Customer Reviews for

Justice Hall (Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

I thought this book was excellent, especially in connection with O, Jerusalem (which was also amazing.) In fact, that was one of the things I appreciated about this installment - we got to see more of some great characters besides Russell and Holmes. This is by far on...
I thought this book was excellent, especially in connection with O, Jerusalem (which was also amazing.) In fact, that was one of the things I appreciated about this installment - we got to see more of some great characters besides Russell and Holmes. This is by far one of my favorite books in this series

posted by Anonymous on July 4, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Where's Sherlock

I was a little disappointed in this effort by Ms. King. While I think it to be a fairly good Mary Russell yarn, the author seems to have forgotten about Sherlock Holmes. He does appear in the work, but only as an aside to Mary, Marsh, Alister and several other charactor...
I was a little disappointed in this effort by Ms. King. While I think it to be a fairly good Mary Russell yarn, the author seems to have forgotten about Sherlock Holmes. He does appear in the work, but only as an aside to Mary, Marsh, Alister and several other charactors. I read 'The Beekeeper's Apprentice' simply because it was Sherlock by a new author. I read the rest of the series because I thought I was lucky enough to find a writer who seemed to be able to captute the essence of Sherlock Holmes. I will read the next book by Ms. King when it is written and released, hoping that she will find Sherlock once more.

posted by Anonymous on May 3, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2007

    A reviewer

    I thought this book was excellent, especially in connection with O, Jerusalem (which was also amazing.) In fact, that was one of the things I appreciated about this installment - we got to see more of some great characters besides Russell and Holmes. This is by far one of my favorite books in this series

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2005

    My favorite since Monstrous Regiment of Women!

    I loved JUSTICE HALL. I thought the mystery itself, the dialogue, the twists and shocks, the compelling emotional drama all set it above the last two installments. I haven't enjoyed one of Ms. King's Mary Russell novels so much since the third. I am a big fan and can't wait to read THE GAME.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    The best in the series thus far.

    Usually when I am reading a book I am already anticipating my next read, and eager to finish the current book so that I can move on. However in this case I was a bit melancholy when I was nearly finished. The reason: I was so caught up in the characters, the setting, the mood of the story that I just wanted to remain there a while longer. Invoking that sort of feeling is quite an accomplishment for an author.

    I feel no need to provide a story synopsis. That can be found elsewhere. I would rather put my recommendation in context. After the first Mary Russell book, "The Beekeeper's Apprentice," I was intrigued enough by the characters to read further. The transition made in book 2, "A Monstrous Regiment of Women," was a bit unsettling and I didn't know if I would continue with the series. Book 3, "A Letter of Mary," was more pleasant, but not particularly compelling. Even so I had gotten enough pleasure from these first three to continue the series.

    By Book 4, "The Moor," I think Laurie R. King has settled in comfortably with the character of Mary Russell, and is crafting excellent stories worthy of the Holmes legacy. I would call book 5, "O Jerusalem," a MUST read before embarking on this one, as there are character continuations that should be followed from one to the next.

    So while all of the books in the series are worth your time, I suggest that, minimally, you read "O Jerusalem" and "Justice Hall." They are absolutely absorbing reads.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Justice Hall by Laurie R. King

    JUSTICE HALL is the sixth book in the series about Sherlock Holmes and his wife Mary Russell. Yes, a much older Sherlock Holmes, now in his fifties, has taken on an apprentice and a wife, in the much younger Mary Russell. The stories are told from Mary's viewpoint, as she and Sherlock work together to solve cases.

    This one reunites Mary and Sherlock with two former friends, but times find them much changed. When Mary and Sherlock knew them, they knew them as Ali and Muhammad, two Beduins who helped them travel through Palestine on a secret mission for Mycroft. At the time Sherlock had his suspicions that the two brothers were not originally Arab as they appeared. And indeed they were not. Now, Ali turns up on the door begging help for Muhammad and looking and sounding like a very proper English gentleman. The problem that Ali needs help with so desperately is the fact that circumstances have demanded that Muhammad resume his old life as Marsh Hughenfort and the death of the heir to the title has made him the seventh Duke. Mary and Sherlock travel to Justice Hall and find a very unhappy man determined to do his duty, even though being away from his beloved desert is killing him. When it becomes clear that they will not be able to change his mind, Sherlock and Mary set out to help by providing Marsh with support during the difficult time and begin investigating the rather suspicious death of the young heir, executed for cowardice during World War I, and the set out to prove whether or not Marsh's heir, the son of his brother, is actually his son. More and more mysteries enter and then someone tries to kill Marsh. And the game is afoot.

    Laurie E. King has written another great addition to her rather improbable mystery series that takes a very much different look at Sherlock Holmes. Sherlock is still the Sherlock we know and love and yet different. Mary is charming and a very unique modern woman, a true heroine. JUSTICE HALL is very worth reading.

