Customer Reviews for

Just Remember to Breathe

Average Rating 4.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(26)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    This was a great read.....

    This was a great read.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Pages

    How many pages are in this book? And how do you find out how many there are in a book ?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Love IS worth a second chance. It's been awhile since a book has

    Love IS worth a second chance.
    It's been awhile since a book has affected me to the point of tears. Just Remember to Breathe did this to me time and time again. Having spent 10 years in the military myself, than my husband spending 20+ himself, with tours into just about every Mideastern terrorist stronghold, I could connect with both Alex and Dylan. I feel that, especially during these times, it's a love story many can, will and have related to.

    The chapters split, his thoughts, her thoughts, his life, her life, was done extremely well. Each chapter pickup up where the other left off without leaving things for interpretation. Each having depth but not over doing the other. A story within a story enfolding before you.

    As a reader, you want answers to some nagging questions. The author tells the story so well that you aren't frustrated by this. You get your answers when it's time. Not too early and not too late.

    Mistakes are called out, plans are put into place, memories share, terrors spoken and a family hug that puts you directly into Alex's body and you feel like you are right there being hugged and taken care of. You will come away looking at index cards in a total new light. Trust me on this one.

    Do I recommend this book? Yes...yes I do. To whom? Everyone. All genders and to no particular lovers of a certain genre. This is a story that shook me to the core and left me breathless.

    The genre is New Adult, but other than a situation which is thwarted before it goes to far, I'm not 100% feeling it should be in that category. It's a book that surpasses categories. I feel anyone from the age of 16 to the ripe old age of 100+ will love this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Sweet

    Young love story that will have you feeling like you are the characters in this book. I found myself reading the lines outloud. I enjoyed how the author wrote the story from his and her point of view. Only thing I missed was an epilogue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    This book is absolutely the best. Can't wait for book 2!

    This book is absolutely the best. Can't wait for book 2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Great love story

    Great love story, no explicit love scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    I fell in love with the characters and have tagged Charles Sheeh

    I fell in love with the characters and have tagged Charles Sheehan-MIles as my favorite author so that I can hound down every one of his books in this series. The characters are strong and totally believable through their life's blunders and recovery. The writing style is deep, poignant, poetic, yet easy to follow. I finished this book reading through the night and wanted more. Luckily, the next in this series, A Song for Julia, became available the following week. I devoured that one the same day it came out. This series is a must read. You will not regret. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Black star i am a lost she cat zvery scared can you direct me to

    A clan

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Blackstar

    Go to gingerfur all results. ((Plus can u tell rosestar at result one someone needs to tlk to her at willow result 2?))

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Not what i thought it would be

    Dont waste your money

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Loved it

    Loved it great love story I cried and laughed felt like I was in the story read it in 1day

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    LOVED IT!!!

    This was a great story. I cared about all the characters so much. I didn't want the story to be over. Can't wait to read "A Song for Julia."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Loved it!

    Stayed up all night to finish it :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    Must read

    Theres this guy i use to talk to in the marines and this book Reminds me of him ... i also like that it was written by a man its a true insight into a guys feelings. Its a good book. Dont think about it just read it ....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    4 to 4.5 stars for this beautiful story. I must admit that this

    4 to 4.5 stars for this beautiful story. I must admit that this book has been sitting on my iPad for a while now just waiting for me to show it some love.  I SO regret waiting to read this one, although I am glad that I read Just Remember to Breathe after I read A Song for Julia.  Why? Just Remember to Breathe places the setting and characters a few years older in age.  I was at location 1838 before I realized the connection.  I feel so dense sometimes. *sigh*  Did I love this book?  Yes. I. Did.  I was so glued to the pages and in love with Dylan Paris, I didn't want the story to end, yet it had the perfect ending for me.  




    Dylan is a disabled war veteran who was badly injured in Afghanistan and suffers from PTSD, anger management, and seizures.  He blames himself for everything bad that has ever happened to anyone in his life, but especially for his friend's death in Afghanistan.  His life has not been one of normalcy, but I am very impressed at how this young man picked himself up from his horrific childhood to become a student at Columbia University.  Unfortunately, Dylan doesn't see his own good and strength.  The last thing he wants is to bring Alex into his world and hurt or infect her with his bitterness and rage.     




    Alex is the daughter of a retired foreign Ambassador and a student at Columbia University.  She is a girl of privilege who met and fell in love with Dylan at age 16 in Tel Aviv.  Alex is a very strong and mature heroine for her age, but she is not without her past sufferings.  She becomes Dylan's strength, the push or force behind him to be a better person.  Dylan and Alex met and fell in love while traveling to Tel Aviv as a foreign exchange students in high school.  You never forget your first love, but circumstance and distance are sometimes difficult obstacles to overcome, as proven time after time by Alex and Dylan.




    This is a story of love and feelings.  After a horrible breakup two years prior, fate intervenes and Alex and Dylan are forced to work together in a work-assignment at the University.  Neither are happy about that, but that simple work assignment acts as a catalyst for a number of events that force them together.  The problem lies in their past history continuously threatening any future together. Dylan is so damaged by his past, and Alex is so hurt from Dylan's past actions toward her.  Misunderstandings, lack of communication, and family interference all play a part in bringing a plethora of emotions to the reader, including tears, joy, angst, and turmoil.  My heart hurt for these two and their long suffering.




    Charles Sheehan-Miles brings a story based in such reality that it was so easy to connect with the characters and events.  The writing is smooth and flawless, and I thoroughly enjoyed this book and highly recommend it.  The only thing keeping it from being 5 stars for me was the last scene.  As a woman, I found Alex's physical feelings more fantasy than reality, but that is the only piece of this book in which I felt that way.  If you haven't read Just Remember to Breathe or A Song for Julia, yet; I recommend that you read them out of order as I did due to the age progression of the characters.  I certainly hope the author continues this series, as I would love to read the stories of Carrie (and Ray), Jessica, and Sarah. Kudos, Charles Sheehan-Miles.  You have once again validated why I love to read. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Loved it!

    This heartbreaking, yet really amazing story, is a fiction- contemporary-tale that could be happening in AnyTown,AnyState USA. Veterans are a totally different reality for us, and we hardly make any justice towards them. that said, i think we have here a beautiful book with such rich characters that gives us a little piece of reality. The writing is superfluous. Such a wonderful work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Really good read

    This was a really good read. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2012

    nice

    Nice read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    i fell fast

    i fell in love fast <3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Good

    Nice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 5