Customer Reviews for

Just for the Summer: A Lake Bliss Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This story was about Dani Sullivan who was taking a break from n

    This story was about Dani Sullivan who was taking a break from nursing to come to Lake Bliss under the pretense of writing a cookbook. She was actually there to check up on the son she gave up for adoption eight years before. What she found was her son being raised by Sheriff Matt Reagan who was divorced. Her intention was to only stay for the summer and make sure that her son was happy. However, once she became involved in their lives she had to decide if she could walk away or confess her secret to them.

    This was a refreshing love story on many levels. It showed the love a mom had for her son and the sacrifice she was willing to make for his happiness. Also, the relationship that develops between Dani and Matt was adorable. They both were not looking for a relationship so it started with flirting and sarcastic remarks but developed into so much more. Keep the tissues handy! I hope there will be additional books about the other characters that were introduced in this book.

    Rating-4

    Reviewed by Donna McClaugherty,My Book Addiction Reviews

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    I really love reading these Bliss novels. They're quick easy rea

    I really love reading these Bliss novels. They're quick easy reads that truly are enjoyable. I haven't found one I haven't liked yet. Just for the Summer was no exception. It was fun, flirty, sweet, and a great family story. 




    Dani's story broke my heart a little bit, but I felt that Matt complimented her well. Even though her past was traumatic, she has healed and lives a "normal" life. Matt also has relationship wounds, but is optimistic that he will find love again. He wants to find a stable relationship and someone who will love his son as much as he does. 




    Watching Matt and Dani's relationship develop was fun. They have a flirty and sometimes, snarky banter with each other that made me laugh. It was a tricky situation that they were in. Dani never expected to fall for her son's father.  I kept thinking to myself..."How do you have that conversation?" Couldn't even imagine. I wanted them to become a family so badly. I was thrilled that Sam loved Dani and they developed a great relationship before he even finds out she's his mom. It was such a sweet little bonus. 




    Overall, I really enjoyed Just for the Summer. I laughed more than I thought I would. I went in thinking  this one might be a bit more serious and there were some intense moments, but it was really a fun read. I definitely recommend it. 




    Quotes:
    ~"Know what's nice about this kind of device? It's very flexible. I can measure around curves and corners." 
    "Very important," she agreed. 
    "A good carpenter has to worry about width and length and measure correctly so things fit together properly." -Loc 737




    ~"I'm going to officially make you forget your name and lean how to scream mine." He received a give-me-a-break expression, which he probably deserved for his lame line. 
    "Just what I like. A shy man who doesn't exaggerate his abilities."-Loc 1784




    ~"Tell me what you like," Matt said. 
    As if she heard a starting pistol, Dani leaped into his arms. 
    She wrapped her legs around his waist. "Just do a bunch of stuff and I'll let you know if it's working."-Loc 1814

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Initially I thought it would be the usual kind of story, which I

    Initially I thought it would be the usual kind of story, which I guess it is in a way.. boy and girl meet.. they feel a spark.. they play around.. but they can't get serious because of something holding them back.. but they fall in love.. and then the truth comes out.. and you see how they get their 'happily ever after'. In a nut shell.




    And usually I get frustrated at why this 'secret' wasn't just out in the open from the start. 




    But I understood why Dani, the lead female, felt she had to hide it. And of course Matt, the male lead will fit to be most women's dream man.




    Overall it was a great read. And I finished it in about 3-4 hours, I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Just for the Summer was a cute story about a woman who was dealt

    Just for the Summer was a cute story about a woman who was dealt a rough hand. She made choices that she has had to live with. Now as she faces being alone she wants to make sure that the biggest decision she ever made was the right one. This process brings Dani face to face with the hot single dad and town Sheriff Matt Reagan. I loved the relationship between Matt and his son Sam. I completely adored Sam and how mature he was for an 8 year old that is struggling with his lack of mother issues. I was actually brought to tears when Dani explained to Matt the reasons for her secrets and had complete respect for her as she walked away from Matt/Sam/Larry. It really made me love her as a character.  She knew from the very begin that keeping her secrets would create this issue but I understood why she did it. The ending was really cute and I was happy to get the HEA. I am hoping the author follows up with Jack.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2013

    3.5 stars Awww, this was such a wonderful story with a mix of t

    3.5 stars

    Awww, this was such a wonderful story with a mix of the funny, the sad and the sweet. I enjoyed it from beginning to end. The characters were interesting and relatable, I connected with them fully and cheered for them to get things right so they could be together. Both Dani and Matt wanted the same things, but both were haunted by their past. Matt because he was betrayed once by the woman he thought he would spent the rest of his life with and Dani by an event in college.

