Customer Reviews for

Katharine McPhee

Average Rating 3.5
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Katharine McPhee is the best.

    I heard that Katharine McPhee is the best singer since she was a runner-up for American Idol Season 5.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Katherine McPhee - excellent vocalist

    This material does not suit her at all.
    Her participation with Chris Botti was
    exceptional. She should stick with that
    kind of material, instead of a Britney
    Spears wannabee.
    She has a style of her own and should
    emphasize it and expound on it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    BAD ADVICE

    ONE NEED ONLY TO LISTEN TO THE BEAUTIFUL DUET BETWEEN ANDREA BOCELLI AND KATHERINE MCFEE TO REALIZE THAT SHE RECEIVED "BAD ADVISE FROM SOMEBODY" ON HER DEBUT C.D.
    I CERTAINLY ANTICIPATED BUYING HER FIRST C.D., BUT PREVIEWED IT AT B&N AND PUT IT BACK ON THE SHELF. POP MUSIC IS NOT WHAT GOT HER SO FAR ON IDOL, IN ADDITION THE SOUND QUALITY IS TERRIBLE. "HELO, IS ANYBODY LISTENING ?"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    great cd!

    this is a great cd! katharine sounds great! i was a little surprised that she went in the pop direction.but oh well.great album regardless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    okay so basically i am really upset with kat. on american idol she was great but then this CD. she is singing POP and she sounds stupid i mean look at all the ppl who made her first CD. it tokk like a million ppl to actullay try and make her sound good and she sounded fake and stupid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    Honestly, the only thing Mcphee is good at is shaking her butt on stage and her backup is what makes her good. Her singing makes jessica simpson seem like barbara streisand it is soooooo bad. Then again simpsons singing isnt so good either. I am surprised she even got to the finals myself her singing is so bad. Listen to taylor hicks or Jordan, season 6 idol. Even though she is girlwonder american idol being the youngest at 17, her voice made the backup needless

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A very good debut for Katharine!

    This is a great debut album for Kat. I was very impressed with the songs and how well she sang them. With "Over It" peaking at #29 on the Hot 100. Other songs like "Love Story" and "Open Toes" are sure to be big hits as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not What I Expected

    If I wanted to buy Beyonce, I would have. Very disappointing to not hear the style we grew to love on American Idol. She has so much more ability and this album sounds unlike her at all. Too much background soul singing and just a BIG let down. I won't recommend it to anyone who likes her!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing!

    I love this cd! Katherine does a wonderful job on her first album. I've been a fan of hers since she appeared on American idol. I like all of her songs she sings. My favorites are love story, home, each other. I hope she does more albums. Keep up the great work katherine! I definitley recommend this cd to anyone who is a fan of Katherine's. Five stars to an amazing album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    People are bitter, should give a fair chance

    The competition ended a year ago and to this day people still are bitter that Kat made it all the way to second place. The tracks heard so far are great and reach a wide audience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    wow!

    i have always believed in you kathy!!! you are rock period!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Too bad about the poor taste on the cover picture.

    Since the album isn't released yet, what are the reviews based on? Why can't CD producers put out decent material. McPhee is gorgeous and doesn't need to be posed like a tramp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Everything I Expected and More!

    I loved Kat on American Idol. I couldn't wait to buy the CD. I am happy that they chose to push it back and release it when they did, it was totally worth it. I am going to break this down track-by-track An upbeat "Love Story" starts things off. Kat's vocals aren't the best in this one, but it is still an enjoyable track. 8.2 Kat's first single "Over It" is a song about being over someone. The beat is great, and so are her vocals. -- 8.4 "Open Toes" is a fun, upbeat song about (get ready for this one!) SHOE SHOPPING! Katharine pulls this on off great, but this is either a song you love or hate. Personally, I love it. -- 8.7 "Home" is the first big ballad to appear on the album. She pulls it off great, and the vocals are wonderful. -- 9.3 "Not Ur Girl" is another upbeat track. It has it's moments, but the vocals aren't as good as some of the other songs. -- 8.0 "Each Other" Is a slow song with a nice beat and good lyrics. The vocals are good here as well. -- 8.1 "Dangerous" is yet another upbeat song with good background singers. Great beat and lyrics. 9.0 "Ordinary World" is the 2nd ballad on here. Everything from the beat, to the lyrics, to the vocals, is absolutely phenomenal. --- 9.7 "Do What You Do" is the last upbeat song on the album, it has good vocals. The lyrics are fun, and the beat is good. --- 8.5 "Better Off Alone" Is another ballad with great vocals and lyrics that will stick with you. One of the best tracks on the album -- 9.3 "Neglected" Is a song that has a good beat to it, with awesome lyrics and good vocals. But at 4:50, it can get a little lengthy at times. 9.1 "Everywhere I Go" closes the album. It has good vocals as well, with little touches here and there. The lyrics are OK, and the beat is good. 8.6 Overall, McPhee's album has proven that even if you're not a winner, you can still do what you want and do GREAT. I give this album a 9.2 out of 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best CD in a long time

    This is the most versatile CD I've bought in years, if not ever! I love Kat's new sound as well as her balads. This is one CD that doesn't get boring halfway through. What a great debut from a fantastic vocalist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing!

    This is a great album. One of my favs, thank God for Katharine. From one with McPheever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A listener

    I think this album is really good. I think she the songs, love story and open toes are good. In the song home she shows a lot of vocal talent. I do not think this album is mostly R & B it is a different style which is what they looked for on American Idol. I think it is a good cd. It is worth buying. It is better than a lot of the "Pop" albums that are out today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Where did Katharine McPhee go???

    I loved Katharine McPhee on American Idol...her voice was simply amazing. I was excited when her CD was released, but now that I've listened to it, I find myself wondering where did Katharine McPhee go??? This CD is much more reminiscent of a teeny-bopper pop album rather than the brillant talent of Kat that we saw in American Idol. Remember the goosebumps you got when she belted out 'Somewhere Over the Rainbow"? Well, you won't be getting those by listening to this CD. If you like teeny-bopper pop music and want to hear a whole song about how the girl loves her open-toed shoes, then by all means, buy this CD. But if you're looking for the Katharine McPhee you saw on American Idol, this CD will be a waste of your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    i can see kathrine mcphee and her band covering metallica tunes with andrea bocelli

    wow kathrine mcphee the cover of this cd looks awfull but the music is actually not that bad i hope kathrine mcphee covering metallica instrumentals on her next album for all we would know kathrine mcphee but yet i beileve kathrine mcphee is a whole lot better than american idol same with william hung william hung is one very talented person i just cant wait for kathrine mcphee to cover metallica instrumentals on her next album

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Too much backup, not enough Kat

    Katharine McPhee has a terrific voice. It's unfortunate that you can't hear enough of it on this CD. What you hear, more than anything, are the backup singers. I didn't pay to hear backup singers. I paid to hear Kat. I was disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sweet

    LOVE the CD. Cannot go anywhere without it. Favorite songs are "neglected" "dangerous" and "open toes"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5