Customer Reviews for

Kat, Incorrigible

Average Rating 4.5
( 28 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    Kritters Ramblings

    The first few words I would use to describe this little gem of a book is the girlie version of Harry Potter. Mixed with magic, witchcraft and a girl that doesn't fit in, I felt as though I was reading a sister story to that epic series.

    I absolutely fell in love with Kat - she was cute and lovable, but not too sweet. With her two older sisters and older brother, I think this book can be described as a magical twist of Harry Potter meets Cinderella. It was such a great combination of story and plotline mixed with great characters.

    I would recommend this read to the younger audiences - maybe middle school or high school. Although the book was not geared for my age group, I found it to be a delightful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    good adventure

    review I enjoyed the book. Its a fun adventure book about a 12 year old kat and her two sisters. kat is trying to save her family and found out she has magic. Her older sister Elisa is willing to marriage to older man to marry to save her family. Angelina is learning to be a witch with her mothers books trying to save her family and makes some mistakes. thier are two people trying to get kat to join them. the villian of the book wants all 3 sisters to take their power. highway robbers, fancy balls and...moreI enjoyed the book. Its a fun adventure book about a 12 year old kat and her two sisters. kat is trying to save her family and found out she has magic. Her older sister Elisa is willing to marriage to older man to marry to save her family. Angelina is learning to be a witch with her mothers books trying to save her family and makes some mistakes. thier are two people trying to get kat to join them. the villian of the book wants all 3 sisters to take their power. highway robbers, fancy balls and dinner parties. elisa fell for poor brother. its a book with adventure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2011

    A Magical Tale for Everyone

    My thoughts...Kat, Incorrigible will be a hit for readers of all ages.

    Filled with magic, mystery, and mischief, young Kat will steal the hearts of readers and have them cheering her on by the end of the story. Kat, while only twelve years old is very feisty. She is very believable and true to her age. Her decisions are sometimes impulsive and their is a vulnerability to her character that fells genuine. We also meet Kat's older sisters. Elissa is the oldest. She loves Gothic novels and she has a strong sense of duty when it comes to her family. The middle child, Angeline, is just as headstrong, but she has some interests that could cause her to get into big trouble. All of the characters, good and wicked, were memorable and enjoyable.

    One of the most unique aspects about this book was the time period. Old England was a time of proper manners, fancy dresses, arranged marriages, and dowries. The characters live within a set of rules and not following etiquette was simply frowned upon. These social rules would be hard for anyone, especially a twelve year old tomboy. Women especially had a hard time due to what was "expected" of them and their behaviors. Another great aspect of the plot was the magic. The world felt well developed and thought out. The magic seemed to jump off the page and bring you along for the fun.

    While Kat, Incorrigible is a middle grade book, I recommend it to readers of all ages. Fan of Harry Potter or Jane Austin should be especially delighted with the story. I can not wait to read book two, A Tangle of Magicks coming in April of 2012 to the US.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2011

    A CUTE,FUN STORY FOR YOUNG READERS!!KAT,INCORRIGIBLE BY STEPHANIE BURGIS,BARNABY WARD

    KAT INCORRIGIBLE by Stephanie Burgis is an interesting young adult fiction.It is well written with an age appropiate theme.It is the first in the "Unladylike Adventures of Kat Stephenson" series. It has adventure,magic spells, old world charm,witchcraft,
    posing as a highwayman,learning to control your powers,unladylike adventures, secrets,and a resentful stepmother.Posing as a highwayman,Kat, captures husbands for her older sisters.If you take a touch of romance,add a bit of adventure,mix a bit of magical power, and you have the making of a wonderful young adult story.This is a story Disney would love to make into a movie for Kat is no lady and is definitely incorrigible.Young girls will love this cute story,although,Kat is incorrigible,gets into a bit of trouble a time or two, she is still a delightful young lady. This book was received for the purpose of review from the publisher and details can be found at Atheneum Books for Young Readers, an imprint of Simon and Schuster Children's Publishing and My Book Addiction and More.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The beginning of a fun new series...

    It's hard to come up with another book like this one. The combination of Old World England, magic spells, and a touch of romance is intriguing and original. There are also bad guys, secrets and misunderstandings to keep readers interested. They'll get to know a little about life in 19th Century England, including parties that last for weeks at a time, the importance of manners, highwaymen waiting to attack the wealthy in their coaches, and the limited choices girls might have as to whom they might marry. Readers who like this book may be fans of Jane Austen and Charlotte Bronte one day soon.

    At 12 years old, Kat is self-assured and ready to take on the world. She desperately wants her two older sisters, Elissa and Angeline, to include her in their lives, but they shut her out and treat her like a child. Elissa, constantly worried about appearances and manners, is a bit of a martyr. Angeline always thinks she's right and that she has things under control - which she doesn't. Their mother, a target of scandal for her obvious dabbling in witchcraft, died before Kat was even born. Kat and her sisters each try, in their own way, to save their family from ruin and their older brother, Charles, from debtor's prison. Elissa vows to marry a wealthy, but questionable, older gentleman. Angeline secretly resorts to their mother's magic books to find a wealthy suitor of her own. Kat learns that magic is in her genes. She discovers an enchanting world of witchcraft and a secret "Order of Guardians", who are supposedly the most powerful of the magic-workers. Using her new-found talents and her sharp wit, it is Kat who saves the day. While her sisters fumble with the distractions of love and romance, brave Kat stands up to the senior witches (even punching one in the nose) and outsmarts many of the adults.

    I love this time period and think that the inclusion of magic adds an element of mystery and excitement. Although I have high hopes for this series, I did find the characters to be slightly frustrating. We don't get to know any of them all that well, but from what we do see, they're self-absorbed. They claim to want to help each other, but seem to care mostly about following their own agendas. Kat, while somewhat impulsive and childish (she is 12 after all), is most likable and a good example of a strong, confident girl. While the sisters are, at times, protective of one another, they rarely support each other. In fact, Kat ends up having to fight Elissa and Angeline, almost as much as the "bad" guys. Also, the characters speak about things that are specific to the 1800's, but they don't sound like they are from the 1800's, so sometimes I also had to remind myself of the time period. The cover art is whimsical and intriguing, but I think it gives a younger, Disney-like feeling than readers will get once they start turning the pages. Look for words like nefarious, reticule, constitutional, pelisse and pacification that may require further explanation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Cute Story!

    Let me start out by saying that this is a very cute story. It's about 3 sisters who have just discovered they have magical powers. It's the typical fairy tale where the mother died when the kids were young so the father marries the wicked stepmother. They have an older brother who is in over his head with gambling debts, and Stepmama has convinced Elissa that she has to marry the wealthy Sir Neville so the family doesn't go to debtor's prison. Stepmama arranges for them to meet at a month long house party at the Grantham Abbey. But it seems Sir Neville is more interested in magic, than finding a wife. Kat has to learn to control her new found powers so she can rescue her family and win her sisters true loves. I found the first part of the book pretty slow. It didn't really pick up for me until about chapter 15. I feel Kat is always defending her self. She doesn't care if people talk about but she is scared of people thinking she's weak or scared. Every other sentence she was second guessing herself, or asking what would mama do? What would Angeline do? She's only 12 but I don't every remember doing that. And it always seemed like she was running away from everything, when she first found the Golden Hall, after her fight with Lady Fotherington, she tried to get home as fast as she could, the second time in the Golden Hall when Mr. Gregson asked to be her tutor she ran away. It is a very cute story but it is definitely for a younger reader.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1