BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Just One Evil Act (Inspector Lynley Series #18)

Average Rating 3.5
( 95 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

As always, excellent character and plot development. Even thoug

As always, excellent character and plot development. Even though it was long, I found myself wanting even more. I can't wait for the next book in the series!

posted by 4181312 on October 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Too long too much

E george badly needed the help of an editor to pare away the excess verbiage of this over long book-

posted by 16975683 on October 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Too long too much

    E george badly needed the help of an editor to pare away the excess verbiage of this over long book-

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Far too long - too 'twisty' - too much Italian - losing respect

    Far too long - too 'twisty' - too much Italian - losing respect for Lynley - had very little for Havers and now it is gone. Not sure if I will read #19. Will wait for reviews instead of purchasing the day it is released. So disappointed.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    I love this series, but this book was 350 pages too long.  Also

    I love this series, but this book was 350 pages too long.  Also the excessive use of Italian phrases was very annoying.  I had to skim through the last 200 pages which I hate to do.  Get this author a good editor!!  

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Disappointing. I'm tired of Lynley and his seemly constant 'need

    Disappointing. I'm tired of Lynley and his seemly constant 'need' to fall in love. I have always been in Havers corner, but I really found it hard to root for her here. The end was annoying, too. Bummed that I wasted my money when I should have just picked it up at the library.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    What went wrong here?

    I can't believe this was written by Elizabeth George. Way too much Italian interspersed throughout. The book is overly written and the characters are unbelievable. This is nothing like the early books. I no longer care what happens to Lynley or Havers. That's a bad feeling for a reader.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Another Disappointed Elizabeth George fan.

    I have to say I agree with those Elizabeth George fans who have been terribly disappointed with this novel. The absurd plot(s), overuse of untranslated Italian phrases, and endless unnecessary details made me impatient to get through the book, all the while hoping for the plot to take an upturn. Sadly, that was not the case. My biggest objection to this book is that I just didn't like the characters, which has always made it hard for me to really enjoy a book. If anyone else had written this, I would have abandoned it after a few chapters. But since I love Elizabeth George's writing, and have read all of her other books, I plowed on. My memory of Taymullah Azhar and his daughter from previous books was a positive one. But, that was shattered when much emphasis was put upon the fact that he had abandoned his legal wife and two young children for Angelina, an apparently completely amoral, shallow woman who flits from lover to lover. She is apparently very beautiful, but we are told that his legal wife is a stunning looking woman, a step above even Angelina. Sorry, but any louse who dumps a wife and two young children to shack up with a girlfriend is a slimeball in my view, and not a character that I can care about. It goes without saying that I found no sympathy with Angelina, or any reason to care about her. Barbara is a character that I have long enjoyed and admired, but she goes so far off the deep end in this book, and for (IMO) a worthless louse of a cheating husband, that I didn't much care what happened to her either. As several other reviewers have already said, Thomas Lynley's character doesn't come off too well either. The first chapter told me way more than I EVER wanted to know about women's roller derbies, as he pursued a woman who clearly doesn't want to have a relationship due to their differences in class.

    I loved Elizabeth George up until she wrote What Happened After He Shot Her, the story of the punk kid who killed Helen. Her subsequent novels seemed to be closer to her old style, but still not as enjoyable as her earlier works. Unfortunately, this will be the last of her books that I will purchase. If there is another Lynley novel I will reserve it at our public library.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Not Sure I'll Finish This One!

