Customer Reviews for

Just So Stories

Average Rating 3.5
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Stories!!

I grew up with my Mom reading the Just So Stories to me. They were clever and I enjoyed them thoroughly. I don't think I can ever forget the way my Mom used to read The Elephant's Child to me. She'd would always use funny voices. I highly recommend this book. I garantee...
I grew up with my Mom reading the Just So Stories to me. They were clever and I enjoyed them thoroughly. I don't think I can ever forget the way my Mom used to read The Elephant's Child to me. She'd would always use funny voices. I highly recommend this book. I garantee full enjoyment for the whole family!

posted by Anonymous on January 19, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Do not download

Look elsewhere for the fables -- the formatting is terrible

posted by 3676746 on October 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2002

    Excellent Stories!!

    I grew up with my Mom reading the Just So Stories to me. They were clever and I enjoyed them thoroughly. I don't think I can ever forget the way my Mom used to read The Elephant's Child to me. She'd would always use funny voices. I highly recommend this book. I garantee full enjoyment for the whole family!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2001

    A Humorous Look at How Strengths Emerge from Weaknesses!

    Let me make it clear that I am reviewing the Signet Classics version of Just So Stories. The reason I say that is because the original versions of these stories contain material that would be offensive to most people today, but the worst of that has been removed from this edition. The other advantage of this version is that it contains Kipling's own illustrations and his captions for those illustrations. Finally, this version is also very inexpensive. These stories were told to Kipling in their original form when he was a child by his Indian nursemaids. They are drawn from many non-Western sources, and provide good contrasts with European fairy tales. In most cases, the stories are about animals or early human beings and their development into their modern form or capabilities. But they are really satires on human weaknesses, with the moral showing how overcoming a weakness will usually create a strength. Here are the stories and their morals: How the Whale Got His Throat -- If you get too greedy, you will bite off more than you can chew. By taking on less at a time, you can absorb more in total. How the Camel Got His Hump -- If you are lazy and procrastinate, you will just have to do without in the future and be less attractive in order to make up for it. Having resources for times of scarcity is always helpful. How the Rhinoceros Got His Skin -- Being too aggressive will cause you to experience retribution from those you harm. With more flexibility, you can be more agile. How the Leopard Got His Spots -- You have a better chance of success if you blend in, rather than trying to stand out individually too much. The Elephant's Child -- If you are too nosy, you can get into mischief. Having a keen nose can help you sniff out and execute more opportunities. The Sing-Song of Old Man Kangaroo -- Be careful what you wish for, you may get it. Being boundless gives you the chance to explore more. The Beginning of the Armadillo -- Versatility is more valuable than knowing just one way to handle a situation. How the First Letter Was Written -- Miscommunication is easier to accomplish than correct communication. Double-check to be sure the message is understood. How the Alphabet Was Made -- Choose combinations of communication that are unambiguous, or you will find yourself confusing everyone. This story is a brilliant essay on how one might go about inventing written language. The Crab that Played with the Sea -- Consider the consequences of your actions before you act, or you may see the actions rebound against you. The Cat that Walked by Himself -- The benefits of helping others greatly improve one's own life. The Butterfly that Stamped -- Actions taken for the right reason have just consequences while actions taken for pride tend to boomerang against us. Each story contains a prose tale, followed by a brief poem. The illustrations are explained in the caption at the end. The style of the stories includes lots of funny repetition, especially in the names of rivers and the features of the animals being described. With each re

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Short stories

    The Just So Stories are a collection of short 'Creation stories'. How the camel got his hump, How the leopard got his spots, etc. They are meant to be read aloud and the audio version is fantastic.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    H.I.D 1/24/2013 H.I.D 1/24/2014

    I love it !

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    McKenna Grace Mayo

    I love this book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Jdfjfjjd

    Vyhegdsgsfggddhedhdhhgddfuudhcjucjdjjjfjbjdjkmkjfuufhfyrufjffffjfkjfjfffd.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Adeline

    Wow i loved this book nd stories!!!!!! Nd for all of u ppl who said it had crapy words...hello its supposed to b like that!!!!!! Duh!!!!!!!!!! Ok good night:)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    GO HOME AND DO IT AGAIN

    GET A BRAIN PEOPLE ITS NOT ROCKET SCIENCE OH BY THE WAY I HATE STPID PEOPLE MAN WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU PEOPLE?

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Awesome!

    I loved it! Even better than the Jungle Book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2011

    Great book

    Great book!!! I think every kid should read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No errors and the original pictures!

    I have looked at many copies before finding one that was not rotten with transcription errors. This one has the original pictures with no random font changes. Kipling deserves a clean transcription like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    "Daddy's left ear -- the one that belonged to her to pull when she was good"

    A wee Neolithic Cave Girl trying her best to help Daddy had a hand in two great inventions: pictographic writing and the phonetic alphabet. Read all about it in Rudyard Kipling's 12 JUST SO STORIES of 1902. *** Daddy was named Tegumai Bopsulai and he lived "cavily in a Cave" with wife Teshumai Twindrow and small daughter Taffimai Metallumai (meaning "Small-person-without-any-manners-who-ought-to-be-spanked"). Call her Taffy. She was her parents' Best Beloved "and was not spanked half as much as was good for her." One day Teshumai took a spear and went fishing in the Wagai river. Spearing carp-fish for dinner was the goal and Taffy came along. Daddy shattered his spear on the hard river bottom. Taffy then drew a picture, clear to her but to no one else, and persuaded a wandering adult man who spoke another language to bring it to the Cave and fetch back more fishing spears. Despite all the hullabaloo and misunderstandings, Taffy had written the first letter. *** Next, Taffy and Daddy cooperated to create a phonetic alphabet based on pictograms. And they had so much fun doing it that Taffy felt it was safe to run "down to the river" and "pull her Daddy's left ear -- the one that belonged to her to pull when she was good." And to this day children have fun learning their alphabet the Taffy way. *** Most of the other ten JUST SO STORIES are tongue in cheek yarns about how a variety of animals including whale, camel, rhinoceros, leopard, young elephant, kangaroo, armadillo and crab had various changes made to their anatomy while interacting with their environment. A favorite tale is of the anarchically-minded, what's-in-it-for-me Cat negotiating his way into a precarious relationship in a time much before Taffy's with the Man, the Woman and the Baby. Cat would never be as unquestioningly devoted and caring as Dog and Horse but he made a place for himself among mankind. But "... when the moon gets up and night comes, he is the Cat that walks by himself, and all places are alike to him." *** I suspect that both children and parents will be happily reading JUST SO STORIES "for always and always and always." -OOO-

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2004

    great story must read

    great way to learn something of the past. by listening to an authors words from the past to under stand the past

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2004

    So, good it brings brings back memories!

    I haven't read this book in at least 30 years, but it was one of my favorites and I can still remember some parts from the all the wonderful stories. A definite read for children.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2002

    READ IT OUT LOUD!

    Children love to hear the stories in this book. It is written like no other book I have read. Read it OUT LOUD and with enthusiasm. Listen to the sounds of the words from your own voice and you and your children will see why it is treasured.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 1999

    A must for reading aloud

    Kipling, unfortunately, has been too long forgotten by parents when it comes to reading to children. Though the Jungle Book is wonderful his other works should not collect dust on the bookshelf. This is a truly outstanding selection. The cadence of his prose inspires animation in the reader and the listener. If you haven't read to your children in a while, pick this one up. Relive your own sense of wonder as a child, stir your child's imagination, and watch the love of reading blossom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2