Customer Reviews for

KILTED DESIRE: Sands of Betrayal

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Page Turner!!

    Finished it in less than a day - not because it was short...but because I COULDN'T PUT IT DOWN!!... I read the 1st half one evening (via the sample) and the 2nd half just tonight!! What made this book appealing to me is I was told it's based on true events!

    I highly recommend this book for any romance buff. It was a fast read, a smooth read, a page turner!! ...and the characters were REAL. With real insecurities and real day-to-day dramas. There were plenty of exciting "blockbuster" moments, too. You will NOT be disappointed!! It has a great balance of everything you'd want in a book. ...and the sex was STEAMY erotic - woa baby!!

    There were a few unexpected surprises, too! Caught myself gasping...but I won't give it away. I love books that have a way of bringing me into their world.... takes me away from my own reality for a little while.

    Read it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2012

    Highly Recommended-A Real Page Turner

    Kilted Desire-Sands of Betrayal by AB MCKinley is one of the mosaic romantic, integuiging books I've ever read. Your can hear Scott Maclaren's Scottish accent from his first words, and from the prologue you want to find out where this book is going to take you with his character.
    From Scott's meeting Katie, which is purely magnetic; to Scott taking a job with a security firm protecting Americans in the Green Zone of Baghdad, you are held captive.
    While reading this book, you can feel and hear and smell ever emotion, every bomb explosion, all the sand , smoke and dust from a war zone. Your heart is actually racing through some of the book.
    Then, with every good romance, there is always another woman, Brittany in this case. A woman who is use to getting what she wants, she is the client that Scott is protecting in Baghdad. She tries to seduce Scott, but this is where you see Scott's loyalty.
    This book is good enough to be made into a movie. Step aside Dear John...Kilted Desire is right up there, I can not wait for Kilted Desire 2 to come out.
    This is a real page turner and a must read for both men and women!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sit back with a glass of wine, a must read!

    Some authors tell stories, some paint pictures, A.B. McKinley draws us into his world of love, intrigue and betrayal. Right from his first words on paper you hear Scott¿s accent, feel his embrace and sensual kisses with Katie, you feel the urgency when the bomb explodes in Iraq. As our hearts pound through the streets of Bagdad, will Scott weave his way through the City and keep the woman he is paid to keep safe out of harm¿s way? Honor, Integrity and Charm would be the words I use to describe the main character, Scott Maclaren, as well as sexy, sensual and intriguing! This is a book for both sexes, men will love it as much for the sensual love scenes and all the ¿going¿s on¿ in Bagdad¿s Green Zone¿ a must read for the men too! Personally, I do not review all books I read¿ too many of them I guess. Kilted Desire ¿ Sands of Betrayal is exceptional¿I truly hated to turn the last page, I wanted to know more (a sign of an ¿exceptional¿ book) The author writes from his heart and soul¿ a refreshing and delightful combination. I hope this author continues to write for many, many years to come, I look forward to reading many more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Kilted Desire

    Kilted Desire is about a former military man returning to Iraq as a personal body guard to earn money to be able to get married and buy a house with his fiancee. Scott meets Katie and they fall in love quickly. Both are divorced; well, she is in the process and in order for them to be able to start a new life together, Scott decides he's going back to Iraq for six months as a personal body guard. Imagine his shock when his client turns out to be a beautiful and sexy woman who has the 'hots' for Scott; but Scott is true to his Katie. The action in Iraq was scary and very realistic. They are chased by terrorists and Scott is hurt. Even though Kilted Desire got off to a bit of a slow start, it picked up and the "action" between Scott and Katie heated up quickly. A B McKinley is a new author and I really enjoyed this book which is based on a true story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2013

    Kilted Desire A.B. McKinley Special Forces Scotsman, Scott M

    Kilted Desire
    A.B. McKinley




    Special Forces Scotsman, Scott Maclaren, was in a horrific accident while on a mission in Afghanistan.  To make matters even worse his wife leaves him for another man while he is in the hospital.  The doctors are worried his paralysis is permanent but Scott is determined to walk again.  And with years of extensive physical therapy, he does just that.  But he has been alone for awhile.  Doesn’t everyone need some companionship?




    Katie Johnson has had a really rough go at love as well.  She is waiting on her divorce to be final and ready to move on with her life with her two daughters.  Her friends want her to date.  So she gives in and tells them she is in search of a tall, gorgeous, Scotsman.  She is pretty sure that would never happen but she gets a hit and ends up meeting the sexy Scotsman Scott Maclaren.  Things are going well for the couple and then Scott takes on a six month contract for a job in the Middle East.  Can he survive the war going on around him there and will their love survive the separation?




    I am still sitting here having emotional trauma about this book lol in a good way of course.  I was glued from the start and almost cried when my kindle died right in the middle of the book.  I actually did cry on some parts of the book as well.  This book was amazing. It was very well written and the book keeps you in its grasp the entire time.  I never once got tired of reading it and am purchasing book two as soon as this review goes through.  If you like kilts, accents (swoon), suspense, and steamy scenes then you MUST read this book!  So what are you waiting for???? Go get it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    To settle curiosity...