    Reviewed by Linda Suzane, June 5, 2002. www.midnightblood.com

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    A good Mary Russell story

    The Mary Russell stories are based on an outrageous premise: that Sherlock Holmes, in his later years, took a young partner who later became his wife. Justice Hall adds an improbability: that characters they met in Oh Jerusalem!, characters deeply rooted in Palestine, have older and deeper roots in England and its history. Making it come off is no small matter, and Laurie King does.<BR/><BR/>It's set in the aftermath of World War One, and the moods and practices of that war eventually loom large. The author's contemporary attitudes and mores are woven into her character, but not so much as to spoil the story, except perhaps for fans of the purest kind of historical whodunit.<BR/><BR/>This is an adventure more than a pure mystery; we share Mary Russell's thoughts as she finds the solutions. Still, the possibilities were always there; we are well misdirected. Both the outcome and the path to it make a good tale, well-seasoned in the telling. There are dramatic turns and an unfolding that plays the heartstrings firmly and clearly.<BR/><BR/>As this series has progressed, Russell's character has moved to the fore; Holmes plays a smaller and smaller part, except as a facilitator with access to Mycroft (and wouldn't that be scandal today) and a well-recognized name. This is as it should be; it's her story. The direct interplay between Holmes and Russell is more limited than in some of the other stories, and that is missed. A Holmesian air lingers about the thing, a comfortable shadow of gaslight and a familiar hint of coal smoke, even as the story reminds us of the social and political upheavals ahead for England.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2008

    Justice Hall is Heartbreaking

    This is the first book I have ever came across that dealt with the "shot at dawn" issue in the First World War. The why and how of this book in dealing with this was heartbreaking. I have thoroughly enjoyed each of the books in this series, but this one is my favorite. The characters are carried over from "O, Jerusalem!", which was excellent as well and are dealt with consistently and realistically.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2002

    multi-textured Holmes mystery

    Four years ago in 1919, Sherlock Holmes and Mary Russell were in Palestine working a case. Their paths crossed that of two Arabs, Ali and Mahmoud Hazr, two agents of Mycroft who reported on German movement. These four people worked so closely together, breaking bread watching, each other¿s back and taking care of business that a bond was formed, closer than that of family. <P>In the present (1923) a knock on the door of Holmes and Russell¿s home reveals a wounded and desperate Ali who says he needs their help. It seems that the Hazr¿s are descendants from one of England¿s oldest families, one who came over with the Conqueror. Mahmoud is now the Seventh Duke of Belleville and he is on the family estate of Justice Hall. Duty forces him to come to England though his heart and soul yearn to be with Ali in Palestine. Mary and Sherlock must find out if there is anyone of the blood to take Marsh¿s place, a job that is fraught with danger and peril. <P> It¿s hard to imagine any author writing about Sherlock Holmes in a manner that is significantly different than his creator and having it come out fabulous but Laurie R. King makes the impossible possible. JUSTICE HALL is a rich multi-textured tale that is as much a historical mystery as it is a parable of the human condition. This book as well as the series is a must read for Holmes fans as well as anyone who wants to read something unusually good. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2002

    Where's Sherlock

    I was a little disappointed in this effort by Ms. King. While I think it to be a fairly good Mary Russell yarn, the author seems to have forgotten about Sherlock Holmes. He does appear in the work, but only as an aside to Mary, Marsh, Alister and several other charactors. I read 'The Beekeeper's Apprentice' simply because it was Sherlock by a new author. I read the rest of the series because I thought I was lucky enough to find a writer who seemed to be able to captute the essence of Sherlock Holmes. I will read the next book by Ms. King when it is written and released, hoping that she will find Sherlock once more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    A real page-turner!

    I read these on the treadmill--it's my bribe--and I could hardly wait to get on it so I could read the next portion. Excellent characters, fine plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Justice Hall

    While I did enjoy this one, it is not the best so far in the series. It seemed to drag in parts. I did like the connection of characters of o Jerusalem.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2003

    Wake me when it's over!

    YAWN! I was a big fan of the earlier books in King's series, but this one is dull. NOTHING HAPPENS. I can't imagine why readers are describing this as taut and suspenseful; I think the richness of her earlier books is clouding their judgment.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2002

    TAUT WITH SUSPENSE AND RICH IN PERIOD DETAIL

    Through the years the legendary Sherlock Holmes (the fictional English detective with amazing powers of deduction created by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle) has gained mythic proportions. Web sties abound dealing in all matters Sherlockian: there is even a museum devoted to the ace crime solver. One would think that any attempt to resurrect such an iconic figure by another author would be both a waste and a travesty. Not so with the very gifted Laurie R. King who presents her sixth in a series pairing Holmes with his partner, Mary Russell, rather than the redoubtable Watson. Russell, as readers of the author's earlier works have learned, is a match in every way for the formidable detective. Her intellectual acumen and derring do are once again showcased when they pair journey to Southeastern England to help their old friends (introduced in 'O Jerusalem') Muhammed and Ali Hazr. As Muhammed and Ali share their dilemma with Russell and Holmes the scene shifts to a beautiful, mysterious mansion in Sussex, Justice Hall. The quartet are soon confronted with inexplicable events that both confound and invigorate Holmes and Russell. Once again the author presents a story taut with suspense and rich in period detail.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2002

    Continued excellence for the sixth Mary Russell book

    Once more, Laurie King serves up an excellent Mary Russell/Sherlock Holmes novel. This time around, the story deals with Mahmoud and Ali, the two individuals that Russell and Holmes traveled with while in Palestine (the trip detailed in O, Jerusalem). As with every other book in the series, you'll find yourself unable to put Justice Hall down, yet you'll be reluctant to continue reading, because you know it will come to an end far too soon. Any fan of the series will be pleased with this latest addition; savor it, enjoy it, and use it as an excuse to read books one through five all over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 50 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3