BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Katharine McPhee

Average Rating 3.5
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    okay so basically i am really upset with kat. on american idol she was great but then this CD. she is singing POP and she sounds stupid i mean look at all the ppl who made her first CD. it tokk like a million ppl to actullay try and make her sound good and she sounded fake and stupid.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not What I Expected

    If I wanted to buy Beyonce, I would have. Very disappointing to not hear the style we grew to love on American Idol. She has so much more ability and this album sounds unlike her at all. Too much background soul singing and just a BIG let down. I won't recommend it to anyone who likes her!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Where did Katharine McPhee go???

    I loved Katharine McPhee on American Idol...her voice was simply amazing. I was excited when her CD was released, but now that I've listened to it, I find myself wondering where did Katharine McPhee go??? This CD is much more reminiscent of a teeny-bopper pop album rather than the brillant talent of Kat that we saw in American Idol. Remember the goosebumps you got when she belted out 'Somewhere Over the Rainbow"? Well, you won't be getting those by listening to this CD. If you like teeny-bopper pop music and want to hear a whole song about how the girl loves her open-toed shoes, then by all means, buy this CD. But if you're looking for the Katharine McPhee you saw on American Idol, this CD will be a waste of your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Too much backup, not enough Kat

    Katharine McPhee has a terrific voice. It's unfortunate that you can't hear enough of it on this CD. What you hear, more than anything, are the backup singers. I didn't pay to hear backup singers. I paid to hear Kat. I was disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Fluff

    I liked her on SOTR and was disappointed when I listened to the clips of her new music. I wasn't really a fan of her before and am certainly not now. She seems to be trying to be something she isn't. This debut CD comes across as a young, lost girl who is unsure of who she is. And if this is who she is then I'm even more disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Where is the Katharine McPhee I loved??

    I was so excited for this album to finally be out. Practically from the minute the first song starts I was disappointed. I kept hoping it would get better. It didn't. If I had heard these songs on the radio and not known they were Kat I would have thought it was just another Beyonce wannabe! Why does everything have to sound the same? You can tell the album is well produced. However, it's just not the Katharine I loved from AI. Why do the producers of these albums have to change the sound the we fell in love with on AI? And as for the cover of this album, why, oh wny do they have to turn every young, beautiful girl into some trampy looking version of herself. So disappointing in so many ways. Still a Kat fan but hoping that her next album will be better. I will still look forward to seeing what Katharine McPhee does with her music but I will not spend my money on the album until I hear it first. No more pre-ordering for me! There are a couple of songs on this album worthy of a spot on an ipod but others wise, to quote something Simon might say, "it's forgettable".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Needs new management

    Everything that we loved about Katharine's voice is wasted on this effort. All through the album, the background beat and music drown out her voice. And as far as the songs themselves, nothing stands out, they all sound the same...harsh and boring. For crying out loud, why can't they just give the poor girl a few nice, pleasant songs to sing and let us enjoy her vocals. What a waste of good talent. But we still love Kat, hope she gets another chance be herself and shine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    What happened to Kat!

    Kat was my favorite on Idol, but this album is certain a deviation from her style, and the cover - - well why did she choose to look "trampy"? Why do song-writers keep pushing this stuff without any sort of memorable melody? Reminds me of marbles being scattered all over same goes for the notes in these songs. Give me the beautiful melodies of the 50's any day. And yes, I am a young person who appreciates good music. Kat - stick to what you showed on Idol! Don't waste your beautiful voice on this tripe!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Aweful. Just Aweful.

    What a disappointment this is. I've waited so anxiously for this release since hearing Kat take my breath away on Idol. I don't know who this is on her new CD, but it could be anybody. Anybody with a drum machine and a few adolescent lyrics could have thrown this CD together in a garage over the weekend. I just don't know who the real Katharine McPhee is, but if this is it she lied to America for the better part of a season on Idol. If this is only an attempt to capture the market share of consumers, she needs to find new management and a new attitude. There is nothing that makes this CD stand out over the hudreds of others like it on the market (except mayber her good looks). I hope Kat has a quick follow-up to this disaster so she can take her rightful place among the superstars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Over the magic

    What happenened to the Katherine I voted for every single week? This album does not highlight that amazing voice at all. I was really expecting something spectacular...maybe next time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Not living up to hype

    VERY disappointed in this record. Music does not flow in the songs. Taylor Hicks and Chris Daughtry are alot better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Empty

    I'm sure this album will appeal to 'tween' girls and that Katharine will enjoy success, but I cannot, as a musician, give a positive review. Truly, I find that Katharine seems to lack the ability to connect with her lyrics. Although she is obviously a trained artist, she does not have the pipes to carry powerful songs (like Christina, Mariah, Whitney, Celine...) and does not emote well enough to make up for this by bringing the listener into the experience of the lyrics. Of course, this may explain why so many of the songs on the album are filled with repetitive refrains and why, in her freshman effort, the artist chose to sing a song about shoes. In my opinion, the album was devoid of any artistic content. To make matters worse, the songs are not catchy enough to make this a fun 'pop' pick. I'm disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Where Did Katherine Go?!

    Wow, these clips are disappointing. The Katherine McPhee I remember from AI sang with power, depth and personality. This is so not that person. This voice is, for the most part, breathy and all too Christina. I loved her so much on Idol that I will buy the CD and hear it out, but Katherine, please come back to us in album #2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One word - disappointing

    First let me just say that I LOVED Kat on American Idol and thought she had a beautiful voice. And when her single came out last Summer with Somewhere Over the Rainbow/My Destiny I downloaded immediately and played it non-stop. That being said, this album isn't Kat. Not even close. There is probably one song on here that comes close to her style and the rest are overproduced pop tracks that don't fit her at all. Whoever produced her album did her voice a real disservice and if they wanted to sell records this was the wrong path to take. Look at Carrie Underwood. She stuck with who she was and sang what she sang best - Country. As a result she has great songs and is very successful. How disappointing. I had such high hopes for Kat too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1