BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Justice League Volume 1: Origin (The New 52)

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

An Action Movie in Graphic Novel Form

This book is the last 30 minutes of an action movie. It just doesn’t stop. The biggest superheroes all in one book fighting against a powerful unknown evil. The energy explodes off the page.

But is that a good thing?

There’s hardly any story here. Yeah, cool rooft...
This book is the last 30 minutes of an action movie. It just doesn’t stop. The biggest superheroes all in one book fighting against a powerful unknown evil. The energy explodes off the page.

But is that a good thing?

There’s hardly any story here. Yeah, cool rooftop chases, helicopter battles, hordes of monstrous creatures and Superman looking as cool as I’ve ever seen him. But there’s nothing holding it up.

I admit, the main draw for me was the art. No pun intended. Jim Lee is a comic art master and I could look at his art for days. So maybe that is what this book was, just an art book and you have to ignore all those pesky words that someone spilled on it.

But is that a bad thing?

You have to take this for what it is, an action movie. You get to see the most impressive superheroes doing the impressive things in impressive places against impressive villains. If you want a story, then you just have to read their solo books. This book gets a 5 for art and a -1 for spilled letters.

ARC Reviewed by Chris for Book Sake.

posted by BookSakeBlogspot on June 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Pretty lackluster book considering the heroes assembled in this

Pretty lackluster book considering the heroes assembled in this book. Should be the best team book that you can find but it leaves you wanting much more case it never delivers. Not the blockbuster action story I was hoping for. Great art though and Green Lantern hilario...
Pretty lackluster book considering the heroes assembled in this book. Should be the best team book that you can find but it leaves you wanting much more case it never delivers. Not the blockbuster action story I was hoping for. Great art though and Green Lantern hilarious.

posted by Hurd on August 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An Action Movie in Graphic Novel Form

    This book is the last 30 minutes of an action movie. It just doesn’t stop. The biggest superheroes all in one book fighting against a powerful unknown evil. The energy explodes off the page.

    But is that a good thing?

    There’s hardly any story here. Yeah, cool rooftop chases, helicopter battles, hordes of monstrous creatures and Superman looking as cool as I’ve ever seen him. But there’s nothing holding it up.

    I admit, the main draw for me was the art. No pun intended. Jim Lee is a comic art master and I could look at his art for days. So maybe that is what this book was, just an art book and you have to ignore all those pesky words that someone spilled on it.

    But is that a bad thing?

    You have to take this for what it is, an action movie. You get to see the most impressive superheroes doing the impressive things in impressive places against impressive villains. If you want a story, then you just have to read their solo books. This book gets a 5 for art and a -1 for spilled letters.

    ARC Reviewed by Chris for Book Sake.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2012

    Pretty lackluster book considering the heroes assembled in this

    Pretty lackluster book considering the heroes assembled in this book. Should be the best team book that you can find but it leaves you wanting much more case it never delivers. Not the blockbuster action story I was hoping for. Great art though and Green Lantern hilarious.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2012

    Very Cool

    I like classic, but I also like new and modern.This is a cool book for both long-time readers like me, and new readers. Its surprisingly a fast paced read, and the re-telling of the origin of Cyborg is really intriguing.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    great

    This was a gift for my daughter, she loved it.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Makes me want to buy more!

    Reading this volume makes me want to buy more!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Gorgeous!

    Absolutely gorgeous art work. Action packed non stop page turner. A must have.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Im a fan

    Hooked whens the rest coming out

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    Yes

    Aquaman 'nuff said.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Super not

    Hate it

    3 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2012

    Great

    About time they refreshed the seriesu

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    Phenomenal Graphics ~ Small Screen

    While the color and graphics of this comic book are phenomenal the Nook is ill equipped screenwise to really offer tne enjoyment the comic deserves. Expensive lesson.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    Awsome......

    Awsome......

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    The New 52

    This was awsome, it's the same concept as the ultimate series in marvel the same characters but with a twist on the background, a change to the look of the characters, and a new story-line.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2014

    The history of how the Justice League formed is explored or is b

    The history of how the Justice League formed is explored or is begun to be explored.

    Detailed illustrations add to the plot narrative, character development, and action sequences.

    Characters while flawed have great potential for future episodes and interactions.

    Overall, an interesting read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    We need The New 52 Flash volume one.

    I read this. It was pretty good, but more importantly why can't you buy The Flash volume 1. Lazy Barnes and Noble people can't do their job.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2013

    Awesome If you liked DC comics as a kid then this is something

    Awesome
    If you liked DC comics as a kid then this is something you should love as an adult.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    New 52 best to worst (11) of them atleast

    Me and my 3 friends opinoions on new 52 titles we are reading first my opinion then my 3 friends opinions together 1.Deathstroke............................2.Justice League International.......... 3.Green Lantern: new guardians....4.Superman................................ 5.Red Hood and the Outlaws.........6.Supergirl.......7.Firestorm........ 8.Justice League.............9.Action Comics............10.Blue Beetle........ 11.Superboy. :::::::::::::::::::::: I will post my 3 friends opinions soon and hope this list will help you pick new 52 comics.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Hate

    Sucks and cost to much

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    T

    How many pages

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 16, 2014

    Good start to the rebooted universe... This is exactly how you

    Good start to the rebooted universe...

    This is exactly how you expect the Worlds Greatest Super Heroes to meet. They don't know each other, they don't trust each other, and they start throwing punches almost immediately after meeting (or in the case of Superman and Green Lantern, before). Yes, the story is the stereotypical alien invasion plot but it's the relationships of the characters as they feel each other out that makes this enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3