Customer Reviews for

The Kadin

Average Rating 4.5
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Bertrice Small's Best

This by far is my favorite Bertrice Small book. My husband and I have read excerpts together and were both very turned on afterwards...must read!

posted by Anonymous on September 6, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Saddening

I have loved this book since I first read it in paperback, however I am extremely disappointed in the ebook format. There are so many spelling and gramatical errors throughout the story that its distracting to me as the reader. I would rather focus on the characters and...
I have loved this book since I first read it in paperback, however I am extremely disappointed in the ebook format. There are so many spelling and gramatical errors throughout the story that its distracting to me as the reader. I would rather focus on the characters and get lost in their world than get rudely pulled out by these errors. Please find a better editor and/or typist!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on January 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2002

    Bertrice Small's Best

    This by far is my favorite Bertrice Small book. My husband and I have read excerpts together and were both very turned on afterwards...must read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Saddening

    I have loved this book since I first read it in paperback, however I am extremely disappointed in the ebook format. There are so many spelling and gramatical errors throughout the story that its distracting to me as the reader. I would rather focus on the characters and get lost in their world than get rudely pulled out by these errors. Please find a better editor and/or typist!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    One of the best books ive ever read!

    I will never get tired of reading this gem!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    My favorite all time romance.

    I have read this book over 50 times throughout the years. A beautifully written story of the strength of one women & the "sisters" who share her life. Add to that her marvelous family saga with additional titles & you have the perfect book. I love the descriptions of clothing, jewels, palaces, & locals. All too delicious. And, yes, I do still own the original paperback with the fabolous cover. Read this book & you will always feel as if you were the "wise one".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Love it!

    I love her books but this one is my absolute favorite!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    A good book at any age!!

    I read this book many years ago when I was young and now some 30 years later I rediscovered this adventurous tale of one amazing woman from birth to death. I don't usually read romance novels but this one is a gem. It made me laugh and I cry. A good read at any age.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    I first read this book over 30 years ago and it still remains on

    I first read this book over 30 years ago and it still remains one of my favorite books of all. It is most definitely my favorite Bertrice Small novel. This one got me turned on to historical fiction. I've read it several times and still love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Wonderful read!!!

    I have this one in paperback and have read it so many times that the binding is starting to rip. So I decided to get it he eBook version so I can read it over and over again. This is only one of my many Bertrice Small favorites and I've read everything she's written. Janet (Cyra) is a wonderful character and strong willed woman as a majority of Small's main characters . If historical romance is your choice try one of Small's and you'll be hooked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Proof read before publishing

    I have read this book in print and found it fairly good for its type. The lack of punctuation and accuracy of spelling make this version difficult to enjoy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    I have read this book at least once a year since the early '80.

    I have read this book at least once a year since the early '80. Never disappointed. I know whats coming as I turn the page but read "word-for-word" from 1st page to last. Beautifully written by an expert in historical romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Good read:)

    Very good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Supurb!

    Thoroughly enjoyed this book! I've read many of her books (all the Skye O'Malley series) & have enoyed every one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2012

    Simply wonderful

    This is one of her best novels. I've read it so many times and never get tired of it. Please read it. You wont be sorry. Great characters, and twist and turns in the plot.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2012

    From a Fan

    I'm a very big fan of Mrs Smalls books but this one was a big disapointment. There were so many spelling errors that I didn't try to count them. This book was very drawn out to many facts that wern't needed were put in as fillers. I hope that my next purchase will be worth it. This one was a BIG waste of money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Bertrice Small The Kadin

    This is the book that made me such a fan. I still have the original book, as well as the ebook version, but cannot seem to get the one with the last missing chapter. Ms. Small says it is available. This is a must read and a keeper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    Highly Recommend for the historical Romance Lover

    I read this book back when I was a teen. At that time it had a very different cover. This is my all time favorite romance novel. I have read it more times than I can count. I lost my original in a move and have to repurchase with this cover. Oh how I wish I could find a copy from the first print.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    Stopped reading halfway through

    Not great.
    Characters were not likeable
    Found the first halfof the book a total yawn. Was not excited about reading any more, so I just stopped. Perhaps the 2nd half was better, but I just couldn't be bothered. I've never stopped a book halfway through.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely a must for all historical romance readers

    This is by far my favorite of all Bertrice Small's books. I love Skye O'Malley, but The Kadin is my absolute favorite. Her historical references are great but the romance is even better. My copy is tattered and well used. I usually read it at least once a year and now there is an ebook copy. Yeah! Janet is a multi-dimensional character. She is a survivor and victor. She uses her talents and knowledge to survive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    loved it

    I can't even count how many times I have read this book. I love the power and strength the heroine has despite the vast culture difference from what she was raised with and what her capture lead her to. I think finding a love story like this within a harem is a wonderful change. I also love the sequel to this book as it follows Janets granddaughter Kat and her betrothed Patrick from the end of this story! Have read them both until they fell apart!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A great book

    I just discoverd Bertrice Small and everyone one of her books that I have read I love. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes romance novels. The characters are great, the plot is great, the whole book is great. LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 68 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4