Customer Reviews for

Just One of the Guys

Average Rating 4
( 1681 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(861)

4 Star

(465)

3 Star

(207)

2 Star

(72)

1 Star

(76)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Great Read!

Kristan Higgins is one of my new fave authors. This is the first book of hers that I'd read. She has a nice writing style, realistic characters, and settings. Good contempo romance, good mix of humor, conflict. sexy couples--could be a series.Maybe, Kristan? Love that C...
Kristan Higgins is one of my new fave authors. This is the first book of hers that I'd read. She has a nice writing style, realistic characters, and settings. Good contempo romance, good mix of humor, conflict. sexy couples--could be a series.Maybe, Kristan? Love that Chastity is a baseball fan. be sure to check out Kristan's other other books you will not be disappointed!

posted by SoozeSC on February 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

36 out of 144 people found this review helpful.

Seriously

Harlequinn? I could not be more disappointed in this friday's free book. I look forward to this each week and have tried some great new authors but this is a low blow.

posted by 169905 on January 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 207 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    I'm enjoyed most of Kristan's books, this one not so much!!

    I've just about liked all Ms. Higgins books, this one not so much.
    The "hero" of the book, I wouldn't call a hero despite him being a firefighter. He made his life and the heroin's life more miserable than necessary. He made good in the end, it is of course a romance novel, but it sure was SLOW coming.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    teabrad1@gmail.com

    Maybe we are all giving Harriet so much attention she is actually thriving on it. Surely there must be some psych degreed folks out there who can give us some kind and gentle insite into behavior such as poor Harriets.

    2 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Good story but I Really Disliked the Ending

    When I read a romance I'm looking for an entertaining story where everyone lives happily ever after in the end. One person's ending is quite sad ... at least to me. That ruined an otherwise good story for me. I couldn't feel happy for the main character because I was so sad for another character in the story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Big time agree with the post right before mine!

    Free is free. Don't like it, don't read it and stop banging on BN.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    was. a good read

    first time i read sumthing from this author and i can say it was a good book. dont know what i will read next. wil let u all know soon. have a good day n sendin love n hugs to everyone.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    Fast read

    This was a cute book. I read it in a few hours. A quick, happy ending.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Tomboy Romance

    Fun read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    Well Worth Your Time to Read The charaters are so real & the

    Well Worth Your Time to Read
    The charaters are so real & the story is one we can all relate to. A little far fatched about the wedding but good none the less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Surprising

    I was prepared to be disappointed. The characters were charming and funny. I liked the story and the frustration that goes along with being unsure of love. Very relatable on a few levels. Romantic, no grimy sex scenes, no vulgar language. Good book for older teens

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Funny but not hilarious, and good but not awesome. Average. Have

    Funny but not hilarious, and good but not awesome. Average. Have read better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2013

    It was fine.  I like the characters, but am noticing that all he

    It was fine.  I like the characters, but am noticing that all her books have the same structure.  To the point that even the female leads always have a dog, are always in their early 30s, always on the prowl for Mr. Right-Husband-to-Gimme-Babies and share the same verbal expressions (like blah blah bleeping blah).

    Wish there was more variety.

    Also, did no one else notice the fact that Ryan Darling and Perfect Hayden _should have_ met at Chastity's mother's dinner?  Considering Trevor had brought along Hayden??  And Chastity was competing her one-sided cutesy-love competition??  Because a couple chapters later, Ryan and Hayden are introducing themselves at a bar like they've never seen one another before...  This totally pulled me out of the story so much that I had to write a review about it.  -_

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    Really cute romance

    With growing up in a family of brothers all the guys in the town know the one girl to stay away from. You get to see life from her POV and see if true love can be found

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    Enjoyable book

    The story moves along well and is interesting. The only thing I don't care for is the F-bomb. She used it sparingly. I don't see that it adds anything to the book. Some say that it is real life, but I read many books to get a break from real life, which can be tedious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2013

    Check it out!

    I enjoyed this book - looking forward to reading more of her books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    Love story

    Love story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Typical small town romance

    Nothing outstanding. Some of it unrealistic toward the end. Started slow. I did finish it but it wasn't one of those "can't put down" books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2013

    Surprisingly Good for a Harlequin. I do not usually go for the H

    Surprisingly Good for a Harlequin.
    I do not usually go for the Harlequin romances. This book is much milder than most Harlequin romances I’ve seen. First 5 chapters admittedly have vulgar language and conversations, and some negativity, but then it is also unexpectedly humorous. The subject matter is sometimes disgusting but probably no more than is expected from a family of men (who act like boys; so do many men, but this is overdone). The way the main character narrates is fun, if you can ignore her crudeness. Very good descriptions of her thoughts; I can sympathize. I enjoyed the romance more than I thought I would. It was tame by comparison with other HQN’s. Well-written - happy ending. As noted in someone else’s earlier review, it does leave a lump in the throat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    A GOOD READ

    I enjoyed this book. Higgins' books are longer than some but she develops the story with several characters interacting with the main people which makes for a more interesting story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Light read.

    I read it when I was looking for something light and fun. I did enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Eh..

    nothing to say here

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 207 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11