Customer Reviews for

Just One Look

Average Rating 4
( 139 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(69)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great book!

This book was very good. I could not stop reading it! If you love mysterys and twists this is your book!

posted by Anonymous on March 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Stretches credibility to the breaking point

Quite simply - this is not one of Harlan Coben's best. While it contains the great writing, the flawed human characters, the twists and surprises we have come to expect it really is a kooky story in search of a rational explanation. Sadly the story only works if you acc...
Quite simply - this is not one of Harlan Coben's best. While it contains the great writing, the flawed human characters, the twists and surprises we have come to expect it really is a kooky story in search of a rational explanation. Sadly the story only works if you accept the premise that a bunch of irresponsible people try to hide their actions and that others are driven to murder to try to discover the truth. While Coben attempts to portray the characters as ordinary people who simply make bad mistakes the resulting deceit, vengeance and violence define them as people I would not want to know. I guess you could feel some empathy for the main character, Grace Lawson. But like so many of Coben's protagonists you really feel sorry for her because she is surrounded by friends and loved ones who are such schmucks. At the end of a long, implausible story Harlan Coben tries to tie it all together and we are supposed to say, "Oh, that's what's going on and that's why people behaved the way they did." In my book, it just doesn't work. I hope the next Harlan Coben book I read is better.

posted by Goonboy2 on July 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 139 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted July 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Stretches credibility to the breaking point

    Quite simply - this is not one of Harlan Coben's best. While it contains the great writing, the flawed human characters, the twists and surprises we have come to expect it really is a kooky story in search of a rational explanation. Sadly the story only works if you accept the premise that a bunch of irresponsible people try to hide their actions and that others are driven to murder to try to discover the truth. While Coben attempts to portray the characters as ordinary people who simply make bad mistakes the resulting deceit, vengeance and violence define them as people I would not want to know. I guess you could feel some empathy for the main character, Grace Lawson. But like so many of Coben's protagonists you really feel sorry for her because she is surrounded by friends and loved ones who are such schmucks. At the end of a long, implausible story Harlan Coben tries to tie it all together and we are supposed to say, "Oh, that's what's going on and that's why people behaved the way they did." In my book, it just doesn't work. I hope the next Harlan Coben book I read is better.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    ......

    This was a decent read, but definetely not one of Harlen Coben's best. I felt the book had a few too many characters and the ending was a little far fatched. Dont get me wrong, the storyline was interesting and the book moved quickly, but not one of my favorites by this author.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Great book!

    This book was very good. I could not stop reading it! If you love mysterys and twists this is your book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    A Great Read!!

    This story begins with one mystery, then brings in others. The characters each deal with their own problems, yet Coben masterfully finds a way to keep them flowing together in one story. One of the best endings I've read in a long time!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    First I've read by Coben, great read!

    I loved the writer's style & I could easily identify with the characters. Some you love, some you love to hate. Many surprising twists & turns...keeps you turning the pages, unable to put it down....never knowing what to expect next. I will definitely be reading more of Harlan Coben's books! I have been looking for an author like this for quite some time. Highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    A very good book.

    I absolutly loved this book! It was full of twists and turns that made it where once you started reading, you couldnt stop! This book was pretty easy going, it was very descriptive and easy to understand. I think anybody and everybody who likes a good book should give this book a chance, and I can promise you that you wont be dissapointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2007

    A reviewer

    Great reading. Many twists and turns to keep you from putting the book down. If you like James Patterson's books you will also like Harlan Coben's writing style.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2007

    Quite the letdown

    This was my first Coben novel. As promised, it was a real page turner. But the ending was so convoluted! It was such a disappointment. However, the man can write. So I will try his other books and hope for better.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2005

    not worth buying

    the story line was okay till the last 50 pages. had a dumb ending wished i hadnt wasted my time reading it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2014

    Too many charaters

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    Just buy the book...

    I've never gone wrong with any of his books and this one is no exception. Will have you from its first pages and keep you til the last; enjoy the ride!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    Tap to see my review

    Harlan got very creative when he wrote this book. Just One Look has an amazing mystery. I think you will enjoy all of the amazingly chilling suspense !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2013

    Very Suspenseful

    This was my first Harlan Coben novel. It had me from the first pages. The twists and turns and the suspense never ended. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    The best Harlen Coben book I have read yet. I have only read ab

    The best Harlen Coben book I have read yet.

    I have only read about three of his, and this one kept me guessing until the last few pages.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was a little hard to follow on audio, however, once I could

    This was a little hard to follow on audio, however, once I could remember who each character was, it became a very interesting story.

    This was a first read for this author for me and I won't hesitate to pick up another book by him.  

    The story was very in depth, sometimes too much, however, had a spectacular ending.  

    It seemed to me that there were too many characters to follow and keep up with and I don't think the story would have lacked any
    without a few of them.  

    I had a rough time in the beginning, however, became very interested throughout the middle of the book.  I also believe that if I would
    have read the story rather than listened to it, that it would have been easier to get into and stay with the story.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Ok...

    Not one of his best but it was still good. Too many stories going on at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Most Read

    This is a great book loved it form begining to end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Love

    Loved it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2012

    Just One Look

    This was my first Harlan Coben book. I ived it. Been a fan ever since. If you like mysteries this book is for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Top Notch Thriller

    Harlan Coben is a master of thrillers once again creating a read that has you on the edge of your seat. He writes hard and fast drawing the reader into a headlong rush through the pages coming out the other end with whiplash from the ride. Coben has always been the go to guy when his fans want a dose of action and he’s never let them down.

    Premise

    While out running errands Grace Lawson heads to the Photomat to pick up a roll of film she had developed. She can’t wait to open the envelope and look at the pictures. When she does she finds a photo in the stack she hasn’t taken that looks to be a few decades old. Then she notices a man in the photo who looks very much like her husband. When she shows the photo to Jack, he denies it’s him and leaves the house not to return.

    Worried that Jack hasn’t been home or heard from in a few days and without assistance by the police, Grace takes matters into her own hands and with her friend embarks on a mission to find her husband and bring him home. Problem is there are other people looking for Jack and it’s not to bring him home. Amidst the rising body count of the others in the photo and threats to her own person Grace is determined to keep going until at risk of losing her own life in the process.

    What I Think

    I found the book a good read, it was well written with a strong storyline. Coben has created a cast of characters that are believable with a setting and a storyline that could happen in real life. I think that’s probably why I was hooked from the beginning.

    Sadly I found Jacks character to be a weak man. I was hoping he would put up more of a struggle for himself and his family but found his wife Grace to be the most dominant of the couple. He almost drops out of the story until almost the end of the book. What Coben does successfully is throw suspicion at several of the key players in the story that kept me engaged and my toes. I was fooled into thinking I had the mystery solved only to find I was off by a long shot.

    Bottom line, I recommend this book. If you like thrillers you won’t be disappointed. You won’t be able to put it down and that in my mind makes a book a success.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 139 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7