BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Kabul Beauty School: An American Woman Goes Behind the Veil

Average Rating 4
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Inspiring

I read reviews from people giving 1 star and degrading Ms. RODRIGUEZ. Shame on you to assume the author is a spy instead of a young Hispanic American who has compassion for others outside of America. It takes courage for her to step out of her element and learn from Afg...
I read reviews from people giving 1 star and degrading Ms. RODRIGUEZ. Shame on you to assume the author is a spy instead of a young Hispanic American who has compassion for others outside of America. It takes courage for her to step out of her element and learn from Afghan people. She is obviously better then me because with reviews from negative Middle Easterns, I would have no compassion and give it to those who appreciate outsiders wanting to help naturally.

posted by JulleeJullee on May 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

SAY NO TO THIS BOOK!!

The author of this book Miranda Rodriguez went to Afghanistan to start a beauty school. During that time she gained the confidence of women who told her heartbreaking stories. Many of these stories if revealed could threaten the safety of these brave women. Ms. Rodri...
The author of this book Miranda Rodriguez went to Afghanistan to start a beauty school. During that time she gained the confidence of women who told her heartbreaking stories. Many of these stories if revealed could threaten the safety of these brave women. Ms. Rodriguez against the request of these women published these stories. Ms. Rodriguez promised to send for these women when she got back to the US as well as promised to give them money from the book. Ms. Rodriguez left Afghanistan saving only herself, never helped these women or gave them any money. Now their stories published these women's lives are threatened. One woman had to flee with her family into Pakistan, and others have had their lives threatened. Ms. Rodriguez sold these women for money to seek comfort for herself. Buying this book only supports Ms. Rodriguez's atrocity.

For confirmation visit http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=10634299

posted by 1197796 on April 7, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Inspiring

    I read reviews from people giving 1 star and degrading Ms. RODRIGUEZ. Shame on you to assume the author is a spy instead of a young Hispanic American who has compassion for others outside of America. It takes courage for her to step out of her element and learn from Afghan people. She is obviously better then me because with reviews from negative Middle Easterns, I would have no compassion and give it to those who appreciate outsiders wanting to help naturally.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    Hassna's review

    Hassna from Morocco

    Kabul beauty school review




    At first when I started this book, I liked the style of the author's writing. The vocabulary very easy, but I didn't t like it when the author gave so much detail. It seemed like she just made it up. I don't think Deborah was honest with women especially when she wrote about their personal business. She only made trouble for them with their family .I was thought about what would happen to Roshana when her husband learned the truth she would be in big trouble. It wasn't surprise to me how Deborah didn't't care about these ladies because she wasn't a big family person as she didn't care much about her kids. So how could she care about others? In my opinion the beauty school didn't do anything for the Afghan women. Deborah only destroyed their lives .She was only a spy ,I am one hundred percent certain that if these women they knew she would write about their personal lives they would never trust her and open their hearts to her . In generally I didn't liked this book and would only give it half a star

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    I love this Book.

    Kabul Beauty School

    Review of the book "Kabul Beauty Scho".
    The book, "Kabul Beauty School", was written by American writer, Deborah Rodriguez. It is the story of an American woman who went to Afghanistan, the Afghan women, and Afghan custom and culture. The book described the culture and the way of life in Afghanistan. It also described the differences between Afghan men and women as well as the culture in Afghanistan. The story details the sad life stories of Afghan women and the old traditional cultural life of the people of Afghanistan.
    Rodriguez first went to Afghanistan in 2002, she worked for the Care for All Foundation. and opened a small salon in Kabul. When the Afghan people discovered that she was a good hair dresser and had a degree in cosmetology they strongly requested that she teach them. Lots of Afghanistan women were trained by Rodriguez and helped them develop their own careers. During the Taliban period, hair salons were banned in Afghanistan. Ms.Rodriquez got a donation from different organizations and companies and started the Kabul Beauty School in Afghanistan.
    Debby Rodriquez helped poor Afghan women. Rodriguez married an Afghan man named Sam from whom she received a lot of help running the school in Afghanistan but later at the end due to the financial problem she has to closed all the schools and she moved to another place with sam. People still love Rodriquez because she is energetic, friendly, kind, and helpful. She clearly loves Afghanistan and its people.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2010

    You must read this book!

