BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Just for Fun: The Story of an Accidental Revolutionary

Average Rating 4.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The first sentence in Chapter one of this autobiography is "

    The first sentence in Chapter one of this autobiography is "I was an ugly child." That right there gives you a good feel for the humor of the book. But it isn't just humorous. It is also an indepth and candid look at the man behind the creation of the least-known yet most-used operating system in the world, Linux, yet told in language that most people should be able to understand without having to be a computer nerd (some places he gets a bit nerdy, but you don't have to be able to keep up with the geekspeak to follow the book).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The man behind the penguin.

    This book is a great read if you wanted to know more about the man behind the greatest free OS in the world. You'll read about how Linus grew up as a child and how his little side project became the powerful GNU/Linux that it is today. It's a fun read and and even funny. If you are a GNU/Linux fan then I would recommend you read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2004

    Insightful!

    In Just for Fun, Linus Torvalds, the Finnish creator of the Linux operating system, mixes his personal story, told in both narrative and e-mail dispatches, with the saga of his development of the Linux operating system. Torvalds¿ personal account makes the book fascinating. He began as a self-proclaimed nerd who labored to create an operating system in his garage and eventually became the head of the world¿s largest open source project. By requiring buyers and licensees to keep the Linux source code open, Torvalds assures the continued technological evolution of his system. The episodic nature of the book makes it choppy, the technical descriptions are hard for the uninitiated to track and co-writer David Diamond¿s digressions are revealing about Torvalds¿ personal life, but a little disruptive. Even so, we recommend this entertaining, interesting book that may even lead you to consider using Linux on your computer, whether or not you are another self-proclaimed computer nerd.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2004

    Entertaining and reflective of Torvalds' personality

    Linux is one of the most important developments of the late 20th century, and this account of how it came about is surprisingly enjoyable. Torvalds and Diamond work well together to produce an easy-to-read, insightful, humorous, and very informative read. I suspect many readers will discover some empathy for Linus' life experiences, as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2001

    and it really is fun!

    There are two great things about this book: it's the story of one of the finest achievements of the 90s, and it makes me laugh while telling it. Get it, it's too much fun too miss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2001

    Excellent book, a good read just for fun!

    <p> This is a very good book. I am a little biased, having been a Linux user from way back, but this really is a fun read. If you are a fan of Linux, Open Source Software, or would like an inside view of what makes 'The Man,' Linus Torvalds tick. Even if you do not fit into one of these categories, this is still a very well done book. </p> <p> It starts with an introspective look at Linus' life (I must admit the whole 'biography' thing is odd, because he is still such a young man), which is something that has not been covered much beyond the... A young Finnish college student makes his own version of Minix/Unix for free and distributes it on the internet. Then the book goes into the Linux operating system itself and the underlying ideology. </p> <p> I give it four stars simply because it is a little early to do the auto/biography thing. I do think it is a well written book, but it feels a little rushed and unpolished. It is a fun read just for fun, and is worthy of your time and money. </p>

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2001

    Very interesting and amusing, a great book

    I bought this book Wednesday night (May 9) and had finished reading it by Friday morning; I stayed up until the early hours of Friday reading because I couldn't put it down. The book is highly entertaining and thought provoking. It begins with Linus' thoughts on the meaning of life and ends with an elaboration of his thoughts on the subject. Between these two bookends, Linus discusses such things as life in Finland, coming to the United States, developing the Linux kernel, and the future of Open Source and Free Software. As the book progresses, it focusses less on Linus' life and more on Linux and Open Source. Linus is very witty and entertaining and he makes you enjoy reading about his life. David Diamond also discusses what it is like to be around Linus and even interviews Linus' mother and sister in Finland. I highly recommend this book both for people who are already interested in Linux, and also for those who are just wondering what Linux and Open Source are all about. If you weren't excited about Linux before, you will be after reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1