Customer Reviews for

Just Who Will You Be?: Big Question. Little Book. Answer Within.

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Short and Sweet

This book was amazing, and although I finished it in just about an hour, it was one of the most inspirational books I have ever read. Maria Shriver gives advice for people of all ages and being a teenager, I understood what she was talking about and got what she meant. ...
This book was amazing, and although I finished it in just about an hour, it was one of the most inspirational books I have ever read. Maria Shriver gives advice for people of all ages and being a teenager, I understood what she was talking about and got what she meant. This book changed how I look at things and how to better plan my life.

posted by Anonymous on May 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Don't waste your money

I bought this book after watching the charismatic, delightful Maria Shriver plugging it on The Oprah Winfrey Show. Unfortunately, it was a huge disappointment. It serves only as a forum for a huge ego, an obvious mid-life crisis, and a desperate cry for apparently-nee...
I bought this book after watching the charismatic, delightful Maria Shriver plugging it on The Oprah Winfrey Show. Unfortunately, it was a huge disappointment. It serves only as a forum for a huge ego, an obvious mid-life crisis, and a desperate cry for apparently-needed psychotherapy. It should have been entitled "Just Who Will I Be?" I've never seen the words "I", "Me", and "My" used so often in one small tome. However, the worst part of the book was her very poor effort at poetry. That was an embarrassment. Save your money.

posted by 173292 on April 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2008

    Short and Sweet

    This book was amazing, and although I finished it in just about an hour, it was one of the most inspirational books I have ever read. Maria Shriver gives advice for people of all ages and being a teenager, I understood what she was talking about and got what she meant. This book changed how I look at things and how to better plan my life.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2008

    A reviewer

    When I saw Just Who Will You Be? Big Question. Little Book. Answer Within, I grabbed it and read it on the spot in Barnes and Noble. I still bought the book and a copy for my friend's daughter, who is graduating college in May and is terrified of the prospect of 'being in the real world.' Maria Shriver spoke at the high school graduating class of her nephew and the students and parents asked her to write a book based on the speech so they could more clearly remember what she said. I'm glad she listened. She discusses how a recent study found that kids today want fame more than anything else. (I read the survey and they overwhelmingly want to be actors or sports figures.) She tells the class that: 'fame isn't a goal worthy of your life.' Shriver describes why fame shouldn't be a goal, that fame can't give you meaning and purpose. Instead, Shriver advises to follow your heart, discover who you are, who your authentic me really is. The poem she read to the class is in the book and is powerful and true. Here is one stanza I really enjoyed: You can be girly and strong Have careers and go far And when you get married Not lose who you are The stanza for the boys is equally as good. Shriver acknowledges that we keep changing, growing and evolving as we age and that this is a good thing. She tells the reader about her experiences with growing and changing and they come straight from her heart and were very inspiring to me. Ultimately, who you will be is based on getting in touch with your feelings and discovering your authentic self. Finally, I related to this book because I've been feeling stuck lately. I published my first book a year ago. Ask most authors and they will tell you it's like giving birth and the first year like raising a child. To add to the excitement, the book won awards! But now, a it's year later and it's like the kid moved out of the house! I've had my moments (ask my husband,) and reading this book has finally inspired me to move on. I will always be an author, but I am also uniquely me and now its time for my next step. Thank you for inspiring me, Maria! By the author of the award winning book, Harmonious Environment: Beautify, Detoxify and Energize Your Life, Your Home and Your Planet.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2009

    Don't waste your money

    I bought this book after watching the charismatic, delightful Maria Shriver plugging it on The Oprah Winfrey Show. Unfortunately, it was a huge disappointment. It serves only as a forum for a huge ego, an obvious mid-life crisis, and a desperate cry for apparently-needed psychotherapy. It should have been entitled "Just Who Will I Be?" I've never seen the words "I", "Me", and "My" used so often in one small tome. However, the worst part of the book was her very poor effort at poetry. That was an embarrassment. Save your money.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2008

    I love this woman!

    Maria Shriver is the definition of the word class. I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone looking for inspiration. The Govenator's wife may just have a political career of her own some day!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Inspirational message from Maria Shriver

    This brief little book by Maria Shriver is sincere and simple. In it, she poses the question; ¿Just who will you be?¿ She tells of her own journey to find the answer, sparked by a commencement speech ¿ including an extended poem ¿ that she gave to her nephew¿s graduating class. She realized that stripped of her exterior roles and identities ¿ First Lady of California, wife of actor turned politician, Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger, member of the Kennedy family and network television newswoman ¿ she felt empty and uncertain. Not surprisingly, her spiritual search revealed that roles and fame don¿t define you. Every human is worthy of love and respect. If you don¿t mind an occasional touch of the sentimental and even, sometimes, sophomoric, and you¿re curious about the book¿s famous author, getAbstract believes you¿ll enjoy this visit with her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Author, Light at the End of My Pen

    I getting a copy, this looks very good! I'll write more after I read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2008

    what i think...

    A perfect book for people who don't know who they're going to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    GREAT READ!

    Very inspirational. Great for everybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2008

    know yourself

    good, easy read. lots of words of wisdom to transform your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    Not as great as I thought it would be

    The book was kind of dissapointing. The reviews said it was a fantastic book, the type that moves you. I'm here to say that it didn't move me. I was looking for something inspirational to read and, this unfortunately wasn't it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2008

    Motivational

    Short, sweet, sincere. Whether your 15 or 70 very motivational and eye opening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2008

    Fast read, hits the mark!

    Introspective, and provoking...the book makes you think. This book drives to the core and makes you re-think what you are doing and why. I decided to buy copies for family and friends. I felt that we all need to take time and focus on what is important in our short time on earth. We have one life, what do we want to do with the time we have on this planet?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2008

    a good read

    I read this book in about 45 minutes. It's basically a short intro and a really long poem that rhymes, with a short ending. It was cute and made sense just not what I expected. I recommend it though to anyone ages 15 and up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2008

    Not Bad

    I enjoyed this book, it was very helpful to me in alot of ways and other times I was confused.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2