Customer Reviews for

Just Take My Heart

Average Rating 4
( 199 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Mary, how do you keep doing it?

Just like all her previous novels, I was floored at how several strings of plot that seemed to have nothing to do with each other all ended up fitting together like puzzle pieces at the end. Her characters are top-notch, as usual, and she just tells a great, fast-paced...
Just like all her previous novels, I was floored at how several strings of plot that seemed to have nothing to do with each other all ended up fitting together like puzzle pieces at the end. Her characters are top-notch, as usual, and she just tells a great, fast-paced story. I won't say anymore in case of spoilers, but if you're a fan, just read it!

posted by Digging_the_Dancing_Queen on May 5, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Not a typical Mary Higgins Clark novel

I have to disagree w. previous reviewers and say that I couldnt get thru this book. The storyline centers around the Gregg Aldrichs who is accused of murdering his wife and the life of the prosecutor who has a stalker she is unaware of~Sounds great but the book doesnt d...
I have to disagree w. previous reviewers and say that I couldnt get thru this book. The storyline centers around the Gregg Aldrichs who is accused of murdering his wife and the life of the prosecutor who has a stalker she is unaware of~Sounds great but the book doesnt deliver! Too many unbelievable storylines,characters, and details that fill the book unneccesarily (such as the emergence of a donor's memories in the recipient of a heart transplant). I jumped around to see the outcome, realizing how the climax left you hanging w/ an unbelievable silly ending...The court room drama is completely different style for the author and I hope she doesnt continue to write these types of books~I want the old Mary Higgins Clark writing style back-just a great who-dunnit

posted by NinnyJC on April 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Mary, how do you keep doing it?

    Just like all her previous novels, I was floored at how several strings of plot that seemed to have nothing to do with each other all ended up fitting together like puzzle pieces at the end. Her characters are top-notch, as usual, and she just tells a great, fast-paced story. I won't say anymore in case of spoilers, but if you're a fan, just read it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2009

    Another Amazing Book From M.H.C.

    Once again Mary Higgins Clark has written a great book. I look forward to April every year so I can order her newest release and she has yet to disappoint me. If you love her you will love this book, if you never read her work you should start!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2009

    I don't believe it

    I have read every one of MHC's books and find it hard to believe that she would use another author's idea for a book. I find Mary Higgins Clark is a wonderful author and look forward to all of her books.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2009

    A Memorable Read

    A celebrity of the literary world, Mary Higgins Clark, has woven a new tale of suspense involving the murder of successful Broadway actress Natalie Raines. Prior to her murder, Natalie accidentally identifies the suspected murderer of her actress roommate Jamie Evans as one of the guests congratulating her on her performance after the show. Unconsciously, she calls him "Jess," the pet name Jamie referred to him by during their relationship all these years ago and whose photograph Natalie still remembered-that same photograph that was stolen from Jamie's wallet after her unsolved murder. Shortly thereafter, Natalie is brutally murdered herself and the prime suspect becomes her estranged, theatrical agent husband Gregg Aldrich who previously stalked his wife and has a dubious alibi. He cannot remember where he was when Natalie was murdered, and his amnesia as well as previous spying on Natalie casts doubt on his role in the tragedy.

    As the court proceedings against Gregg begin, the stakes are high. The gorgeous assistant prosecutor Emily Wallace is soon in danger of being murdered herself, a dangerous serial killer is lurking on the loose, the star witness in Aldrich's trial is hiding something, and a detective involved in the investigation is acting suspiciously. The chapters are short and easy to read, as the suspense escalates up until the very end. Clark's writing is effortless and her plot certainly rivals Grisham's legal thrillers, while her characters-the grief-stricken single parent husband in danger of receiving a life sentence in jail, a TV host colleague torn between his job and personal friendship with the defendant, the heartbroken mother of the murdered actress, a convict willing to do anything to shorten his prison term, a psychologically troubled killer on the run, a scared couple whose information can turn the entire case around, and a lonely prosecutor with a personal tragedy-are hunting and memorable long after the last page has been read.

    While the fictitious celebrity life of Natalie Raines is not widely explored despite being the center of the court case, real life tragedies of celebrity lives cut short spring to mind as Clark exposes the flawed U.S. justice system for what it is. Evidence can get tampered, witnesses can be manipulated, jury can condemn the wrong party, lives are unnecessarily put at risk, and the powerful forces driving the trial are sometimes hidden behind the curtain instead of present in the courtroom. What Clark leaves us with is a portrait of the current state of events, reminiscent of the daily newscasts, where personal safety is frequently compromised and anyone is in danger of becoming Natalie Raines or Emily Wallace-a puppet in the hands of forces more powerful and well-connected than themselves, as lives hang by a thread and no one is what they seem.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    fans will enjoy this tense thriller

    Several years ago Jamie Evans was seeing a married man Jess; her roommate Natalie Raines suggested she dump him because he will never dump his wife for her. A few weeks later, Jamie dies in what the neighbors and cops thought was a robbery turned ugly. Natalie thinks otherwise as she believes Jess either killed her or arranged it.

