Customer Reviews for

Kade's Dark Embrace

Average Rating 4
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Murder, mayhem, romance, sexy vampires, sexier shifters, strong

Murder, mayhem, romance, sexy vampires, sexier shifters, strong female lead, what more could you want? This was a fun attention grabbing riveting book. Enough romance to make it sizzle, enough mystery to keep it thrilling. Couldn't put it down!

posted by Quiltbookqueen on May 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I have mixed feeings on this book. The storyline, as a whole is

I have mixed feeings on this book. The storyline, as a whole is pretty good, but I found the individual personalities of the characters rather annoying and at times even a bit ridiculous. Sydney and Kade are both control freaks, so I guess they are really made for each ...
I have mixed feeings on this book. The storyline, as a whole is pretty good, but I found the individual personalities of the characters rather annoying and at times even a bit ridiculous. Sydney and Kade are both control freaks, so I guess they are really made for each other. Sydney is so stubborn an unwilling to use any rational thought that everytime she walks out the door, she nearly gets herself killed. Then you have Kade who is even more of a control freak and way too possessive. I didn't like how he repeatedly told Sydney that she WOULD be his and only his, like a possession. Even if she didn't end up falling in love with him in less than a week, his immediate possessiveness was just a little too creepy for me. To me, it bordered on stalking. Everytime Sydney would try to put distance between her and Kade, he showed up. When he put her on the plane to New Orleans, I was screaming at the book. It felt like he "willed" their relationship into frution with his insistence that they would be together. If you like that sort of thing, then this book is for you. I just didn't care for the possessive and controlling feel of the book.

posted by RavenPayne on August 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2013

    Kentucky41

    Good read. Good friction b/w main characters. I look forward to book 2.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Worth reading

    THIS BOOK HAS EVERYTING I LIKE WHEN READING! SUSPENSE,ACTION,AND A LITTLE SEXY! WILL READ THE NEXT BOOKS!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2013

    Good book, will make you read them all.

    Good book, will make you read them all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    This book is written by Kym Grosso, and I have to say it¿s a gre

    This book is written by Kym Grosso, and I have to say it’s a great book. I will admit that at first it took me a bit to get into it, but once you really know what’s going on, or began to like either Kade or Sydney(or both) it was easy to grow attached to the characters. For this reason I’ll give the book 4 stars. I absolutely loved Sydney; she is basically a badass woman. Kade is cocky, but likeable, and both characters fight their attraction for what seems like forever, but realize they can’t fight being mates. It’s of course a paranormal romance (obviously one of my favorite genres) and not only do Kade and Sydney burrow their way into my heart with their story, but secondary characters Luca (book 2) and Tristan (book 3). Thank goodness they each have their own stories, because honestly between those two I can’t choose my favorite. 
    Not only are the character’s likeable, but the storyline is great. I love how Kym makes each species more known. They aren’t as hidden in the shadows, and having a Paranormal Unit (police/law wise) brings a twist to the book that one cannot ignore. If Vampires/wolves, ect… existed would this be believable?  Well even if you don’t think so Kym spins it to where you think so! She did a great job, and I loved the spicy love scenes (for mature audience only). But I also like that even though in the paranormal genre even though intimacy and love scenes are a big thing, they didn’t over take the story. I found it balanced nicely. 
    So if you want a hot paranormal romance pick up Kade’s Embrace today… The other two while you’re at it. I recommend it to anyone who wants, action, drama, romance, and even a little mystery (she doesn’t totally let you know who the big bad are at first).

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Anonymous

    Nice, but where is book 2?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Enjoyed

    Although the writing seemed a bit stilted at times I enjoyed the characters and plotline. Feisty female lead struggles with vampire lovers claiming, secondary characters very engaging.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Great

    Good read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    Very Good Read

    Enjoyed reading this book - loved, loved the story line. Just bought book 2 Luca's Magic Embrace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2014

    Good

    Good book....sort of Twilight meets Anita Blake. Sex was a bit much for me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    paranormal thriller with a good bit of sex thrown in

    paranormal thriller with a good bit of sex thrown in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2014

    Couldn't put it down ! Great read 

    Couldn't put it down ! Great read 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    This is the first of the Immortals of New Orleans and I am so ha

    This is the first of the Immortals of New Orleans and I am so happy that I took a friends advice and read it! It's a well written and fast moving love story. I really enjoyed the back and forth between Sydney and Kade Some one wrote tooo much explicit sex!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!What do you expect in Erotic Paranormal Romance ....I loved this book........wh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Overall Rating:  3.5 Rockin' Stars Sydney Willows is a Philadel

    Overall Rating:  3.5 Rockin' Stars

    Sydney Willows is a Philadelphia detective assigned to a paranormal case.  Young woman are being abducted and murdered in Philadelphia.  Kade Issacson is a master vampire from New Orleans who comes to Philly to help investigate the murders.  There is an instant attraction between them although Sydney fights her feelings for Kade.  Working together to solve the paranormal crimes Kade realizes he has feelings for the tough as nails detective.