    Kabul Beauty School Review
    Kabul beauty school tells the story of Deborah Rodriguez, an American woman who tired of the mistreatment of her husband, tries to start a new life as a humanitarian. Joining the Care All Foundation, she goes to Kabul, Afghanistan as a paramedic. Once in Kabul though she decides she can better serve people using her forte hairdressing than work as a paramedic.
    Rather Ms. Rodriguez's fame as a hairdresser, and she decides to live with and help the women of Afghanistan get ahead financially. She soon spreads reopens a salon-beauty school in Kabul which had been banned under the Taliban. It is here that Rodriguez gets to know the city and culture of the Afghan people, which is far different from her past life in Michigan.
    I do not believe that Rodriguez had any intention to divulge Afghan secrets or defame the culture of the Afghan people and especially for the women from Afghanistan. However, she found interesting and made public the stories some Afghan people told to Rodriguez during the time she lived with them. It is these stories that make the book intriguing. Nonetheless, some Afghans feel offended and defamed by Rodriguez's book.


    Arturo from Ecuador

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2009

    SAY NO TO THIS BOOK!!

    The author of this book Miranda Rodriguez went to Afghanistan to start a beauty school. During that time she gained the confidence of women who told her heartbreaking stories. Many of these stories if revealed could threaten the safety of these brave women. Ms. Rodriguez against the request of these women published these stories. Ms. Rodriguez promised to send for these women when she got back to the US as well as promised to give them money from the book. Ms. Rodriguez left Afghanistan saving only herself, never helped these women or gave them any money. Now their stories published these women's lives are threatened. One woman had to flee with her family into Pakistan, and others have had their lives threatened. Ms. Rodriguez sold these women for money to seek comfort for herself. Buying this book only supports Ms. Rodriguez's atrocity.

    For confirmation visit http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=10634299

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2008

    Loved it

    This book is terrific - both poignant and comedic, she does a great job of shedding light on this topic without demeaning it. I joined a woman's rights advocacy group after reading this because I was so stirred. I don't know what took me so long. For anyone that's lived through a domestic violence, this book is a must.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Highly recommend

    Insightful account of how one woman changed the lives of many. The stories within the book show an inside view of Afghan culture for women during and following the Taliban regime. Sad at times and very real. It shows how women lead lives in other parts of the world and how slow cultural attitudes are to change. The stories pull you in from the beginning and keep you captivated till the end. Can't wait to discuss at bookgroup.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    Highly recommend

    I just came across this book and liked the free sample so well that I downloaded it onto my Nook and read it in one day. I absolutely loved it and highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    Highly recommend

    Great book, good story. This will make you think of the people of a war torn country in adifferent, better way.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    Interesting

    Tested 4real
    Interesting
    Deborah Rodriguez's book tells the story of an America woman who came to Afghanistan, and she help in the development of the Kabul hairdressing in Afghan. Most women graduated from her beauty school in other to pursuit their career, while some went back to their old life. Deborah left the beauty school after falling in love with an afghan man and become a second wife, the first wife, with her seven children lived in Saudi Arabia.
    When I was reading the book, "Kabul Beauty School". I discovered that Deborah demonstrated many things in the book such as, anger, love and appreciation. Deborah makes every woman in Afghan to understand that whatever situation they found their self in life, they should not give it up, she encourage them to be strong and courageous. Finally her experience in Afghanistan transformed her life and the women around her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    Read it once you will like it ....

    Review by: M.M.T From Afghanistan Kabul Beauty School The Book Kabul Beauty School is about Miss Deborah Rodriguez's life and basically about a part of her life in which she lived all her life. These five years of Miss Rodriguez life which she spent in Afghanistan was unforgettable for her as she said at the end of her book. At some points Miss Rodriguez's writing was about her own experience or I should say her own understanding which was different from the culture and the lifestyle of Afghans, She was not part of that culture and she didn't know Dari. So whatever she wrote was always derived from the translation of someone else. Miss Rodriguez's dream was to do something in her own field in which she had worked for a long time. Everyone has a dream to do something in their life. Just as she mentioned in the dedication of her book. Miss Rodriguez first visited Afghanistan in 2002 as a member of an emergency relief team that was working under a nonprofit organization called Care for All Foundation (CFAF). Her background was unlike the other team members as she was not in the medical field. She did have emergency relief training before 911and because of that she was able to be part of the team in Afghanistan. During her first visit, in a meeting held by CFAF she was introduced as a hairdresser. When people heard she was a hairdresser, she made a lot of Afghan customer as well as friend. From that point on she found her way to her dream. When she came back to the U.S. she worked hard to make her dream to come true. Later she came back to Afghanistan as a helper for her own idea, which was already structured by some one else (Mary) that had an NGO by the name of PARSA .so she connected all what ever she did for her dream and they started Kabul Beauty School in Kabul Afghanistan. In her five years of stay in Kabul she worked in the Kabul Beauty School and they had four graduations. Besides having dream come true Miss Rodriguez made a lot of friends like (Roshana, Suraia , Turpaki etc.) and found an Afghan husband as well, with whom she married thought as supporter in her five years of her life in Afghanistan. Miss Rodriguez had family back in the U.S. two sons and a husband,whom she left him when she came to Afghanistan. Not because of going to Afghanistan, it was because they did not like each other. At the end of the book Kabul Beauty School, Miss Rodriguez wrote that she came back to the U.S because of the problems that she had in Kabul. Miss Rodriguez wrote that those five years of her life were the most interesting part of her life. Her dream had come true, she found a new family, and her book made her famous around the world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    Kabul Beauty School

