Customer Reviews for

Just One of the Guys

Average Rating 4
( 1681 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(861)

4 Star

(465)

3 Star

(207)

2 Star

(72)

1 Star

(76)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Great Read!

Kristan Higgins is one of my new fave authors. This is the first book of hers that I'd read. She has a nice writing style, realistic characters, and settings. Good contempo romance, good mix of humor, conflict. sexy couples--could be a series.Maybe, Kristan? Love that C...
Kristan Higgins is one of my new fave authors. This is the first book of hers that I'd read. She has a nice writing style, realistic characters, and settings. Good contempo romance, good mix of humor, conflict. sexy couples--could be a series.Maybe, Kristan? Love that Chastity is a baseball fan. be sure to check out Kristan's other other books you will not be disappointed!

posted by SoozeSC on February 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

36 out of 145 people found this review helpful.

Seriously

Harlequinn? I could not be more disappointed in this friday's free book. I look forward to this each week and have tried some great new authors but this is a low blow.

posted by 169905 on January 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1694 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 85
  • Posted February 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read!

    Kristan Higgins is one of my new fave authors. This is the first book of hers that I'd read. She has a nice writing style, realistic characters, and settings. Good contempo romance, good mix of humor, conflict. sexy couples--could be a series.Maybe, Kristan? Love that Chastity is a baseball fan. be sure to check out Kristan's other other books you will not be disappointed!

    42 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Seriously

    Harlequinn? I could not be more disappointed in this friday's free book. I look forward to this each week and have tried some great new authors but this is a low blow.

    36 out of 145 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    MEN DON'T WANT THIS TRIPE

    GIVE US SOME DECENT BOOKS ON FREE FRIDAY!

    31 out of 114 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Read this book quite a while before it was a Free Friday selecti

    Read this book quite a while before it was a Free Friday selection. I like Kristan Higgins because she provides well rounded characters who actually feel like people you might know (or want to know). In this book, Chastity deals with her own self image as well as her own conflicting views by what she wants out of life (as her mother deals with some of these same issues as well). Good read.

    29 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    Wonderful

    This is my second Kristan Higgins book and I have to say I love it. Its funny, romantic and the characters are easy to relate to. I am a sucker for happy endings!

    27 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Really?

    Um, this is the fourth week in five that the Free Friday book has been a ROMANCE. Men do read and have Nooks. Worse, this is one of those pulp-style ones our grandmothers used to read.

    24 out of 101 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Real, funny and engaging!

    Higgins has quickly become my new fave author! This book was solid and funny. I usually don't like books in 1st person but Higgins is a fabulous author who knows how to write a good book! The Chemistrybetween Chastity and Trevor was sizzling. Chastity is not your usual heroine. She's real and flawed.

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2010

    Hilarious

    This is written with such humor that it is delightful to read. The characters are well established. I love the whole family, and their interaction with each other. The ending was not predictable, but pleasant when we got there. It is a journey of self discovery. Lots of fun to read!

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Wonderful

    It took me weeks to finish this book, and i was sure i didnt like it. It started off a little slow for me, but got better the futher into the story i got. Needless to say i was crying at the end, and this is now a favorite book i will read again. Its such a lovely story and im so glad that i dedcided to keep reading or i would have missed out on this wonderful book.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Romance again?!

    I agree with the individual who stated that romance novels have been selected for too many free Fridays. I have no issue with them being offered and I hate to complain about something that is free but mixing up the offerings to reach more of your reader base would benefit everyone, the authors included!

    13 out of 64 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    Nontypical leading character great read

    Love that the main character doesnt look like Barbie. Fun characters good story.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Although I have not read this book, it's either romance or teen

    Although I have not read this book, it's either romance or teen books. I am a woman and I also want something intriguing or exciting.
    Please give us a good one next week. Thanks. 


    12 out of 68 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Loved it

    This is my favorite book by one of my favorite authors. I love how she writes stories that you can connect to. Real people, real problems, real emotion. And so much humor! Always looking forward to her next book.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2010

    I adore Kristin Higgins!

    I have read all but one of her books and I have thuroughly enjoyed every one of them! It is laugh-out-loud funny with a mix of romance! I truly hope there is more to come from Kristin Higgins! She has become a favorite!!

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Love It!

    I have read the book twice and both times loved it. You can not help getting dragged in to this loud crazy loving family. I actually laughed out loud at times.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    I'm enjoyed most of Kristan's books, this one not so much!!

    I've just about liked all Ms. Higgins books, this one not so much.
    The "hero" of the book, I wouldn't call a hero despite him being a firefighter. He made his life and the heroin's life more miserable than necessary. He made good in the end, it is of course a romance novel, but it sure was SLOW coming.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    a great weekend read! funny and touching this is a great feel go

    a great weekend read! funny and touching this is a great feel good book. I will buy more books by this author.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Kristan Higgins is amazing; once again she delivered the perfect

    Kristan Higgins is amazing; once again she delivered the perfect book for me! I loved this book and the characters – I’d love to see this as movie just for the fact of hot Firemen come to life! I loved the dynamic of it all – Chastity with her brothers and the big family (and extended firehouse family).

    Kristan does an amazing job of making the stories realistic and a bit sappy just to touch the right emotions then once you have a sappy moment up pops a laugh out loud experience.

    My favorite line of course has to be “blah blah bleeping blah” or anything that went well for the bleeping sake… The Lord of the Rings references had me busting a gut (because as a true nerd I’ve watched them so I knew the parts!).

    I love Chastity – great all around developed character with tons of personality. And who wouldn’t love Buttercup?! I had to bring my own dogs in just to feel the animal love while finishing the end of the book yesterday.

    Great Great once again in my opinion – onto more of these delightful books for me!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Quick read, great characters!

    I loved this book simply because I couldn't put it down. Chastity is a character that a lot of women can relate to, where she has bad luck with men and nothing every seems to go right at times for her. I also loved her big family, the author did a good job showing how close they were and how their personalities were as well. It had a lot of funny moments that I absolutely loved. I enjoyed it a lot, it is a good book to read on a rainy or boring day. The only issue I had was the man she has had a crush on since she was younger, Trevor. I wish the author would have made him a lot more likeable, he seemed like a player or didn't know what he wanted. I was confused a lot throughout the book on who he was as a person. I didn't get that charm from him that I get in a lot of other romance novels, and some of this author's other books. That's the only complaint I really had, other than that, great character's and a funny quick read!

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Lol

    This was a really great book! So worth the money!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1694 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 85