fears. Clarke, a nice girl that follows the rules and is a great friend. And emily, a model, like annabel, kristen, and whitney, that is a year younger than annabel and is sweet. The story is mainly about annabels life, from going to court for a long ago rape, to dealing with her life fall apart. This is a great book and i think you should read it, you will not be let down!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Inspiring, Amazing, and a Great, Touching Read

    This was, by far, the best Sarah Dessen book I have ever read. Of course, I loved all the other ones I read, but in Just Listen, it was like something just....clicked....in me. I'm not quite sure of what, but I am positively sure of one thing: Just Listen is a phenominal read that I will pass on to all of my friends and family.

    Annabel Greene has never admitted the negative details of her life to ANYONE—sometimes not even herself. So many things haunt her past: How she lost her best friend, how she got taken advantage of by her other "friend"'s boyfriend. But she refuses to tell anyone anything, fearing that her loved ones will break down with disappointment, shock, and sadness, a depressing thing that Annabel had witnessed once, which was one time too many.

    But that changes, somewhat, when she meets Owen. She'd always been slightly afraid of him, as he has anger management issues, and she witnessed him punch someone in the face. But when she comes back to school in September, alone, she can't help but say hi—and that's when she realizes he is much nicer than she expected him to be.

    Owen teaches Annabel about "real" music, along with how important it is for him to tell the truth. This is the exact opposite of what Annabel is used to; she holds the truth in, no one knowing about her upsetting past but herself, while Owen dishes everything that's on his mind. And Annabel soon realizes that telling the truth might get her in the exact opposite direction of where she expected—a better place. Now someone has to just listen.

    Sarah Dessen has definitely proved, in this engaging, amazing novel, that telling the truth can get you much, much farther than keeping it in.
    10 stars. It was amazing. I can't wait to read another book of Sarah's.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic Book!!!

    Just Listen by Sarah Dessen is a book you nver want to stop reading. The book keeps you on edge till the veary end. The ending is somthing that you would never expect. I recamend this book to anyone, for i belive that anyone can love this book as i have.:-)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Just read it

    Just listen is another great book from Sarah Dessen. I cared about the characters, wanted to know what happened to all of them to make them become who they are. The characters are well developed. The story emotionally grabs you from the beginning although you don't find out what "happened" till later on. It goes above and beyond to tackle major issues such as rape, eating disorders, mental illness, and last but not least love. I recommend this for most any teens. The subject matter is serious but done in a way that is not graphic or over the top. It reminds me that life is hard but can always be better if open up to the people you care about and who care about you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wow

    This is one of the many Sarah Dessen books I have read. reading this over the summer, from the title I could tell that this book would be one of Dessen's best. The book is about a teenage girl holding a horrid secret. I recommend it to anyone wo loves Sarah Dessen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1042 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 53