BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Just One Evil Act (Inspector Lynley Series #18)

Average Rating 3.5
( 94 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(36)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

As always, excellent character and plot development. Even thoug

As always, excellent character and plot development. Even though it was long, I found myself wanting even more. I can't wait for the next book in the series!

posted by 4181312 on October 22, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Too long too much

E george badly needed the help of an editor to pare away the excess verbiage of this over long book-

posted by 16975683 on October 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 25, 2013

    Way Over the Top.

    Way Over the Top. While I have seen a few of the PBS versions of the 'Lynley' stories, I admit this is the first book I have read, and wow; what a slog for little payoff. First, this novel is grossly too long; did an editor not have the gumption to say 'cut half'? There are WAY too many plot threads, way too many characters to keep straight, way too much dialogue in Italian with no translation, way too much repetitive behavior and dialogue--all for a 'resolution' that sort of goes nowhere except back to the beginning--or at least the first couple of hundred pages. I am not sure why I actually finished other than I bought the book and felt that, for the money, I was on a mission. Also, I kept thinking the plot was going to go somewhere other than where it had already been. The character of Havers was utterly baffling and her behavior just utterly obsessive to the point I kept wondering if the character had a history of mental issues--yet I do not care enough to read the earlier books. Lynley is a likable guy but his love interest in this seems totally wrong for the ways he is presented--and to say there is no chemistry between the two is an understatement. The little girl is charming and the long suffering Italian detective (whose boss is depicted as physically gross and a caricature) while charming and kind, is also a bit too perfect to be believed. I believe I am really done with this series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Too improbable

    Like others I was disappointed in the direction that this novel took. Azhar was always a mystery, but now we see he is a man driven by selfish "need." Barbara's loyalty beyond reason suggests that her poor judgment in clothing is connected to poor judgment, period.

    But the real problem is that the novel didn't ring true. The incidents and the characters seemed far fetched.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    I borrowed this as an audiobook from our library so didn't have

    I borrowed this as an audiobook from our library so didn't have to stumble through the Italian dialog and place names myself. Most of them were understandable by inference but I agree it slowed the story down considerably. I love Barbara Havers and am familiar with her backstory--the woman can break my heart because she has NOTHING. Her job is her life, and for the most part she gets results. Lynley's romance with the zoo vet/roller derby queen is, um, a little difficult to take seriously. His life with Helen was so believable I, can't help but contrast the two women. In fact, Helen's death was the only time I can ever reading of a fictional character's death and actually being DEPRESSED for an entire day. I am looking forward to seeing where Ms. George goes with the Azhar story however.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    Alas

    Convoluted plot and what is all this Italian..great characterization but not up to Ms George's standards!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    I haven't finished the book yet but am so annoyed with all the I

    I haven't finished the book yet but am so annoyed with all the Italian phrasing without translations that I just have to give it a 3 star rating. The Italian is excessive and detracts from an otherwise well written, interesting novel. Is Elizabeth George just showing off her language skills?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2014

    A long long way to get no where

    Thinking I was a lynley fan I checked the book from the library. Thank heavens I did not buy it in any form. When
    george killed helen and the baby I thought I was finished with the books. I hope I stick to that resolve now
    Havers with no punishment. Enough

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2014

    This is a very lengthy book, which I thought should have ended s

    This is a very lengthy book, which I thought should have ended sooner. The title implies only one evil act, but I count at least three from the main character list. The one evil act is listed on the book jacket in which Angelina absconds with Hadiyyah, but both Taymullah Azhar and Lorenzo Mura commit evil acts. Barbara Havers risks all to aid Taymullah and Hadiyyah, and Thomas Lynley attempts to help Barbara. The story has many twists and turns, and the multitude of Italian is disturbing. I usually enjoy the Inspector Lynley series, but too may plots and way too long. George presents a detailed story, but forgets that many people do not have the leisure to read over 700 pages,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Suspenseful

    Despite the excess length, I found the story suspenseful and interesting. For the first time, I viewed Barbara Havers in a more attractive light through Salvatore's eyes. I like the author's dry sense of humour. I like the character development of the Italian isspetttore.

    By the way, the spate of negative reviews dated Oct 2013 appear to be written by the same person. Note - you only need to review once; after that, you lose your credibility.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Too long!!!  I've been reading for days and still have 400 pages

    Too long!!!  I've been reading for days and still have 400 pages to go.  Is EG so big that editors are afraid to edit her?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1