Customer Reviews for

Just One of the Guys

Average Rating 4
( 1676 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(858)

4 Star

(466)

3 Star

(205)

2 Star

(72)

1 Star

(75)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Great Read!

Kristan Higgins is one of my new fave authors. This is the first book of hers that I'd read. She has a nice writing style, realistic characters, and settings. Good contempo romance, good mix of humor, conflict. sexy couples--could be a series.Maybe, Kristan? Love that C...
Kristan Higgins is one of my new fave authors. This is the first book of hers that I'd read. She has a nice writing style, realistic characters, and settings. Good contempo romance, good mix of humor, conflict. sexy couples--could be a series.Maybe, Kristan? Love that Chastity is a baseball fan. be sure to check out Kristan's other other books you will not be disappointed!

posted by SoozeSC on February 12, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

36 out of 144 people found this review helpful.

Seriously

Harlequinn? I could not be more disappointed in this friday's free book. I look forward to this each week and have tried some great new authors but this is a low blow.

posted by 169905 on January 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 466 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 24
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Read this book quite a while before it was a Free Friday selecti

    Read this book quite a while before it was a Free Friday selection. I like Kristan Higgins because she provides well rounded characters who actually feel like people you might know (or want to know). In this book, Chastity deals with her own self image as well as her own conflicting views by what she wants out of life (as her mother deals with some of these same issues as well). Good read.

    29 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Wonderful

    It took me weeks to finish this book, and i was sure i didnt like it. It started off a little slow for me, but got better the futher into the story i got. Needless to say i was crying at the end, and this is now a favorite book i will read again. Its such a lovely story and im so glad that i dedcided to keep reading or i would have missed out on this wonderful book.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Quick read, great characters!

    I loved this book simply because I couldn't put it down. Chastity is a character that a lot of women can relate to, where she has bad luck with men and nothing every seems to go right at times for her. I also loved her big family, the author did a good job showing how close they were and how their personalities were as well. It had a lot of funny moments that I absolutely loved. I enjoyed it a lot, it is a good book to read on a rainy or boring day. The only issue I had was the man she has had a crush on since she was younger, Trevor. I wish the author would have made him a lot more likeable, he seemed like a player or didn't know what he wanted. I was confused a lot throughout the book on who he was as a person. I didn't get that charm from him that I get in a lot of other romance novels, and some of this author's other books. That's the only complaint I really had, other than that, great character's and a funny quick read!

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Really liked it. I wasn't sure if I was going to like because th

    Really liked it. I wasn't sure if I was going to like because the other book I read by this author kind of dragged (Too Good To Be True) but I couldn't put this one down, the ending is predictable but I still loved it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    !

    Great book.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    LOVE

    I love this writer. She is so funny. This book was really good I can't wait to read another of her books

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    I enjoy this author

    I enjoy her books.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Sweet, funny, and bittersweet. Very good read!

    I love that the characters have flaws because they seem more real to me. The family dynamics in this book is very interesting, probably one of my favorites that she's written. I enjoy the bantering and fights between the siblings, and the parent's relationship was told in a very real and bittersweet way. It was a great and touching supporting story. I love how the main character's relationship developed over the years, and the author ends the book with a sweet chuckle on your face. Not to mention there were quite a few hilarious laugh out loud moments you can't forget. Kristan Higgins is one of my favorite authors! Her novels make me laugh, swoon, cry, and think-great balance.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Slow starter.....

    I must say that i almost gave up on it!! I had a hard time getting into it and thought several times about just not finishing it. However, i decided to stick with it and im so glad I did!! The ending was worth the wait!! Plus I really grew to love the characters!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Adorable love story- highly recommended

    This was a fast moving, well written love story. It was my first experience reading Kristan Higgans, and I will look forward to reading her other novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    People are complaining about the FREE FRIDAY book being romance,

    People are complaining about the FREE FRIDAY book being romance, well here's a tip, if you dont like it then go BUY one that interests you -.- Who complains about free books? But for those who are actually going to bother to read the book I really recommend it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Sweet Read a Nice Change

    Tired of reading about so many zombies and blood and guts every where? Mysteries leaving you solving your who done it after the first three chapters? I am not into romances that much but this book hit the spot on a dreary rainy weekend. For those complaining about this being a poor choice for a Free Friday pick, give me break! We all have our favorite genres but it doesnt hurt to step out of your comfort zone now and then. Well paced and funny. This story had plenty to make you pause and think about people and life in general.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Liked it

    It's a good free read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Cute

    This was a very cute book and nice easy read. The ending was very touching too. I only wish they would give a better picture (as to what is described in the book) of the dog on the cover ;) Read it on vacation, read it on the train and enjoy :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Highly reccomend Kristan Higgins!

    This is the 4th book I've read by this author. I absolutely love the humor, there is one part where Chastity's dog is running loose through town and I'm laughing so hard it's making my husband laugh just from watching me! The book has great loveable character's and G rated love scenes. Happy reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2010

    Romance

    If you believe in true love this is the book for you. Nice romantic book with some comedy added in. Characters seem younger than they are. Young Adult book. I can see this as a movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable Read

    This was a fun read. First time I read this author, will be reading more
    from her soon. Great for a beach read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Cute :)

    I really like her books! This one was a quick easy read. I fall in love with the characters and feel like I want to know there lives forever.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2010

    Cute and fun read

    Chastity returns to her hometown from New York, to work at her local newspaper. She is a big strapping girl with four big strapping brothers, all firemen. She adores her family and her dog, but feels like she is ready to have a family of her own. Playing with her brothers kids and spending time her brothers wives at family gatherings really drives this home. She is on the prowl for "Mr. Right". Well, she meets him! But is he really "the one", or is the guy she has had a crush on forever, but who got engaged to someone else "the one"?
    Her dog is hysterical and her brothers are a pain. What's not to like or enjoy about this fun story? The ending is no big suprise, but I like to think that it is more about the journey.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Funny! Easy read.

    Kristin Higgins is a new writer for me and I just love her! This is the story of Chas O'Neil and her quirky family. Its a laugh out loud funny tail about Chas's dating delemmas and her four brothers input into her life. She wrote three other books that I have since read, also very funny.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 466 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 24