Customer Reviews for

Kalorama Shakedown

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Written with more than a discreet nod at Hammett and a dash of P

Written with more than a discreet nod at Hammett and a dash of P.G. Wodehouse this novel, the third in a series, is a great and engrossing little read.  It is a mystery, with more than a little satire and three murders thrown in for good measure.  Also, like its two pre...
Written with more than a discreet nod at Hammett and a dash of P.G. Wodehouse this novel, the third in a series, is a great and engrossing little read.  It is a mystery, with more than a little satire and three murders thrown in for good measure.  Also, like its two predecessors it is completely able to stand firmly on its own merits.

Our main protagonist is the man the series is named after, and with his wife, he adds body and humour to this absorbing novel.  He is dry, precise and engaging and is the perfect foil to his wife who wilful, secretive and independent, worryingly so for the era in which the novel is set.  The Author does an outstanding job of making his main character not only the perfect gentleman for his time, but one who is well aware of the ‘flaws’ others may like to point out his wife possesses, and he deals with them all in a gracious manner.  He is very likeable and this makes the reader want to know more about him and his world as the novel progresses.  His wife is also well written, to such a degree that she could almost be billed up there with her Husband, and the novel could be said to have duel main protagonists.  I thoroughly enjoyed this strong Lady, and actually felt myself warming more to her than I did her Husband; maybe it is because I could visualize myself in her role if I were transplanted back to that time period.

The book is written in the first person narrative, with Mr. Reese being our narrator and, in this manner the story is told through his experiences, emotions and reactions to everything and everyone he meets, including some very humourous asides about his wife and her friends.  However, rather than being a dry read as is sometimes the case with novels written in this manner, it just makes the storyline seem more realistic and interesting.  I did wonder from the title of the book if the Author was giving a small nod to the Kalorama Guest House in Woodley Park D.C, as a lot of the action and events in the book do take place in Washington D.C.  it is apparent that extensive research was done to ensure the descriptive portions of the book concerning the nation’s capital, were correct for the time and a great deal of care was taken to ensure no buildings appeared where there were none.  Through a deft use of words and writing style, the Author transports the reader back to a time when there were still vast expanses of greenery to be see around Washington, and society was governed by strict rules and layers; he also fleshes out the storyline with wonderfully witty dialogue, a slew of literary references and some very engaging and entertaining relationships, a couple of whom I hope will make further appearances.

I would strongly recommend this novel and others in the series to lovers of the mystery genre and those who like a side order of humour and satire with their murders.

posted by Amaranthae on October 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Boring

Abysmally boring

posted by 8066923 on July 27, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Written with more than a discreet nod at Hammett and a dash of P

    Written with more than a discreet nod at Hammett and a dash of P.G. Wodehouse this novel, the third in a series, is a great and engrossing little read.  It is a mystery, with more than a little satire and three murders thrown in for good measure.  Also, like its two predecessors it is completely able to stand firmly on its own merits.

    Our main protagonist is the man the series is named after, and with his wife, he adds body and humour to this absorbing novel.  He is dry, precise and engaging and is the perfect foil to his wife who wilful, secretive and independent, worryingly so for the era in which the novel is set.  The Author does an outstanding job of making his main character not only the perfect gentleman for his time, but one who is well aware of the ‘flaws’ others may like to point out his wife possesses, and he deals with them all in a gracious manner.  He is very likeable and this makes the reader want to know more about him and his world as the novel progresses.  His wife is also well written, to such a degree that she could almost be billed up there with her Husband, and the novel could be said to have duel main protagonists.  I thoroughly enjoyed this strong Lady, and actually felt myself warming more to her than I did her Husband; maybe it is because I could visualize myself in her role if I were transplanted back to that time period.

    The book is written in the first person narrative, with Mr. Reese being our narrator and, in this manner the story is told through his experiences, emotions and reactions to everything and everyone he meets, including some very humourous asides about his wife and her friends.  However, rather than being a dry read as is sometimes the case with novels written in this manner, it just makes the storyline seem more realistic and interesting.  I did wonder from the title of the book if the Author was giving a small nod to the Kalorama Guest House in Woodley Park D.C, as a lot of the action and events in the book do take place in Washington D.C.  it is apparent that extensive research was done to ensure the descriptive portions of the book concerning the nation’s capital, were correct for the time and a great deal of care was taken to ensure no buildings appeared where there were none.  Through a deft use of words and writing style, the Author transports the reader back to a time when there were still vast expanses of greenery to be see around Washington, and society was governed by strict rules and layers; he also fleshes out the storyline with wonderfully witty dialogue, a slew of literary references and some very engaging and entertaining relationships, a couple of whom I hope will make further appearances.

    I would strongly recommend this novel and others in the series to lovers of the mystery genre and those who like a side order of humour and satire with their murders.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    Boring

    Abysmally boring

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Really enjoyed this mystery. Reminded me of the Thin Man series.

    Really enjoyed this mystery. Reminded me of the Thin Man series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2014

    Fun read

    This was a fun read, not the best I've ever read, but good. I'll be reading more from this author in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    Good mystery, but character of the wife really irritating.

    Cannot understand why the two are together! Their dialog was often confusing, making references that were not explained. She is calculating + secretive - don't really want to read anything else about her. This one was enough for me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    could not get interested 1

    After 20 pages I was bored and being free was the only good part of this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    Like watching a classic thin man movie

    This was an entertaining read. The dialogue between Mr. and Mrs. Reese and the fact that the 2 of them work separately and together to solve various pieces of the puzzle reminded me very much of the classic thin man series. Plus they also enjoy their drinks. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    intriguing mystery but didn't like the characters

    While the mystery in this book is intriguing, I found the narrator, Harry Reese, and his wife, Emmie, extremely irritating characters. There is some mild humor, but the nonstop hints about secrets kept from each other, without any clues to the reader, became very tiresome. And their extremely flippant attitude towards each other was not at all endearing and sometimes just annoying. I don't understand why they were even married. The whole book seemed to lack substance, from the shallowly portrayed characters to Harry's terse narrative to the lack of real clues until toward the end. If you like sparse historical mysteries, you might enjoy the style, but I can't recommend it.
    JB

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Good book

    You people should just read this novel yourselves and write your own review on this book. I really enjoyed reading this novel very much. ShelleyMA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Really enjoyed this mystery. Reminded me of the Thin Man series.

    Really enjoyed this mystery. Reminded me of the Thin Man series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2013

    This was another fun, fast-paced read in the Harry Reese Mysteri

    This was another fun, fast-paced read in the Harry Reese Mysteries series. Harry and Emmie are at it again and do not disappoint. Definitely a must read, especially if you have been captured by Harry and Emmie's quirky characteristics. Good job Robert Bruce Stewart!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    I got this book as a gift in exchange for a review and I reall

    I got this book as a gift in exchange for a review and I really enjoyed it. I loved all the colorful characters and it had me laughing out loud numerous times. Having a variety of suspects it had me guessing until the end and I especially liked how the reader is transported back in time to a different way of life, and solving a crime can take many unexpected and comical turns. I can't wait to read the next installment of the series. I highly recommend this book to anybody who enjoys historical fiction with a big helping of humor and suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1