BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Just Take My Heart

Average Rating 4
( 199 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Mary, how do you keep doing it?

Just like all her previous novels, I was floored at how several strings of plot that seemed to have nothing to do with each other all ended up fitting together like puzzle pieces at the end. Her characters are top-notch, as usual, and she just tells a great, fast-paced...
Just like all her previous novels, I was floored at how several strings of plot that seemed to have nothing to do with each other all ended up fitting together like puzzle pieces at the end. Her characters are top-notch, as usual, and she just tells a great, fast-paced story. I won't say anymore in case of spoilers, but if you're a fan, just read it!

posted by Digging_the_Dancing_Queen on May 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Not a typical Mary Higgins Clark novel

I have to disagree w. previous reviewers and say that I couldnt get thru this book. The storyline centers around the Gregg Aldrichs who is accused of murdering his wife and the life of the prosecutor who has a stalker she is unaware of~Sounds great but the book doesnt d...
I have to disagree w. previous reviewers and say that I couldnt get thru this book. The storyline centers around the Gregg Aldrichs who is accused of murdering his wife and the life of the prosecutor who has a stalker she is unaware of~Sounds great but the book doesnt deliver! Too many unbelievable storylines,characters, and details that fill the book unneccesarily (such as the emergence of a donor's memories in the recipient of a heart transplant). I jumped around to see the outcome, realizing how the climax left you hanging w/ an unbelievable silly ending...The court room drama is completely different style for the author and I hope she doesnt continue to write these types of books~I want the old Mary Higgins Clark writing style back-just a great who-dunnit

posted by NinnyJC on April 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not a typical Mary Higgins Clark novel

    I have to disagree w. previous reviewers and say that I couldnt get thru this book. The storyline centers around the Gregg Aldrichs who is accused of murdering his wife and the life of the prosecutor who has a stalker she is unaware of~Sounds great but the book doesnt deliver! Too many unbelievable storylines,characters, and details that fill the book unneccesarily (such as the emergence of a donor's memories in the recipient of a heart transplant). I jumped around to see the outcome, realizing how the climax left you hanging w/ an unbelievable silly ending...The court room drama is completely different style for the author and I hope she doesnt continue to write these types of books~I want the old Mary Higgins Clark writing style back-just a great who-dunnit

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2009

    Just Take My Heart

    Not nearly as good as her earlier works. Boring.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    Break Out The Paddles, Clark Needs Resuscitation!

    I've been reading Mary Higgins Clark ever since I was a kid, well, ever since she debuted in the 70's with "Where Are The Children", and have been a huge fan of hers ever since, reading everything she has written; and thoroughly enjoying everything she has published so far. So, with that said, it pains me to say that I feel that she has finally written a bad novel, in my opinion. Well, it is plotted well, the story is good, and most of the characters are written well, it's just what she does with all of the above that is a wreck. First off, it lacks suspense, a bad no-no since Mary Higgins Clark is the longest running reigning Queen of Suspense, far surpassing even Agatha Christie many years ago as the ultimate mystery/suspense writer in many people's opinion. Second, there are some ludicrous scenarios that are beyond being called "far-fetched". I won't bother knocking her for her simplistic writing style, nor her weak character description of some minor characters. But, I will mention how silly some situations are written, like one character leaving voice messages on the answering machine of the prosecutor Emily Wallace. Instead of simply saying "Hi, this is so-and-so, please call me when you can," this person leaves short story length expository detailed messages that no one leaves on a voice mailbox. The whole sub-plot with Zachary, the serial killer, was really the best part of the novel, and should have been a book all by itself, for it has no purpose in this one at all. Even for fiction, this is horribly "unreal"! I was torn between laughing and cringing, and not from terror, but from sheer embarrassment for the writer of such drivel. And, don't even get me started on the whole heart transplant angle that Clark tries to weave into this mess! It is deplorably bad! It had nothing what-so-ever to do with the story at all! And, really had no place in it at all either. Matter of fact, this whole novel was hokey! The identity of the killer may be hidden until the end of the novel, but like me, you will know who it is from the outset, even though there is a red herring or two along the way, it still isn't a big "mystery" when it is revealed who it is that killed Natalie Raines. And, it isn't a big mystery that this novel is bad, horribly bad! It pains me to say this about a Mary Higgins Clark novel, and it pains me to say this about the author, but I feel it is maybe time for her to retire.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    No "Heart" in this Book by MHC

    I've always looked forward to MHC's books. Usually, I can count on being pulled into the story from the start and don't want to put it down until I've finished it. I share my copy with at least five other people who love her books, too. Unfortunately,"Just Take My Heart" was extremely disappointing to me. It was disjointed and seemed to leave out a lot of important information.
    For starts, the whole side-plot about Emily having a heart transplant was totally under-developed and the multiple references to her husband's death in combat should have been better developed. Zach -- the creepy neighbor -- was just a red herring? Come on, Mary, what are the chances of someone knowing two unrelated serial killers? Highly unlikely! And it would have been nice to learn more about the murder of Natalie's friend/roommate, which set the stage for her own murder years later.
    I made myself finish the book, but I felt totally betrayed by its lack of cohesiveness and quality writing. This may be the last MHC I read and I will definitely NOT recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2009

    Utterly predictable.

    Just the sort of vanilla fiction I've come to expect from MHC. Like other reviewers, I did enjoy her earlier works better than the most recent titles.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2009

    For Mary Higgins Clark

    this was predictable and disappointing. I have loved all of her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Not up to standards!

    Usually Mary Higgins Clark holds me in suspense for the entire book. I was very disappointed in the way the story ended. Characters were great, the plot was good, but in retrospect I would not have bought this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    dissapointing

    I love MHC, she is a lovely lady- I've met her and her books are always a fun, quick read. This one is not up to par, it goes nowhere fast. She had a good idea and didnt take it where it could have gone. I am still a loyal fan -but I cant recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2