Customer Reviews for

Justice: What's the Right Thing to Do?

Average Rating 4
( 68 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(30)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Impressed

Very interesting book, and very well written, easy to understand and really does pull the reader in and holds their attention (it did for me). My favorite part about the book are the arguments he gave to different issues, he really does challenge your way of thinking. I...
Very interesting book, and very well written, easy to understand and really does pull the reader in and holds their attention (it did for me). My favorite part about the book are the arguments he gave to different issues, he really does challenge your way of thinking. If you agreed about a certain issue in one way he has a nag of presenting a different way which can be very opposite to your way of thinking, but still is very valid, which forces you to rethink the issue and your own way of understanding it and ultimately your opinion. Loved it and would totally recommend it to others.

posted by DiniOv on December 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Sandel's Justice is well written but substantively flawed.

I enjoyed reading Michael Sandel's Justice. It is a thoughtful account of political thought on justice. Regretably, he ommitted any discussion of cosmopolitanism which has emerged in the past 25 years or so as a major response to Rawls and the nationalistic, nation-stat...
I enjoyed reading Michael Sandel's Justice. It is a thoughtful account of political thought on justice. Regretably, he ommitted any discussion of cosmopolitanism which has emerged in the past 25 years or so as a major response to Rawls and the nationalistic, nation-state focus of liberalism.

posted by Netdoc73 on November 11, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Impressed

    Very interesting book, and very well written, easy to understand and really does pull the reader in and holds their attention (it did for me). My favorite part about the book are the arguments he gave to different issues, he really does challenge your way of thinking. If you agreed about a certain issue in one way he has a nag of presenting a different way which can be very opposite to your way of thinking, but still is very valid, which forces you to rethink the issue and your own way of understanding it and ultimately your opinion. Loved it and would totally recommend it to others.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Illuminating look at how to judge what's right and fair in modern society

    "The way things are does not determine the way they ought to be." So writes Harvard government and political philosophy professor Michael J. Sandel in this all-encompassing tour through the social, economic and political issues that preoccupy modern society. Seeking to define justice in a just society, Sandel forays into affirmative action, paid militaries, infant surrogacy, free markets and even cannibalism. His reviews of classical and modern philosophies, rightly intended to guide the reader through his exposition, slow down what is otherwise an informative, illuminating and entertaining book. Sandel argues for a "politics of moral engagement" that brings all citizens together in a quest for a just society. getAbstract highly recommends this book to free marketers, libertarians, utilitarians and people of all philosophical and political stripes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    I didn't buy it on the nook

    Although i did not purchase it on the nook, it was still a very eye opening read. Very good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    Insightful

    Thought provoking, excellent read....a book worth recommending!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Justice is a must read

    I wish everyone would read this book. It is written by one of the most popular philosophy professors at Harvard. He uses examples very effectively to make his points. You do not have to be a philosophy major or prelaw to gain from reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    GREAT BOOK! MUST READ

    Very interesting compilations of lectures that will challenge our deeply grounded moral codes, and require the reader to view things from a different perspective.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Great experience

    I would recommend this book to any college student, professor, or employer

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2010

    So far an excellent read

    I've only read the first chapter and am thoroughly enjoying it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2009

    A "Must" read!

    A most insightful, thought-provoking, meaningful, and timely look into the meaning of justice and practical morality. I am recommending to my book club as a "must" read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2