    I have really liked this book because Deborah Rodriguez, reviewed a lot about how Afghanistan women are being treated by there culture. So I have lent a lot through this book.
    I have noticed that women don't work in public places or their husband don't want them to work around men whom there not related to.

    "In the book she said I have conscience, intelligence and talent but am fated to continue existence in captivity behind the bars of prison of life," all this shows that most women have no say in public, no power to fight against women freedom of speech, freedom of press and also to choose the man they want to be married to.

    If I can guess there are about 10% of women who are illiterates and 90% who are not educated. These women they need to go to school to prepare them selves for the better life in future rather than being prepared as house wife. In which same will just get married to the man they don't even love but there doing so because of fear of being taking to prison.

    All the women who are just being hidden in their homes waiting to get married at least they should take them to school even if they got married they will have some knowledge to teach they children for development of their country those women in Afghanistan they need education but because of fear in there minds they are falling to stand up and speak loud so that all the world can heard about it.

    But we are thankfully to Deborah because shed had reviewed some of the problems happening to some of the women there through the book she wrote. I have lent a lot about women if it wasn't for the book some of us we wouldn't have knew about Afghanistan women.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    women's liberation

    "Kabul Beauty School" is a good book which enables those who don't live in Afghanistan to understand how Afghan women feel about their lives. I think it is a good book too because it enables Afghan men to know what their women really think. I learned from the book that most Afghan men think their wives and daughters are happier than Western women. "Look at them. They have no stress, no tension like women in the West," they insist. Their wives however told the writer how miserable they really were. Young women also told her how forced to marry men they had never met before and of how badly they wanted to continue their educations.
    Deborah Rodriquez, an American hairdresser, found a good way to help Afghan women improve their beauty skills so that they could enter the beauty business. Since most Afghan women do not work outside, a beauty salon is a good business for them because it is by and for women only. Women can easily hide some money from their husbands since men can't go in the salon. The women's earning from the salons is usually higher than the average earnings of normal Afghan men enabling the women to be more independent in their family and society. Many women want to become students of the beauty school and they can open their own business after graduate from the beauty school. I think this type of business is a good first step to help Afghan women become independent. Later we may see more Afghan women working in different areas in Afghanistan.
    In Afghanistan, women are on the lowest level of society. They not only face the bombings, kidnappings and beheadings every day, but they must also endure arranged marriages that are usually decided by the amount of dowry their father arranges when they are young, women must endure abusive treatment from their husbands or other family members after they get married. The only place that they can get a little peace and enjoyment is in the beauty salon. This is why the writer had a chance to meet so many different women and hear their miserable stories.
    I think women's liberation will occur later in the Muslin world because women have so many complaints about their lives. Men will help their women too since they too will be liberated. For example, Roshanna's ex-husband also did not accept his arranged marriage with her. Even though the manner in which he left Roshanna was base, he too was a victim of the arranged marriage system. I think we should make more efforts to liberate because everyone in society will benefit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    I like it but I have some communt about it.

    I liked this book, as it was interesting and easy to read. It really kept me engaged and made me want to read it to the end. I would like to say too that what Debbie did for Afghan women was wonderful. She made a big change in their lives, which was that she had hoped to accomplish when she opened the beauty school. Her students gained their independence, their own source of money, and a new skill. I wonder why Debbie did not consider that her actions could put her friends and students in danger. When she gave so many details about their lives.

    Almansuri, Iraq

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    i like this book too much

    DIL GURUNG
    DATE- 11/23/2010
    THE REVIEW OF KABUL BEAUTY SCHOOL
    "Kabul Beauty School "was written by American author Deborah Rodriquez. The story is not only interesting but also details the extreme determination and challenge of American women in Afghanistan. Deborah's life was surrounded by love, happiness, anger, and challenge.
    She worked in non - governmental organization and motivated herself to develop friendships with un Afghan society. The story began with the interesting scene of marriage ceremony of Rosanna the afghan woman and thereafter it changed into the strong challenge and determination. Despite her loneliness, Deborah proved her bravery by helping Afghan woman who spoke some English. She broke down the barrier of races and religion by taking Sam, an Afghan man as her husband. In addition, there are many other interesting parts of the story encompassing, revenge, kidnapping, and political situations which capture the attention of the readers.
    Therefore, despite some of the negative feedback, "Kabul Beauty School" was very entertaining because it is based on reality. Obviously, she was a brave woman who singularly contributed much to another society. Lastly, we can say that Deborah was also an optimist who overcame great risks and circumstances.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    I loved the book!

