BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Kansas City Star

Average Rating 3
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great for Missouri or Kansas Residents

The newspaper does not have the breadth of the New York Times, but the writing is solid and the stories well researched. I find an engaging story each time I "pick it up" with great analysis of issues relating to both Missouri and Kansas. It is by far the best news so...
The newspaper does not have the breadth of the New York Times, but the writing is solid and the stories well researched. I find an engaging story each time I "pick it up" with great analysis of issues relating to both Missouri and Kansas. It is by far the best news source in this part of the Midwest and does what journalists are supposed to do- keeping a sharp eye on Kansas and Missouri political and social issues.

posted by 10819635 on January 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Id rather have the real paper

Not a big fan of the way they lay it out on the Nook. The biggest disapointment is the sports have no scores, or standings, just stories. Also no crossword puzzle. Big let down.

posted by 13759532 on July 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2012

    Id rather have the real paper

    Not a big fan of the way they lay it out on the Nook. The biggest disapointment is the sports have no scores, or standings, just stories. Also no crossword puzzle. Big let down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    Warning: No box scores for sports lovers

    We bought my father a Nook for Christmas, and I decided to buy him 12 months worth of the Kansas City Star, since it is the biggest of the local papers and he frequently buys them in paper format. Figured it would be a really good deal for 7 dollars a month when a Sunday edition of the paper normally costs something around $3.50.

    And it is. It's a really good deal if you sit and read a lot of the articles in the paper. He loved the format, and the way the articles aren't broken up over a lot of pages like the regular paper. BUT. He actually told me to remove the subscription for him. Why? One really small problem that ended up being a big deal. There were no box scores in the sports section.

    My father was pretty disappointed, the box scores are a major reason he even bothers to pick up the paper. He gets his news from the news channel in general and it just didn't seem worth the money for him. And it seems pretty bizarre to me to leave it out. Formatting issues? That's the only real reason I can think to remove them from the Nook version of the paper. If the KC Star at a future date adds the box scores to their e-edition of the paper, I will gladly renew the subscription for him. But until then...

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Great for Missouri or Kansas Residents

    The newspaper does not have the breadth of the New York Times, but the writing is solid and the stories well researched. I find an engaging story each time I "pick it up" with great analysis of issues relating to both Missouri and Kansas. It is by far the best news source in this part of the Midwest and does what journalists are supposed to do- keeping a sharp eye on Kansas and Missouri political and social issues.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Awful reproduction

    This edition of a good newspaper is clumsy and much more difficult to navigate than it should be. On my nook HD+, it doesn't resemble the actual print edition as the overview picture might suggest. It's worthless on my iPhone nook app.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    prefer a real paper

    i found it difficult to move fromone story to another didnt get sunday paper and could not access the funny pages i would rather read the real paper

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    I love the Kansas City Star

    Great paper with some real cutting edge reporting. I can read this on any of my Nook apps or my Nook Color and it works great. Sometimes the article pictures get cut off for some reasons or it would be a five star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    They don't show you the comics!

    I am canceling because you can't read the comics!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Re THE WORST PAPER EVER...!!!!!!

    I've been reading the paper since I was 4 yrs. old. SINCE WE HERE IN KANSAS CITY HAD 2 PAPERS...THE KC TIMES and THE STAR...Those were GOOD TIMES...Couldn't wait for the Morning paper and to come home and read the Evening paper...NOW THOSE WERE GREAT TIMES!!!!!

    Never have I read such a lousy paperas THIS PIECE OF CRAP!!!!!
    Sorry, but I mean that. It used to be FILLED with NEWS...
    Now we're lucky to have, all together, 4 FULL PAGES OF NEWS...
    Whether its World, US, or Local...There's just NOTHING IN HERE WORTH SPENDING A NICE MORNING READING...But that's what you get with a One Horse Newspaper Town...There' plenty of ads...lots of ads...nothing but ads!!!
    If it weren't that it was only $6.95 a month digitally...I would definitely subscribe to US Today...At least they have THE NEWS FROM HERE AND AROUND THE WORLD...A LOT BETTER THAN THIS CRAP...Don't know how in the hell they win awards...Unless, their parent company must be the only one voting!!!!
    Don't waste your time with this paper...IT REALLY AND TRULY SUCKS!!!!!!
    IT IS THE WORST!!!!!!!

    PS. The only reason I gave it a 1* Rating is because I had to to Submit and Post...IT TRULY DESERVES 0 STARS!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2