Customer Reviews for

Just the Two of Us

Average Rating 4.5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2001

    Excellent book if you know the song

    When I ordered this book, I didn't know it was the lyrics of the song. I thought it would just be a nice story about a dad and his son. As I read the book, I heard the song in my head and the pictures made me almost cry. It is so sweet to actually *see* the song. When my 16yo son first heard the song, he ran out and bought the tape so I could hear it. Now 18, he got real emotional when he read the book. His dad is nothing like the dad in the song/book, so I guess it meant a lot to him to know that dads can be like this. And he could be this kind of a dad someday.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2013

    Pure Fun

    I know it features a Dad and his son but I believe girls enjoy it just as much as the boys. This is a great gift idea. It's even more fun if after reading and discussing the story you pull up the song and sing/rap it together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2005

    Every child's wish

    This is a wonderful book that can really hit a powerful string with any reader that might be enjoying it. The book has a focus on love that is strong and uplifting, but also shies away from the norm by commenting on a fathers love instead of a mothers. Being a young adult male I can really appriciate this book's internal meaning to the fullest. I found that this book delivered an arousal of feelings from a perspective of a son being with his father and then the awaiting to one day (not too terribly soon) be a father. For me that was the highlight of the book. The inner dialog that was initiated from this book was very alarming yet appriciated. Placing this type of message with a book that alone has so much stimulating rhythm that a part of me actually feels that the song reduces its overall flow. Overall this book was very nice as it was well written and well illitrated, with an amazing 'below the surface' message that I found a personal connection to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2005

    A Teachers Point of View

    I actually read 'Just the Two of Us' to my class this afternoon. Just the Two of Us is wonderfully illustrated and it's basically Will Smiths song, which was out several years ago, just in book form. I read it to the class since we were studying various types of modern day families and how some families are small and others are very large. In this case, Will is talking to his son about how he grew up and looks back at himself when he was his sons age and how they share similarities. Will briefly touches on his divorce to his first wife (not Jada)and how he will 'have his sons back.' This is definitley a feel good story about a father and son growing a deeper bond between them. As much as I love the book, I would like to see Will Smith write a real childrens book the next time around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2002

    Simply beautiful!

    This is a wonderful book that captures the love that exist from a parent to a child. It speaks about real emotions that we all have. This book almost made me cry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2001

    The Magic of Fatherhood as a Sole Caregiving Parent

    I have always been partial to the idea of coupling genres. I like to see sculptures that are imaginatively lit, with music playing in the background. To take a song and turn it into a book was an inspired choice to me. As I read the words and look at the beautiful images, I feel strong emotions that are evoked by hearing the song in my mind. The effect is a lot like seeing a motion picture, or being in an emotion-filled moment with wonderful music resonating through your body. Whether or not you are a single father, this book will move you in beautiful ways. The book builds from a father's reminiscences about what it was like to become a man, a father, and then to take on the sole parenting role after a divorce. Every father will remember having these same emotions, and will be glad to have memories of them reawakened. The book begins with: 'I told my parents I wanted to build a castle in the sky.' ''Here's a pencil and paper, let's draw the plans,' they replied.' The book ends with: 'My son told me he wanted to build a castle in the sky.' ''Here's a pencil and paper, let's draw the plans,' I replied.' The song has many other inspiring lyrics that work well here. Some of my favorites include: 'I pledge my life to you.' 'a little me' 'I wanna kiss you all the time.' 'I try to be a tough dad, but you keep making me laugh . . . .' 'It didn't work out with me and your mom . . ./You were conceived in love.' 'One day some girl's gonna break your heart.' 'Throughout life people will make you mad . . . /Let God deal with the things they do . . . .' 'Always tell the truth, say your prayers/Hold doors, pull out chairs, easy on the swears.' Some people may be bothered by the colloquial words and grammar. If the book were not based on a song, that would be a problem. But I found the usages helped with the mood. This is just an ordinary man, with feet of clay, doing his best. If his grammar isn't perfect, that's just part of portraying his character. Some readers may not like the way the rhymes scan. Some rhymes are definitely forced, but others lines flow nicely. If I were to judge the book as poetry, I would definitely grade it down for these problems. But in the context of the musical experience, I found it worked all right. So it is just a missed opportunity to be even better. I found the recollections of what it was like before going to the hospital, the experiences there, and coming home to be especially moving. I hope other authors will take on these important moments of fatherhood and give them their own special interpretation, as well. The illustrations should be singled out for special praise. They create a magical mood that allows your mind to experience the book as both memory and movie while the music plays on. Whether you are black or have some other color skin, you will identify directly with the characters in these illustrations without thinking about what their color is. That is a fine achievement in portraying universal expressions of love. Almost any father would be delighted to have this book as a gift for father's day from a daughter or son. After you finish reading the book, take a moment to reflect on your father or your experiences as a father. If your father is still alive, share with him some of your memories of when it was 'just the two of us' when you were growing up. Be inspired by the most precious and optimistic memories you have! Donald Mitchell, co-author of The Irresistible Growth Enterprise and The 2,000 Percent Solution

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1