    When I was reading the, "Kabul Beauty School", I really enjoyed everything about the book. The book was really powerful. I learned about different ways of talking to people when they are feeling down and also how to direct them to the right way. The author of this book had a positive impact on me. When I was reading the book, I realized that we all have the chance to be free from whatever bad situation or find ourselves in such as an abusive relationship. Deborah Rodriguez went to Afghanistan at great personal expense to become the director of a beauty school with the hope of making life better for the women there and she was successful in doing that. I really loved it when she used her own personal time to help women that she didn't know, have a better future.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    Nice book

    Kabul Beauty School
    Review:
    The book, 'Kabul Beauty School', was written by American writer, Deborah Rodriguez. It is the story of an American woman who went to Afghanistan. Not only her story, It is also the story of Afghan women, their culture, and their traditions. The book described the culture and the way of life in Afghanistan. It also discussed the differences between Afghan men and women as well as the matrimonial system in Afghanistan. The plot mostly detailed the sad life story of Afghan women.
    Rodriguez first went to Afghanistan in 2002 and worked for the Care for All Foundation. When the Afghan people discovered that she was a good hair dresser they strongly request that she teach the people in Afghanistan. During the Taliban period, hair salons were banned in Afghanistan. Ms.Rodriquez got a donation from different organizations and companies and started the Kabul Beauty School in Afghanistan.
    Debby Rodriquez helped poor Afghan women. Her book detailed the lives story of Afghan women; some were so terrible that girls were sold by their parents to older men. Every individual had their own miserable story. Rodriguez married an Afghan man named Sam from whom she received a lot of help running the school in Afghanistan.
    Rodriquez is energetic and friendly. She clearly loves Afghanistan and its people. Because of cultural misunderstandings and Political problems the school has been closed but Rodriquez left a lot of hope for the people through her book 'Kabul Beauty School'.
    Prem Timsina

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    Kabul Beauty School

    The Summary of Kabul Beauty School


    I have really liked this book because Deborah Rodriguez, reviewed a lot about how Afghanistan women are being treated by there culture. So I have lent a lot through this book.
    I have noticed that women don't work in public places or their husband don't want them to work around men whom there not related to.

    "In the book she said I have conscience, intelligence and talent but am fated to continue existence in captivity behind the bars of prison of life," all this shows that most women have no say in public, no power to fight against women freedom of speech, freedom of press and also to choose the man they want to be married to.

    If I can guess there are about 10% of women who are illiterates and 90% who are not educated. These women they need to go to school to prepare them selves for the better life in future rather than being prepared as house wife. In which same will just get married to the man they don't even love but there doing so because of fear of being taking to prison.

    All the women who are just being hidden in their homes waiting to get married at least they should take them to school even if they got married they will have some knowledge to teach they children for development of their country those women in Afghanistan they need education but because of fear in there minds they are falling to stand up and speak loud so that all the world can heard about it.

    But we are thankfully to Deborah because shed had reviewed some of the problems happening to some of the women there through the book she wrote. I have lent a lot about women if it wasn't for the book some of us we wouldn't have knew about Afghanistan women.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    i like this book until and unless i get a better one

    Summary of Kabul Beauty School

    It's like a short review of Kabul Beauty School. It described the story of American woman who went to Afghinastan as well as this book described the Afghanistan women their culture and tradition. Here, Deborah Rodriguez presented the fact reality and experience of Afghanistan women. She first went to Afghanistan in 2002 working in a group from care for all foundation. At that time people of Afghanistan knew that she was a hairdresser. During Taliban rule, hair salons and their feminine space were banned in Afghanistan. Rodriguez was demanded to serve people in Afghanistan. In this book, how marriage is celebrated, how bride is decorated and their culture associated with marriage is highlighted. Therefore, this book helps to develop the interest in readers to learn more about Afghanistan.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Gives great insight

    This book is wonderful! It is a humorously told story of a woman's journey to Afgahnistan to selflessly do what she can to make other women's lives better by teaching them a skill (hairdressing) while bettering the author's own life through the relationships and understanding she acquires while there. It's inspiring and offers a glimpse into the veiled world of Middle Eastern women, their heartbreaking stories, their customs and their perserverence.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5