    I've been a huge Elizabeth George Fan for a really long time and have read all of the books in her her Inspector Linley series. This one, however, is a huge disappointment. One, it's W-A-Y too long with twists, turns and characters that are not necessary and which do not add to the story line. But my biggest disappointment is that she has allowed both Inspector Linley and Barbara Havers to become compromised, if not "bad", cops--seeming to condone their illegal behavior because it's been done for the "greater good". Honestly, I feel so betrayed; and, like another reviewer, don't care to see what happens to them in the future. What a loss.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    If you didn't like her her last couple of books, you probably wo

    If you didn't like her her last couple of books, you probably won't like this one. It is long and repetitive, has too much Italian interspersed, and does not have enough interaction between the main characters. I get that the author is trying to make the her characters three dimensional, but this is the third book in a row where a main character is spinning out of control. I'm getting tired of it. I have decided to go back to the beginning of the series and start over. Those were good books.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I so agree with the other 1 and 2 star ratings. I have read ever

    I so agree with the other 1 and 2 star ratings. I have read every one of her Lynley books and this one was about 300 pages too long. The only reason I finished it is that I needed to know what happens to all of the characters if I decide to read her next one. What was up with all the emphasis on Italy. I think Ms. George went on vacation there and needed to write the book so that she could write off her trip on her taxes. The murder was so easy to figure out and the kidnapping just didn't seem  believable . Also Azhar's actions regarding his abandonment of the first family including children didn't work. Don't believe Lynley's new love interest either. I think 2 stars is generous. Ms. George please bring back St James and Deborah!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    DISAPPOINTING

    Way too long and needs serious editing; both Havers and Lynley become unsympathetic characters

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2014

    Agreed!

    This is a tedious book and I can't , for he life of me, understand why a good writer like George, who does appear to possess a reaasonably good feminist analysis, would write a character as hapless and stupid as she writes Barbara
    Havers' character. I mean seriously, why? What was the point of her cutting her hair so badly?! That little plotline just seemed to hang there by itself, attached to nothing but more shame for the character. Step it up, Elizabeth! You wrote Careless in Red, for heaven's sake!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2014

    Agree with the other reviews.   Way long and very disapointed al

    Agree with the other reviews.   Way long and very disapointed all the way through the book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    I, as others, am a huge George fan but this is a fairy tale. I s

    I, as others, am a huge George fan but this is a fairy tale. I suggest that George do a little study on breaking the law. Obviously, it is a novel but there should be some resemblance with reality. Very disappointed.  And it really needed a good editing job. At least 100 pages could have been deleted without distracting from writing about how disgusting the main characters acted. I have  to agree with another critic that commented that it is hard to like a book when none of the main characters are likable. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    George is a talented author but this latest literary contributio

    George is a talented author but this latest literary contribution left much to be desired as far as I was concerned. Having read everything she's ever written, this will be my last. The book is far too long as well as physically cumbersome in the hard bound edition. It could, easily, have been edited to two volumes without damaging any of the plot lines. I found her use of Italian phrases throughout the tale to be distracting rather than complimentary to the dialogue. Additionally, I felt the final conversations between Havers and Lynley to be painful and out of character for their literary persona's. I feel that any future literary coupling of the Havers/Lynley duo is doomed. Their once enjoyable relationship is not salvageable in my opinion and I, personally, don't want to experience any future attempts on George's part to resurrect them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2014

    I have read all of the "Lynley" books and I have to sa

    I have read all of the "Lynley" books and I have to say that this was a very poor book. It had no real plot and seemed to just be a way to spend time researching Italy. I had no feeling for any of the characters and if this was the end of this series I would not miss it at all.
    Too bad as I have been a fan of Elizabeth George's books for years but no longer will I jump to read her newest novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    I usually love books in this series but I'm having a tough time

    I usually love books in this series but I'm having a tough time with this one...MUCH too long and all the Italian is confusing.  I will finish because I bought the book (regretfully) but won't buy this author's next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2013

    I've read Elizabeth George for years and have, for the most part

    I've read Elizabeth George for years and have, for the most part, always closed the book when I was finished reading feeling satisfied and liking it.

    This book had far, far too much foreign language for the average reader, far, far too convoluted story line, and I was appalled at how far Ms. George allowed Barbara Havers to go off the reservation and not, frankly deservingly to lose her job.

    For the time being, I think I will find another author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1