    My curiosity was settled in reading this author's first sampling. True to life events, far away destinations and a dangerous occupation were included in this story. Expounding on the descriptions was minimal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2013

    Hero: 5/10 Heroine: 0/10 Sizzle: 2/10 Romance: 1/10 Humor: 0/10

    Hero: 5/10
    Heroine: 0/10
    Sizzle: 2/10
    Romance: 1/10
    Humor: 0/10
    Secondary Characters: 5/10
    End: 2/10
    Pace: 3/10

    This book didn't live up to the hype for me. I hated the "heroine" and that pretty much sealed the deal for me. I tried to focus on the "adventure" aspect of the story instead of the romance but even that was lackluster and boring. Kind of disappointing since romantic adventure is my favorite sub-genre. There's a lot of info dumps and repetition which made reading this book tedious and on par with a text book. The author's voice is almost non-existent.

    Honestly, around 65% I started to skim because my eyes were starting to glaze over from all the useless info. (Editor where?) The only good thing I can say is it's not the worst book I've read. Only reason I didn't DNF was because I'd heard the end had people bawling or some crap (seriously?!) and I thought the hero was going to kick the "heroine" to the curb... I was really really looking forward to that. But it didn't happen *sadface* :( Overall, the smut was lame and awkward, the romance was weak, and the adventure was boring. That said, I don't recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    I had no idea until after I read this novel that it was based on

    I had no idea until after I read this novel that it was based on true events that occurred in the author's life. I nearly fell over! I had run the emotional gauntlet throughout the book. From loss, to loneliness, to happiness, to overseas military action, temptation, jealousy, fighting for balance...you name it, it's in here. I had to read his next book, Kilted Desire 2, Russian Roulette, immediately.
    Please give yourself a treat, and read these books. They are amazing. This author is amazing. He is very interactive with his fans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2013

    This was the first romance novel, written by a man, that I have

    This was the first romance novel, written by a man, that I have read. I have to say I found it interesting to note the difference in perspective from what I am used to. The storyline in this book was intriguing and kept me turning pages in search of answers. It drew me in from the first chapter and flowed smoothly to the end - - - where I went HUH?????? I'll have to get the 2nd book for sure!

    I love the characters of Scott and Katie and their bond. Not many people would be strong enough to withstand the trials they are subjected to. Scott is a definite alpha male, no nonsense, get the job done kind of guy and Katie appears to be his perfect match, as she is strong-willed, out-going, yet sweet and feminine, all at the same time. She is understanding, knows her man, and doesn't fight it.

    I would've liked a little more in-depth depiction of the relationship, but this goes back to perspective, I think. The important pieces are all here, just presented a bit differently than I am used to.

    All in all I enjoyed this book and will be reading the next one - - very soon. I think A.B. McKinley did a great job on his first book; I applaud him for taking on the romance genre, and I look forward to the continuation of this series and watching his talent develop even more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2013

    This is a fantastic read that pulls the reader through the gamut

    This is a fantastic read that pulls the reader through the gamut of emotions and I love that most in a story, a writer that makes me feel. The story is action packed and full of romance. I can't wait to read Kilted Desire 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    Not sure what to expect from this romance story. Having read





    Not sure what to expect from this romance story. Having read the authors bio, a male and realising this story has elements of his real life experiences. I found myself reading it as if its his diary.

    Scott is portrayed as the Fierce Warrior but with a compassionate, gentle loving, romantic side. He is a highly trained military man, recovering from his severe battle scars and a broken heart, when he finds love again. Scott falls deeply inlove with Katie, soul mates he thinks. Wanting to give Katie all she has dreamed of Scott takes on a highly paid but very dangerous job in the Middle East, and more battles for this warrior to face.

    This book really has it all from tender loving to Hot and Steamy to adventure and danger, that has you holding your breath. So why 4 stars..... because the story has not ended yet....and now I shall read book 2

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    I started and stopped this book several times. I ended up lovin

    I started and stopped this book several times. I ended up loving it but the first quarter was a little too slow for me. I'm very glad I went back to it because I loved it once I got past the beginning.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Great book!

    I loved how action packed the book was. I also enjoyed the romance story in it. McKinley did an excelkent job in writing this book to appeal to a variety of book lovers. I will be starting to read book 2 today. Don't miis out on his book, read it! You will enjoy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    A truly good modern romance with action scenes to keep you on yo

    A truly good modern romance with action scenes to keep you on your toes!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2011

    A must Read!

    I loved Kilted Desire~Sands of Betrayel. It had everything in it that I desire from a book! A lot of action and adventure that takes you on a amazing world tour. Hot Steamy passion that will leave you longing for more. I loved the twists and turns and the surprise ending that will shock you! I was floored by the courage and and bravery of the hero fighting for what he knew was right and for his steadfast dedication to the one he loved. I would recommend this book to all my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I really enjoyed the story. There were a lot of surprises...just when you think all is good and your have it figured out...boom there is a twist. The sex is hot, and it makes you want to visit Scotland and find a man in a kilt. Read it you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Must read!!

    WOW!! if you're into war stories and sex scenes this is the book for you. And let's not forget heartbreak to go along with to make a delicious trio. To start with what Scott went through during his first love and then to have what happened to him during action while protectiong someone and to have Katie (the heifer) to do him is just wrong on so many levels, and well here on the states we call that "prostitution"...and to have him still have a wonderful out look on life and her is amazing.
    Then you have Brittney who would do anything to get him in her bed even during bombs and fires and lying to Katie. Read Kilted Desire to see how the story folds out and who Scott ends up with or if it is a trio after all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2