Customer Reviews for

Kane and Abel

Average Rating 4.5
( 167 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted August 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Well Crafted Story with Unforseen Twist!

    Having read a dozen of Archer's book this book is on par with the quality of writing that he shows in all his book's. If you like a well crafted story with several unforseen twist, this is a bokk to definately read. When you finish the book, you can pick up the next (Prodigal Daughter) that partially continues the story. However, reading in order is not neccesary as both books can stand out on their own.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another great read from one of my favorite authors.

    "Kane and Abel" is a wonderful read. It brings together two people from two different backgrounds. Abel is a poor Polish immigrant who through many hardships comes to America to become rich and famous. Kane on the other hand is from a well established banking family and is already rich and famous.
    The story shows how the two men differ in their upbringing and the intertwining of their two lives. The two embrace their own friendships with two men they have known since a younger age. They both fall in love, marry, and have children.
    Abel, an orphan, lives a lowly life until he meets up with the Baron and is taken under his wing. He is tutored until war starts and Poland is under siege by the Russians. Abel is held captive and sent to a Russian camp far away in the cold icy north. He escapes and makes his way to America.
    Kane is raised in the style of the elite banking family of America. Generations of his family have been in the banking business with each new generation falling into the previous footsteps.
    The plot brings the two men together into a forceful and thrilling story.
    Without knowing what each men mean to each other, Jeffrey Archer, tells the story with a dramatic and touching dramatization. You must read this book to find out how Abel and Kane touch each others lives and the outcome. It definitely is a must read. I am now looking forward to reading "The Prodigal Daughter", a continuing story of "Abel and Kane".


    Cherry Blossom

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    Highly recommended

    I have read so many novels, so far this book is the best. The characters were tough but full of emotion. I love the twist of fate of the major characters.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    Kane and Abel was the book that introduced me to the writings of

    Kane and Abel was the book that introduced me to the writings of Jeffrey Archer many years ago. The story still haunts me today. Superb storytelling!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Classic

    A classic generational novel. Story telling should always be this good.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Excellent!!

    Another outstanding book by Archer. He never fails to deliver a blockbuster of a story. His story outline and dialogue grip the reader in the very beginning of his story. I felt a closeness and empathy toward the characters due to the trials and tribulations they faced in their lives. This book should be read before the Prodigal Daughter.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Highly recommend

    Jeffery Archer creates such wonderfully complete characters and the story line is so good I never wanted to put the book down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2010

    My Favorite of all times

    I have read some great books in my life... However, this is by far the best story I have ever read.

    AMAZING!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2013

    I read this book years ago when it first came out and think Jeff

    I read this book years ago when it first came out and think Jeffery Archer is a wonderful writer.I have read other books by this author and all of them where great reads.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    Kane and Abel

    What a great read, hard to put down at times. Fast reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    Didn't want to put it down!

    I very much enjoyed this book. I had a hard time putting it down. Great historical fiction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Fantistic read

    Excellent story. A must read. The sequel to this novel is Prodigal Daughter. You must read the end of the Kane & Abel story. Dorothy Thompson

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2009

    My favorite book

    This is probably the best book I have ever read. And one of the few books I have ever read twice. Fantastic plot and nice twist. This is a MUST read!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    You won't put it down until you're finished reading

    A great, well-told story of two men, born worlds apart, whose drive to succeed at everything they do, leads to an intertwining of fates. Great characters, great plot, very well-written. Don't be surprised if, after reading Kane & Abel, you then want to read all of Archer's books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2005

    A Masterpiece

    Every once in a while, one comes across something that they adore so much that they long to tell everyone they meet about it, everyone in the world if they could, - this is it. I found this book incredibly entertaining I was enthralled from the beginning and absorbed into a world other than that in which I preside. The story also makes its readers realize aspects of their own lives that they never considered before from its numerous themes, some obvious, some quite subtle. Despite its seemingly large size, it won't be large enough by time you reach the end, for you get swept up into both the lives of Kane and Abel to the extent that you never wish to reach the last page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2005

    best book ever read

    i read this novel when i was fifteen years old. since then, i've read it several times over and over again. jeffrey archer is magnificent in his writings...kane and abel is a masterpiece!!! i encourage all folks old and young to read this book. you will become envolved in the characters lives as it unfolds before your eyes. this novel is more than outstanding...its phenomnal!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2004

    18 year old fellow reader

    My mom has been trying to get me to read this book for years and finally she talked me into it. It was amazing! Archer is such an amazing writer that he made Abel and William's hate look so beautiful. He made hate an artform. Throughout the book I sympathized with William and greatly disliked Abel, he reminded me so much of Heathcliff from 'Whuthering Heights.' It was so easy to love and hate Abel at the same time. Even though i saw alot of the twists coming, it was so well written that they still surprised me. The end has some really good twists that you can see alot more in depth in 'The Prodigal Daughter.' It is one of my favorites.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2004

    TOTALLY MANIFICENT !!

    Archer is truly a master story teller and while that title may sound trite -- its very REAL in this case. He flows and his characters come alive and his story is timeless. Its a long book but a very fast read because there is NEVER a good stopping place. A big fat juicy novel with real meat for everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2003

    GREAT Book!!

    I love this book, besides the book that it took forever to read, but it's worth it. I loved how Jeffrey Archer connected everything and filled it with irony. I love books like that. This book has something in it that any kind of person would like.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2003

    Easily the best book I've ever read!

    What an awesome book. The plot twists and turns like no other book I've ever written. Mr. Archer simply held me spellbound.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 108 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6