Customer Reviews for

Just One Evil Act (Inspector Lynley Series #18)

Average Rating 3.5
( 93 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Worth the wait

Hadiyyah disappears, Azhar is frantic, and Barbara goes completely off the reservation. And Lynley is falling in love again. For those of us who have been following these characters through the series, the further development of the characters is fascinating totally ap...
Hadiyyah disappears, Azhar is frantic, and Barbara goes completely off the reservation. And Lynley is falling in love again. For those of us who have been following these characters through the series, the further development of the characters is fascinating totally apart from the plot of this particular book. Yes, it's lengthy, and a bit of a departure in the foreign setting and the focus on Barbara Havers, but I enjoyed it immensely.

posted by bookistador on October 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Too long too much

E george badly needed the help of an editor to pare away the excess verbiage of this over long book-

posted by 16975683 on October 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Too long too much

    E george badly needed the help of an editor to pare away the excess verbiage of this over long book-

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Far too long - too 'twisty' - too much Italian - losing respect

    Far too long - too 'twisty' - too much Italian - losing respect for Lynley - had very little for Havers and now it is gone. Not sure if I will read #19. Will wait for reviews instead of purchasing the day it is released. So disappointed.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    I have been a fan of Elizabeth George for years and rushed to th

    I have been a fan of Elizabeth George for years and rushed to the stores the fist day it was on the shelves. I was tremendously disappointed. I, too, have always found Havers repulsive and it is beyond belief that anyone would hire her to anything. But, in this book she outdoes herself in being disgusting, but worst of all, her behavior is covered up and presented as acceptable. The book is far too long. The use of Italian is irritating. It is not believable that Lynley would be attracted to his new love interest. The only character who is likable and appealing is the little girl and, for all practical purposes, she is ignored except as an excuse for Haves's reprehensible behavior. If you are a fan of George, I encourage you not to waste your time or money. I will not buy another George book. I give one star only because there is not a zero.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Awful

    I was just disgusred with this book. Havers has always been repulsive, but in the most recent books she has gone completely beyond any decent lbehavior. I was so infuriated that she got away with all her immoral and ilkegal activities without any punishment at all, not even fired for being the dirtiest of all dirty cops, and Lynley covering for her. And Isabelle covering too? Completely unbelievable and out of character.

    And, as others have mentioned, the book is miles too long. George uses all these pages to show the depths of Haver's degradation and growing complicity, and then refuses to allow us the catharsis of seeing her appropriately punished. As a result, the book is deeply unsatisfying.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    I love this series, but this book was 350 pages too long.  Also

    I love this series, but this book was 350 pages too long.  Also the excessive use of Italian phrases was very annoying.  I had to skim through the last 200 pages which I hate to do.  Get this author a good editor!!  

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Disappointing. I'm tired of Lynley and his seemly constant 'need

    Disappointing. I'm tired of Lynley and his seemly constant 'need' to fall in love. I have always been in Havers corner, but I really found it hard to root for her here. The end was annoying, too. Bummed that I wasted my money when I should have just picked it up at the library.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    What went wrong here?

    I can't believe this was written by Elizabeth George. Way too much Italian interspersed throughout. The book is overly written and the characters are unbelievable. This is nothing like the early books. I no longer care what happens to Lynley or Havers. That's a bad feeling for a reader.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Another Disappointed Elizabeth George fan.

    I have to say I agree with those Elizabeth George fans who have been terribly disappointed with this novel. The absurd plot(s), overuse of untranslated Italian phrases, and endless unnecessary details made me impatient to get through the book, all the while hoping for the plot to take an upturn. Sadly, that was not the case. My biggest objection to this book is that I just didn't like the characters, which has always made it hard for me to really enjoy a book. If anyone else had written this, I would have abandoned it after a few chapters. But since I love Elizabeth George's writing, and have read all of her other books, I plowed on. My memory of Taymullah Azhar and his daughter from previous books was a positive one. But, that was shattered when much emphasis was put upon the fact that he had abandoned his legal wife and two young children for Angelina, an apparently completely amoral, shallow woman who flits from lover to lover. She is apparently very beautiful, but we are told that his legal wife is a stunning looking woman, a step above even Angelina. Sorry, but any louse who dumps a wife and two young children to shack up with a girlfriend is a slimeball in my view, and not a character that I can care about. It goes without saying that I found no sympathy with Angelina, or any reason to care about her. Barbara is a character that I have long enjoyed and admired, but she goes so far off the deep end in this book, and for (IMO) a worthless louse of a cheating husband, that I didn't much care what happened to her either. As several other reviewers have already said, Thomas Lynley's character doesn't come off too well either. The first chapter told me way more than I EVER wanted to know about women's roller derbies, as he pursued a woman who clearly doesn't want to have a relationship due to their differences in class.

    I loved Elizabeth George up until she wrote What Happened After He Shot Her, the story of the punk kid who killed Helen. Her subsequent novels seemed to be closer to her old style, but still not as enjoyable as her earlier works. Unfortunately, this will be the last of her books that I will purchase. If there is another Lynley novel I will reserve it at our public library.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Not Sure I'll Finish This One!