    Over the next few years Natalie becomes an acclaimed Broadway star. Following a great performance, admirers come to her dressing room to congratulate her. She recognizes one of them calling him Jess as Jamie did. Fearing for her life, Natalie flees to her New Jersey home where he waits to kill her. She is found near dead with a bullet in her chest. Her soon top be ex husband Natalie's theatrical agent Gregg Aldrich is the prime suspect having been accused of stalking her. Still the evidence remains weak and loosely circumstantial until two years later convict Jimmy Easton insists Aldrich tried to hire him to kill Natalie; he offers insider information that supports his proclamation. ADA Emily Wallace is assigned to prosecute the case against Aldrich. As she works the case and the verdict comes in, Emily has doubts that reach deep into her transplanted new heart that warns her to beware of her friendly new neighbor.

    Though the premise of a transplanted heart providing memories and messages from the original owner to the new owner is not new having been in books and movies (Hoskins-Washington film Heart Condition) numerous times, fans will enjoy this tense thriller. The story is told from Emily's perspective as she shows an inner strength moving past the death of her spouse and adjusting to her heart transplant. She works the case brilliantly but has doubts even after the verdict. Fans will relish Mary Higgins Clark latest suspense as the killer of the two roommates will come as a hard to believe shocker

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    An ending twist I never saw coming

    Emily Wallace is an Assistant Prosecuting attorney. She has just been handed a case that will take all of her knowledge to prosecute.

    Natalie Raines is dead, killed in her own kitchen. Her ex-husband, Greg Aldrich and former Manager, is on trial for the killing. The only problem is that Natalie's mother, doesn't believe Greg could have killed her.

    Is Emily up to handling the case? She has had a heart transplant recently and has also lost her husband. With the many hours required to prepart for trial, she gives her neighbor a house key so he can walk Bess, her dog.

    The trial goes forward and Greg is convicted. But Emily is now having second thoughts about his guilt. She begins her own investigation and...Well, I don't want to spoil the very unusual twist this story takes so you will just have to listen to it for yourself.

    Jan Maxwell reads this story and does an excellent job of it. She is easy to listen to and gives the various characters a bit of their own voice inflection.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2009

    MHC never fails to get to me!!!

    MHC brings me into her books as soon as I open them. I love her way with words. Can't wait for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Real treat !

    I had the privilege to have my book signed by Mary Higgins Clark and her daughter at a Manhattan Barnes and Noble for the promotion of "Just take my heart", and "Cursed".
    It was a real treat to meet them, they are lovely ladies. Mary Higgins Clark is always a delight to read, I'd like thank her to keep writing and look forward for the next one !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm becoming a fan with every book I read!!!!

    She writes well. I keep trying to guess who did it. I still come up wrong.

    If you enjoy mysteries, this is a book for you. Her daughter and her have three Christmas mysteries. I recommend them all. Sorry, I couldn't think of all their titles.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    Mary Higgins Clark

    It was one of the best books written by Mary Higgins Clark. I simply couldn't put the book down. It was very very good. I'd recommend it for excellent fiction mystery reading.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2009

    Another awesome book by my favorite author

    I truly love all the hours of entertainment I received from her novels. I look forward to each and everyone of her books and I do not lend them out because I have each and every one of them.
    My Mother so enjoyed reading her as she has such a way of getting you right away and then I can't put the book down until I finish it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2009

    Just take my heart

    This was a very good entertaining book. Even my husband read this book and enjoyed it. He didn't even guess about the ending and said that it was pretty good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Just take my heart

    Here again, predictable, Love Mary Higgins Clark, with her sub plots. this one however was not real deep like some I have enjoyed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    WOW!

    I just finished this book and I'm sitting here on this site looking for something else of hers to buy. She always gets me and this time was no different. The characters, the plot, the whole story just kept me wondering. A wonderful read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2009

    Classic Clark

    Just Take My Heart is a classic Clark- Thrilling and fast paced- without gore. The title and book cover implies it has to do with a character's heart transplant but . . .it really doesn't. All in all a good read for Clark fans

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    Excellent

    Loved this book, so many twists and turns. great mystery

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Great Read

    Another great book - I've read all MHC's books and each one is better than the last. This one is no exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    I highly recommend this excellent read!

    I am a huge fan of Mary higgins Clark. This book does not disappoint. It is one of her best books to date. I had a problem putting the book down. I very much like that her books do not contain explicit sex, yet there is romance and suspense. Please read this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2011

    Excellent book

    I am an avid MHC reader, and have read so many of her books that I was beginning to predict the story line, but I could never have predicted the ending. Suspenseful to the end. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Another Great One!!!

    Mary Higgins Clark has not let me down yet. This book was a combination of mystery, trial for murder, a low life neighbor, medical issues and more. I could not put this book down. Easy reading but packed with adventure and great characters. A must for any Mary Higgins Clark fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4