    Dani was sweet, stubborn and very loving. I enjoyed her interactions with Matt's son and liked her sense of humor. Matt was easy going. A hard-working single father who only wished to find a family for his son, I enjoyed watching him hesitate about his feelings for Dani. My heart went out to him when his little boy got sick, which just served to endear him to me more.

    I enjoyed how Dani and Matt were brought together in the story. They started off as friends and slowly build something more meaningful. It was through their banter and flirty dialog that I was convinced that they should be together. I am not even going to talk about their chemistry, it was intense and easily palpable. I didn't even miss the sex! That's how well written those encounters were.

    Just for the Summer was funny, sweet and sexy with a touching story and a sizzling romance.

    I received this title from Entangled Publishing in exchange of my honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    At times heartbreaking, and at times joyful - I really enjoyed r

    At times heartbreaking, and at times joyful - I really enjoyed reading this book.  There was definite chemistry between Matt and Dani and their flirtatious scenes were a lot of fun to read.  Sam, the little boy at the center of the story, is smitten with Dani as well.  He is craving motherly attention as his adoptive mom, it turns out, didn't want to have children.  He has picked up on that fact and doesn't really miss her. 




    Due to a medical emergency, Dani starts spending a lot of time with Matt and Sam, which pushes Matt and Dani even closer.  They both keep pulling back though - for very different reasons. 




    This was a very quick read and I hope to read more about Lake Bliss.  There could almost be a prequel written to this story covering Dani's past. (That would be a good book as well!)  I am curious as to who the next book in the series will be about - Jack?  Rachel?  Guess I will just have to wait and see!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2013

    Just for the Summer was a really heartwarming, fun, and sweet st

    Just for the Summer was a really heartwarming, fun, and sweet story. I love the premise, a woman spending her summer intent on finding peace and healing, but gaining so much more. Dani's secret, and her struggle with doing the right thing to be so heartbreaking. And though parts of the story are sad, and serious, Just for the Summer was also a lot of fun, as well. The author packed a lot of emotion into the story, which is fantastic considering it's short length.

    I just adored Matt and Dani. Matt was such a good guy. A man who's job is protecting the people of Lake Bliss, he's also a good friend, and most of all, a devoted single dad. I love reading about guys like Matt, he was truly the man every woman deserves. And poor Dani. She has recently lost her mother, was jilted by her fiancé a few years ago, and has a painful secret. She comes to Lake Bliss to find peace, but can't help falling in love with Matt and his son, Sam. The chemistry between Dani and Matt was amazing. Dani has a fiery little temper and tends to smart off when her buttons are being pushed. And, oh, how Matt loves pushing her buttons. These two were so much fun and truly made it easy to love Just for the Summer.

    Once again, I find myself saying that I just love the books in the Entangled Bliss line. The stories are always so charming, and yes, they always make me think "I want to see this as a movie on Lifetime!" I have an idea of what may come in future Lake Bliss books and I can't wait to read more from this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Fans of Nicholas Sparks will love this story! I was immediately

    Fans of Nicholas Sparks will love this story!

    I was immediately intrigued by the characters when I read the synopsis. Usually in a romance that deals with kids, the father is a widower who is forced to raise a kid alone. However, in this story, Matt divorced his wife shortly after adopting a baby boy. And that little boy, just so happens to be the infant that Dani gave up when she was younger. Even though Dani signed off on a closed adoption she was able to obtain Matt's information and has traced him back to Lake Bliss, where she plans to spend a summer checking in on the son she never got a chance to know and making sure that he's well cared for. I liked that this was a story about second chances but not in the normal sense when it comes to romance novels.

    Like I said, this story is reminiscent of something that Sparks would write. You have the romance, the close small town folks and that big elephant in the room the entire time. I will say that I wasn't at all surprised at anything that took place in this story but it was still a sweet story regardless. And I will admit that I bawled my eyes out at the end even though I knew what was going to happen. I just couldn't help it darn-it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1