Customer Reviews for

Justice League Volume 1: Origin (The New 52)

Average Rating 4
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

An Action Movie in Graphic Novel Form

This book is the last 30 minutes of an action movie. It just doesn’t stop. The biggest superheroes all in one book fighting against a powerful unknown evil. The energy explodes off the page.

But is that a good thing?

There’s hardly any story here. Yeah, cool rooft...
This book is the last 30 minutes of an action movie. It just doesn’t stop. The biggest superheroes all in one book fighting against a powerful unknown evil. The energy explodes off the page.

But is that a good thing?

There’s hardly any story here. Yeah, cool rooftop chases, helicopter battles, hordes of monstrous creatures and Superman looking as cool as I’ve ever seen him. But there’s nothing holding it up.

I admit, the main draw for me was the art. No pun intended. Jim Lee is a comic art master and I could look at his art for days. So maybe that is what this book was, just an art book and you have to ignore all those pesky words that someone spilled on it.

But is that a bad thing?

You have to take this for what it is, an action movie. You get to see the most impressive superheroes doing the impressive things in impressive places against impressive villains. If you want a story, then you just have to read their solo books. This book gets a 5 for art and a -1 for spilled letters.

ARC Reviewed by Chris for Book Sake.

posted by BookSakeBlogspot on June 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Pretty lackluster book considering the heroes assembled in this

Pretty lackluster book considering the heroes assembled in this book. Should be the best team book that you can find but it leaves you wanting much more case it never delivers. Not the blockbuster action story I was hoping for. Great art though and Green Lantern hilario...
Pretty lackluster book considering the heroes assembled in this book. Should be the best team book that you can find but it leaves you wanting much more case it never delivers. Not the blockbuster action story I was hoping for. Great art though and Green Lantern hilarious.

posted by Hurd on August 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Posted September 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This book is certainly action packed. It begins with a rooftop c

    This book is certainly action packed. It begins with a rooftop chase through Gotham involving Batman and alien and a militarized Gotham PD before The Green Lantern makes an appearance and action and destruction ensue. This gives the reader some dynamic artwork of huge explosions and searing lasers but little in the way of narrative. That's the best way to describe this book. Top notch artwork and coloring but a rather weak story and forgettable dialog. The superheroes are not clearly written with Batman being brooding and intense and Superman being intense and brooding. The Flash and the Green Lantern are jerks and Aquaman is just mean. But it's Wonder Woman who gets the short end of it all. She's little more than a townie girl looking for action and spending most of her time in the back of the panel. Even if this is just an origin story I would expect more dimension to the super hero characters and a stronger story to support them. This story begins alright but ends too soon and doesn't really leave the reader with a sense that the heroes have connected as a team. It was the writing that kept me from awarding this book 4 stars the art work easily earned it three.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    As you've noticed, a customer review for Justice League Internat

    As you've noticed, a customer review for Justice League International Vol. 1 is pulled, even though there's nothing wrong with the
    review, so I'll try again. I don't know if my shopping plans are the cause of it but maybe I've been on the computer for too long, no that's
    not the situation, by the way, I've enjoyed this book and is just as good as Justice League International Vol. 1 and their sequel, Justice
    League of America Vol. 1, this book tells how they all came together. But if this review is pulled as well, then I won't make any customer
    reviews in my future visits. In fact, I haven't clicked on the guidelines yet but only because I don't know how that works nor editing
    customer reviews, which that I may need to figure out how to edit and rewrite them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2014

    I have been a comic collector for many years. The Justice Leagu

    I have been a comic collector for many years. The Justice League (of America) has always been a staple of that collecting. I was very pleased when I found Justice League Volume 1 Origin available as a Nook Comic. The art and story are nicely done and carry the team very well. Although this is not quite the JLA of my youth (from the 60s, 70s and 80s), it still has much of the flavor of those comics of old. I currently use a Nook HD+ for my reading and find that the larger screen size really is perfect for enjoying comics. This Volume has the first six issues of the series (1-6) and offers a complete story arc with a hint of the future issues to come. The point is that you can buy this single collection and enjoy the entire story without the feeling that you are left hanging at the end. I do not know if this was by design or simple a coincidence that the issues played out this way. If you are a JLA fan or just enjoy a good superhero team themed comic, this collection is worth the money and will provide you with a good read. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Geoff Johns What Have You Done?! Here's the dealio. Geoff Johns

    Geoff Johns What Have You Done?!

    Here's the dealio. Geoff Johns has done so much for DC. Seriously, can't thank him enough. And I respect him enough to look past this. But, as other reviews have stated, this entire comic seems to be a action movie with a couple quick explanations on the joining of the Justice League. It has a short appearance by a villian that could definitely, with Geoff's past and writing style,be a legendary first adversary in this relauch, but for some reason is watered down to a statement and a couple battle sequences. It really is a dissapointment, with Geoff just writing to try and establish Aquaman as a cool character and force feed an origin story to new readers.I don't particuarly blame Geoff, mainly because this is DC's attempt at a big relaunch for a well known comic, so I think Geoff's heart may have not completely been into the crafting of this story (though it definitely is later, as the end of this story lays the groundwork for a massive event later in the New 52 universe).  I know it builds into "Trinity War", so I'm hoping the next couple are better, and have faith in Geoff to keep writing fantastic stories. Ultimately, if you read it and don't particuarly enjoy the story, while Geoff Johns did technically write it, I'm of the opinion that he wasn't as passionate about this project as he been about others (namely his run on Green Lantern, his contribution to the 52 weekly series, and his work now on Aquaman), so the pure action and somewhat forced beginnings of relationships between these characters should not be completely put on Mr.Johns. Jim Lee's art is spectacular, and is why I would still recommend getting the book. While I'm upset that the writing isn't usually as deep as Geoff writes his books, I am glad that he wrote such a basic book full of action and battle sequences, because Jim Lee nails the art on everything (and I don't blame him for Green Lanterns new tribal-suit-tattoos). His artwork of all these legendary characters helps deliever the WOW effect that DC was aiming for with this massive relaunch of a classic comic book,and most assuredly helps me accept some of the changes they've been making to the look of various mainstream Superheros. I would love to see what Lee and Johns can do together when they write a massive epic, which I'm sure must happen at some point.

    Alright. Summing up for people who don't want to read the whole frickin' extensive thing - Geoff Johns wrote a good book for Jim Lee to illustrate, but not the best book for a consistent comic reader to focus on the writing. Overall, it's your call on whether or not you want to buy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2014

    The history of how the Justice League formed is explored or is b

    The history of how the Justice League formed is explored or is begun to be explored.

    Detailed illustrations add to the plot narrative, character development, and action sequences.

    Characters while flawed have great potential for future episodes and interactions.

    Overall, an interesting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Fun introduction to young heroes

    I loved how they introduced the heroes as they had to get together to defeat a common enemy. The banter between Green Lantern and Batman was great.
    Overall it did feel like an average story though. Worth getting as the series does get better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    I love comics

    I think this is really cool

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Weak story covered by pretty art. I still don't know what I read

    Weak story covered by pretty art. I still don't know what I read. The New 52 stories in general stink. Dan Didio and Jim Lee have ruined the DC Universe.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    It was good. I like that things are starting over. What I don't

    It was good. I like that things are starting over.

    What I don't like is the stereotypical, "Hey, all of these good guys have fight each other for a few minutes". I guess lots of people still want to see that?

    Otherwise, I loved it. Thought it was good fun with loads more potential than previously held in the old Justice League line.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3