BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Just One of the Guys

Average Rating 4
( 1682 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(861)

4 Star

(466)

3 Star

(207)

2 Star

(72)

1 Star

(76)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Great Read!

Kristan Higgins is one of my new fave authors. This is the first book of hers that I'd read. She has a nice writing style, realistic characters, and settings. Good contempo romance, good mix of humor, conflict. sexy couples--could be a series.Maybe, Kristan? Love that C...
Kristan Higgins is one of my new fave authors. This is the first book of hers that I'd read. She has a nice writing style, realistic characters, and settings. Good contempo romance, good mix of humor, conflict. sexy couples--could be a series.Maybe, Kristan? Love that Chastity is a baseball fan. be sure to check out Kristan's other other books you will not be disappointed!

posted by SoozeSC on February 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

36 out of 145 people found this review helpful.

Seriously

Harlequinn? I could not be more disappointed in this friday's free book. I look forward to this each week and have tried some great new authors but this is a low blow.

posted by 169905 on January 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Seriously

    Harlequinn? I could not be more disappointed in this friday's free book. I look forward to this each week and have tried some great new authors but this is a low blow.

    36 out of 145 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    MEN DON'T WANT THIS TRIPE

    GIVE US SOME DECENT BOOKS ON FREE FRIDAY!

    31 out of 115 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Really?

    Um, this is the fourth week in five that the Free Friday book has been a ROMANCE. Men do read and have Nooks. Worse, this is one of those pulp-style ones our grandmothers used to read.

    24 out of 102 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Romance again?!

    I agree with the individual who stated that romance novels have been selected for too many free Fridays. I have no issue with them being offered and I hate to complain about something that is free but mixing up the offerings to reach more of your reader base would benefit everyone, the authors included!

    13 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Although I have not read this book, it's either romance or teen

    Although I have not read this book, it's either romance or teen books. I am a woman and I also want something intriguing or exciting.
    Please give us a good one next week. Thanks. 


    12 out of 69 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    ROMANCE AGAIN??

    I agree wiwth having a free friday that isn't a romance. Give us men a breal!!!

    2 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Too slow

    I had high hopes for this book and luckily my grandma gave it to me to read for free haha. Hoped it would look up but it did not sadly. Would never read it again or reccomend it.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Waste of time

    Wretched, grateful it was free, but I found the writing trite and the main character along with her family to be grating and cringeworthy. I admit to some chuckles in the midst of wanting to throw the book out of the window so that accounts for the 1 star.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    I'm well into adulthood thank you, and have never read a romance

    I'm well into adulthood thank you, and have never read a romance novel. I'd rather read about how to fix my computer (a book I just purchased today). I feel the guys' pain too. Ugh. Please-- better selections or don't bother.

    1 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Men read too you know

    Not saying men don't read romance but not nearly the volume thats been on freedom fridays lately. With valentines day coming up I guess we can forget freedom fridays for a while.

    1 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Women don't want this tripe either.

    At least, ones that pride themselves on their taste in literature don't.

    1 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2010

    Not Good

    This book was really disappointing. The author used so much internal monologue that I found myself skipping many pages at a time because there was just too much description and explaining of situations. The characters were really cute but they did nothing with one another. If you are looking for a romance novel this is NOT it. There is practically no romance in this book. For literally the whole book there is a girl in love with a boy who you cannot even tell notices her. The lack of any cute, funny, ANY interaction through me off so much that I had to force myself to finish the book. Overall this was not good. I wasn't happy with it all around.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    305 pages on my nook

    I just finished reading this book so it is fresh in my mind. If I had to describe the main character in one word it would be... sad. All she wants is to get a man and settle down to have kids. The begining of the book is okay then it is down hill from there. The author adds several sub plots that did not contribute to the story. The flow of the book is choppy. One minute it is present day the next minute the main character is a child again. There are lots of extra characters that serve no purpose. The ending is rushed and seems like it was slapped on just to be there. One would think that after drawing out the story and adding unnecessary sub plots that the author could come up with a more appropriate ending.

    Overall I was disappointed with this book. But I guess that is what happens when when you expect more.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    ARCHIVING

    This book just spammed on my other books which mmeans I read it on other books (i.e. The Third Wheel). SO ARCHIVING IT!!!!

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Slow Opening

    I couldn't finish it. It just didn't grab me from the start. I reached chapter 3 and stopped.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Just one of the guys.

    I have not read it yet. When i do read it l will give a review. ¥

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Just one of those predictable shallow romances.

    The only reason I had this book on my nook is beacuase it was a give away on "Free Friday". The space it took up was abused and I apoligized to my nook for allowing such mindless drivel to enter it's sacred memory. Sophomoric writing, predictable.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Did not like it..

    The author made the woman sound like a big, tall, muscular, ugly ogre. Nope, couldn't get past the first chapter after the description of how she man handled men!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Did not like this book!

    I wanted to like this book but did not at all! At 300+ pages the story dragged to the obvious conclusion. I did not like the main character. I know she was the only girl with 4 older brothers, but if she had said "blah blah bleeping blah" one more time, I am sure i would have screamed. Any seriously....red hightops as the only shoe of choice for a successful NYC journalist! I doubt I will anything else by this author!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Cant believe so many liked it

    Cant believe so many liked it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4