    “We will do this together, love, but know that I will be done my way.  I will keep you safe, an after this evil is extinguished, you will be mine and no one else’s.”

    When Kade returns to New Orleans he brings Sydney with him and sparks begin to fly between them.  I mean steamy, hot, throw some ice on your neck HOT!  

    “I have waited centuries for the right woman, and you are most definitely the one.”

    “Without a doubt, he knew this woman was the one, and he had just claimed her.  Forever.”

    Even with all trials the couple endures; Sydney continues to fight her feelings of love for Kade.  She has never been loved or cherished and doesn’t know what her future will hold.  She is head strong, feisty but insecure when it comes to a relationship.

    “You, Sydney…You came into my life unexpectedly.  You are a stubborn woman, infuriating at times.  A woman filled with a heart of courage so large…well, what can I say? Even though you feel fear, you continue to fight in the name of justice giving everything you have…”

    This is a great beginning to the series.  Luca, Kade’s second, and Tristan, Alpha werewolf of Philadelphia, are introduced in this book and I look forward to reading about their stories.  

    Hero – Kade: 3.5 stars
    Heroine – Sydney:  3 stars
    Plot:  3.5 stars
    Steam level:  4 stars
     
    Would I recommend this book: Yes!
    Would I read other books by this author: Yes!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    :)

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Really loved reading this story.  All the vampire stories lately

    Really loved reading this story.  All the vampire stories lately have a tremendous amount of sex in them, but this was pretty balanced. I enjoyed reading as the characters grew closer. Really didn't want it to end.  I look forward to more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2013

    A few months ago I was introduced to the Immortals of New Orlean

    A few months ago I was introduced to the Immortals of New Orleans series via the third book, Tristan's Lyceum Wolves, and I promised myself I would back track and read the whole series. Lucky for me I found Kade's Dark Embrace just as exciting as what I had previously read. I'd give a brief synopsis of the book but I find the blurb covers everything I would have said.




    I am giving this book 4-stars for the simple reason I liked it. Paranormals are a weakness for me and any book that has both vampires and werewolves is always plus and when you factor in they act both human and animalistic, even better. All the characters from the MC, to secondary to evil villain were very well written and completely enjoyable. Author Kym Grosso did a wonderful job of conveying the familiar bonds. I could FEEL how connected everyone was to each other. Frankly I can't wait to read all the secondaries stories. I'm digressing and need to get back to the fact that this story is about Kade and Sydney. Kade is soooo YUMMY! No doubt in my mind he is the one in charge. Sydney...that is one tough chick. Put them together and there is some hot friction. I really enjoyed their head butting and the 'who's in charge here' attitude they both display. Seriously there wasn't too much to not like about this book. Okay, well maybe just one thing; it's the how fast Sydney recovered from attacks that I found someone unbelievable. You would think after getting cracked in the head she would have taken a bit longer to recover. As for the heat...I give this book 3-Flames. I found all the sex scenes (and there are quite a few) very tastefully done with enough detail to keep it hot without boarding on a XXX rating. 




    So now that I have had the chance of starting Immortals of New Orleans in it's proper order I must say I think this is a must read. Between the characters, the heat and the plot, I am more than satisfied and have already started recommending this series. Kade's Dark Embrace is a great start to what I hope is a long series. Definitely worth the read.








    I received this book from JeepDiva for the express purposes of an honest review. The opinions and rating of this review are solely mine and in no way was I compensated.




    Stars –4 , Flames - 3

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Good

    It was a good story. It could have been longer though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    4.5 stars

    Worth Reading...
    Total Pages: 510...Story Pages: 500...free e-book
    Vampires, werewolves, witches, mages, etc. A female cop and a vampire fall in love while investigating several murders in Philly. Throw in some voodoo and crazy people/vampires and you've got a good story. It was a little stilted because of the proper English (no contractions when the characters spoke) plus a few words that were actually missing. Anyway, it was good enough that I want to read more to see how things turn out for Luca.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This was a very well written and fully developed short book. Kad

    This was a very well written and fully developed short book. Kade is a vampire from New Orleans who arrives in Philadelphia to help find out who is ritualistically killing young women. Sydney (Syd) is a Philadelphia detective who kicks butt and takes names and doesn't want to fall into line just because an overbearing alpha male shows up on the scene. However, for all her toughness Sydney can't help but be attracted to a man who stands his ground without wanting to trample over her to prove a point. This was a quick read but Grosso still managed to create fully developed characters and set up for us to follow the stories of other characters in the following books in the series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2