Customer Reviews for

Justice at Cardwell Ranch (Harlequin Intrigue Series #1377)

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 20, 2014

    Really 3.5 stars, but I rounded up. I liked this better than th

    Really 3.5 stars, but I rounded up. I liked this better than the first one, only because it had more twists. I liked the change in Jordan and how he tried to figure out what happened to his friend 20 years ago. It goes to show, how some people never can leave high school behind, that the groups people belonged to in their high school years, still had control into their adult lives. The ending was a surprise, and this book had a nice ending, that didn't leave you with so many questions unanswered as in book one. Better deal to buy to bundle, I personally don't think this book is worth $4.99, but in the bundle it is $7.99 for 3 books in order. (ljb)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 31, 2012

    Recommed

    I have read several of her series books and realy love them. They are a easy clean read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Great Book

    This was a great, fast, easy read! It was nice to read about familiar characters and now I'm ready for more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Suspense!

    My review: Justice at Cardwell Ranch is a part of Cardwell Ranch series, but can easily read as standalone. It was my first book written by B.J. Daniels and I enjoyed it a lot. After finishing Justice at Cardwell Ranch, I actually decided to read the first book in the series, too. Justice at Cardwell Ranch is well written, the writing is smooth and professional, it is filled with thrilling suspense and mystery and fascinating settings of Montana. It is easy to read and the novel captures you from the very beginning and keeps your attention until the last page is turned. Plot: Meet Jordan Cardwell, who is coming back to his home town to attend his high school get together and to find out if and why his best friend killed himself at high school. Besides that, he has not been seeing his family for several years and lot of things have changed in his life and also in his personality. Especially after his divorce. Jordan needs and wants to face his sister Dana, but before that happens, he is involved in a murder case. He has agreed to meet Alex, another friend from his high school time. Alex is sure, that their common friend Tanner did not commit suicide, but was killed. When Jordan is appearing to their agreed meeting place, Alex is shot on the spot and since Jordan is on site while it happens, he becomes the suspect number one. At least for a while. Then the body count starts to increase and you quickly find out that what might seem obvious, is not. During the investigation Jordan gets closer to his family and to Deputy Marshal Liza. At the same time, the other members of the Cardwells are added to the story and you will quickly start asking questions - why are they all suddenly appearing in the ranch? What are their motives? The suspense part of the story was very intrigued and very well plotted. Besides that, there is romance woven to the story, romance between Jordan and Liza which is in my opinion staying little too much in the background. Characters: Let me start with telling you, that there are many characters in Justice at Cardwell Ranch. It was quite confusing for me in the beginning and hence the reason why I decided to read the prequel. As said, it is not necessary, but it will make it easier for you to understand the background of the characters. The amount of characters does not damage the quality of them though. I think the author did an excellent job with creating characters who are catching your attention and who intrigue you. You will find out that you can easily love some characters as much as you can dislike few others. There is a nice balance between the likes and dislikes. Characters are definitely supporting the plot! Generally: Justice at Cardwell Ranch by B.J. Daniels is a solid and interesting suspense spiced up with some romance and seasoned with fascinating characters. I would definitely recommend it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    B+ rating....

    My Review:

    This was a book that surprised me because it was so much heavier on the suspense than the romance. But that was okay with me because the suspense story line was really good. I had no idea where the twists and turns were going to go next.

    In the story, it’s time for the twentieth class reunion for 8 former high school students in this small Montana community. Their senior year was marred by the suicide of Tanner, Jordan’s best friend. Jordan never understood why Tanner committed suicide, but there was never any sign of foul play. That is until one of his former classmates calls to tell Jordan that he needs to talk to him about Tanner’s suicide if he can come home for the reunion. But when he goes to meet that classmate, someone shoots and kills him.

    That’s what happens in just the first few pages, but the story weaves in and out of the lives of these eight friends and what happened to them twenty years ago. It’s a story worthy of any soap opera. To make things even more dramatic, there is also a side story…or actually several of them…with Jordan’s family. I think that there may be a past novel that gets into the real drama which happened to this family six years ago, but none of the four siblings have spoken since then. Dana is still there running the family ranch with her husband, two kids, and is on bed-rest awaiting the birth of her twins. Without warning and seemingly coincidentally, two of the siblings come home…Jordan and Sarah. Sarah has her own mystery in tow—a six month old baby.

    Because Jordan was there when Alex was shot, he's automatically a suspect in his murder. In charge of the investigation is Liza. She doesn't believe that Jordan is guilty, but there are so many threads to unravel, it's impossible to tell who is guilty. In the meantime, she's worried that he's going to be the one to end up dead.

    Honestly, I wouldn't have thought that I would enjoy a book with this light of a romance line. It is truly all about the suspense mystery (although, no worries, there is an HEA). But what was there was really romantic and emotionally satisfying enough for me to buy the romance and find it to be enough. I definitely got pulled into every aspect of this book. It was a good one.

    I received a complementary copy of this book in return for an honest review.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1