    I've been a huge Elizabeth George Fan for a really long time and have read all of the books in her her Inspector Linley series. This one, however, is a huge disappointment. One, it's W-A-Y too long with twists, turns and characters that are not necessary and which do not add to the story line. But my biggest disappointment is that she has allowed both Inspector Linley and Barbara Havers to become compromised, if not "bad", cops--seeming to condone their illegal behavior because it's been done for the "greater good". Honestly, I feel so betrayed; and, like another reviewer, don't care to see what happens to them in the future. What a loss.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    If you didn't like her her last couple of books, you probably wo

    If you didn't like her her last couple of books, you probably won't like this one. It is long and repetitive, has too much Italian interspersed, and does not have enough interaction between the main characters. I get that the author is trying to make the her characters three dimensional, but this is the third book in a row where a main character is spinning out of control. I'm getting tired of it. I have decided to go back to the beginning of the series and start over. Those were good books.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Travel guide of Italy The absolute worst of all of her Lynley no

    Travel guide of Italy
    The absolute worst of all of her Lynley novels. Like going to an Italian opera (which you can't stand) and beinging tied to your seat and forced to sit through it although you do not understand a word of Italian. None of the great Lynley characters appear except a page or two of St. James. Someone please tell George to get off her soapbox and get back to the real Inspector Lynley. Sorry I pre-purchased. Next time I'll wait for some reviews.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I so agree with the other 1 and 2 star ratings. I have read ever

    I so agree with the other 1 and 2 star ratings. I have read every one of her Lynley books and this one was about 300 pages too long. The only reason I finished it is that I needed to know what happens to all of the characters if I decide to read her next one. What was up with all the emphasis on Italy. I think Ms. George went on vacation there and needed to write the book so that she could write off her trip on her taxes. The murder was so easy to figure out and the kidnapping just didn't seem  believable . Also Azhar's actions regarding his abandonment of the first family including children didn't work. Don't believe Lynley's new love interest either. I think 2 stars is generous. Ms. George please bring back St James and Deborah!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    DISAPPOINTING

    Way too long and needs serious editing; both Havers and Lynley become unsympathetic characters

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    I love this series but I couldn't really get into this one. The

    I love this series but I couldn't really get into this one. The story doesn't move.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2013

    Way Over the Top.

    Way Over the Top. While I have seen a few of the PBS versions of the 'Lynley' stories, I admit this is the first book I have read, and wow; what a slog for little payoff. First, this novel is grossly too long; did an editor not have the gumption to say 'cut half'? There are WAY too many plot threads, way too many characters to keep straight, way too much dialogue in Italian with no translation, way too much repetitive behavior and dialogue--all for a 'resolution' that sort of goes nowhere except back to the beginning--or at least the first couple of hundred pages. I am not sure why I actually finished other than I bought the book and felt that, for the money, I was on a mission. Also, I kept thinking the plot was going to go somewhere other than where it had already been. The character of Havers was utterly baffling and her behavior just utterly obsessive to the point I kept wondering if the character had a history of mental issues--yet I do not care enough to read the earlier books. Lynley is a likable guy but his love interest in this seems totally wrong for the ways he is presented--and to say there is no chemistry between the two is an understatement. The little girl is charming and the long suffering Italian detective (whose boss is depicted as physically gross and a caricature) while charming and kind, is also a bit too perfect to be believed. I believe I am really done with this series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Too improbable

    Like others I was disappointed in the direction that this novel took. Azhar was always a mystery, but now we see he is a man driven by selfish "need." Barbara's loyalty beyond reason suggests that her poor judgment in clothing is connected to poor judgment, period.

    But the real problem is that the novel didn't ring true. The incidents and the characters seemed far fetched.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Really awful!

    Too long, too much Italian with no translation and an unbelievable story. Havers has always been borderline disgusting; in this book she's achieved the status of totally disgusting! One of the only reasons I kept reading was to read the chapter in which she was finally fired. That she wasn't was a real disappointment. And Lynley with the Queen of the Roller Derbey? PLEASE... Last time I waste money on Ms. George.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    I borrowed this as an audiobook from our library so didn't have

    I borrowed this as an audiobook from our library so didn't have to stumble through the Italian dialog and place names myself. Most of them were understandable by inference but I agree it slowed the story down considerably. I love Barbara Havers and am familiar with her backstory--the woman can break my heart because she has NOTHING. Her job is her life, and for the most part she gets results. Lynley's romance with the zoo vet/roller derby queen is, um, a little difficult to take seriously. His life with Helen was so believable I, can't help but contrast the two women. In fact, Helen's death was the only time I can ever reading of a fictional character's death and actually being DEPRESSED for an entire day. I am looking forward to seeing where Ms. George goes with the Azhar story however.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2013

    Couldn't put it down with all the twists and turns in the plot.

    Couldn't put it down with all the twists and turns in the plot.  WOW! The best one yet of Elizabeth George.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Only Elizabeth George...

    ...only she could start out a story so slowly, then throw in so much maddening untranslated Italian (Google Translate became my new best friend) and still have me sorry there was no more to read by the time I'd reached the end.

    Trust me on this: if you're a true fan (and I've read books 1 through 17 each twice, so I think I qualify), stick with number 18 past the middle, and you'll be very glad you did.

    Scott H.
    Buffalo, New York, USA

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 93 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5