Customer Reviews for

Just as I Am (Invisible Life Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    Wow..much better

    I must admit, I wasn't too impressed with the 1st book, but the 2nd one was way better. So many unexpected things, answers a lot of questions from the 1st book, It was very long, though. I felt like it was dragging near the end. It was a big eye-opener! Much better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2009

    I love this book.

    I acually found out about E. Lynn Harris' books by accident. I thought I was getting a different author when I brought Just Too Good To Be True. Once I read that I was hooked. I am currently trying to buy all of his books and have read about 5. Just as I am parallels the life a lot of the African Community is facing today (religion, sex, insecurities, phobias, AIDS, HIV, love, love lost, depression, acceptancy, etc.) I broke down when I read about Kyle. I had to walk away from the book for several hours. This book is very hard to put down. It is a great read. It may start out a little slower than Harris' other books but trust me it is well worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book has done so much for me as a gay black male. It taught me that I am not the only one that goes through situations. More importantly it taught me self love. This is the first book ever that I actually related to. If I am moved to tears by a book then it must be a great read. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2007

    Just as i ma

    Wow this book had me laughing and crying. I've read he book all out of order cause it hard to find each one. So far they have been great reading...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2006

    Unfavorable critics off-target

    If Harris' novels seem to fall into familiar categories it is only because society so often places men and women like his protaganist in all to familiar boxes. The genius of of his work is that he allows the characters to exist in the same boxes we would place them in if we met them on the street, and yet somehow keeps them fresh, and learning and developing. There are life lessons in his work that we can all learn from.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2005

    Fierce

    Outstanding. I've never read his books before until my exgirlfriend suggested him to me. The way he writes makes you want to believe that it is a movie. It explores every corner of a man living a secret life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2003

    I couldn't get into it. It was boring.

    I thought this book was really slow and dragging. This book is not one of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2003

    IT GREW ON ME

    I liked the book, it started slow but the development in the characters was wonderful. My first book by this author was Any Way The Wind Blows and I like how he incorporates the characters in every book he writes. I would suggest you read for yourself but the book is definately worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2002

    Surprised and Satisfied.

    Enjoyed the expression and heart-ache people who live an alternative life-style experience. It can be important for some to be loved just as they are!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2002

    Great, perfect!

    After my first Harris book 'And this too shall pass', I really think that this guy can write good stuff. This book is great among the other books I've read as well. He writes gay relationships and the black comedy perfectly that I wish I could write like that. Harris is the King of Gay-Bisexual Books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2001

    Just as I am...Just as Good!

    Wow, He did it again. Mr. Harris is an amazing story teller. While this book was not quite as captivating as Invisible Life, I still finished it in 3 1/2 days. I love the way he ties characters together while introducing new ones. What will happen next?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2001

    The first was great and this take the cake.

    I Did't think he could top the first one but he did. This book has everything that you want and more. The feeling you get after reading this book is so, wrod can say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2001

    LOVE E. LYNN HARRIS

    I love E. Lynn Harris. Invisible life was recommended by a friend and I've been going back to the bookstore every week to pick up something else of his. I can't recommend this book or any of his novels enough. I would like to add, that people (STEPHANIE) should not tell what happens in books when reviewing them as most people reading the reviews haven't actually READ the book yet. HOW HORRIBLE!!! We want everyone to have an oppurtunity to enjoy the books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2001

    A MUST READ

    I HAVE READ ALL OF HARRIS' BOOKS. I THINK THAT HE IS A GREAT WRITER. I AM WAITING ON THE NEXT GREAT ONE.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2001

    THIS BOOK WAS GREAT!!!!!

    To be honest, I am not into reading novels because I really don't have the time. When I started reading this book I couldn't put it down, I MADE the time. It was really good! E. Lynn Harris is a superb writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2001

    You Got To Read This Book!

    Never had I read 2 books (Invisible Life and Just As I Am) by the same author that simply left me wanting more. The second book, Just As I Am, was even better than the first. I can't wait until I get home to begin reading the third part of this trilogy. If you don't read anything else, please read these 3 books. These books will open your eyes and teach you to be sensitive to everyone's feelings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2001

    Didnt want it to end

    After reading Invisible life i HAD to read Just As I AM... people always told me to read E. Lynn Harris, but I was always hesitant b/c i didnt think i could get down with a book with gay relationships...boy, was i wrong! I recommend this book to everyone(ive already shared my copy)..now im on Abide with me..theyre all good captivating reads...I dont regret buying all 6 of his novels before reading them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2001

    Couldn't put the book down!!!

    I read Invisible Life, This Too Shall Pass and Just As I am. I have to say that I was truly impressed with the way E. Lynn Harris made each character come to life. In Just As I am, I cried like a baby when Kyle died. I cried when Raymond received the letter from Kyle after Kyles death, allowing himself to finally let go of the anger and hurt of the deadly disease AIDS that took his friend away. I felt so sad once I reached the last page, I wanted more, more, more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2000

    This was a great book!!!

    After I read Invisible Life, I had to read Just as I am, I am now reading Abide with me...These books are well written, Mr. Harris has done a wonderful job. The characters are well developed. I look foward to finishing Abide with me, and reading other novels by him.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2000

    Great Read!

    This book is a great read for anyone who enjoys a good book. Mr. Harris has done a great job on this novel. Just as I am talks about many different subjects that most authors don't touch on. Keep up the good work!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2