Customer Reviews for

Kathryn the Grape's Colorful Adventure

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Mom¿s Choice Awards Recipient!

    Kathryn the Grape's Colorful Adventure is a recipient of the prestigious Mom's Choice Award. The Mom's Choice Awards honors excellence in family-friendly media, products and services. An esteemed panel of judges includes education, media and other experts as well as parents, children, librarians, performing artists, producers, medical and business professionals, authors, scientists and others. A sampling of the panel members includes: Dr. Twila C. Liggett, ten-time Emmy-winner, professor and founder of PBS's Reading Rainbow; Julie Aigner-Clark, Creator of Baby Einstein and The Safe Side Project; Jodee Blanco, and New York Times best-selling Author; LeAnn Thieman, motivational speaker and coauthor of seven Chicken Soup For The Soul books. Parents and educators look for the Mom's Choice Awards seal in selecting quality materials and products for children and families.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Nice Adventure for Young Girls

    Purple is Kathryn the Grape’s favorite color! Purple is the color of royalty, but Kathryn was not acting very royal at dinner with her family, including her three brothers. The night’s menu is the All-American favorite, hamburgers, which Kathryn does not like. To add to her distress, Kathryn’s brothers were talking about their days and Kathryn wanted to do the same. Instead of speaking up, she stared at the hamburger on her plate and waited for someone to pay any attention to me. So I just sat there staring at that gross hamburger.

    When her mother asked what was wrong, Kathryn complained about the hamburger rather than speak up about her day. She stomps up to her bedroom, yelling you only love the boys, slammed the door, and waited for someone to check on her. Maggie, a magical butterfly and Kathryn’s best friend, flies over and asks if it was another hamburger night (which everyone loves except Kathryn). Kathryn continues her complaining to Maggie, who responds by taking Kathryn on a trip to show her how colorful you really are. She gives Kathryn a charm bracelet that will shine a color when she learns something about herself.

    At the first stop, a tree represents belonging and a charm shines a bright red when Kathryn realizes she belongs in her family, just as the tree belongs in the forest. Further along the trip, another charm shines yellow the color of trust when Kathryn understands how to trust yourself and your intuition. By the end of their trip, Kathryn learns much about herself including how bright and colorful she shines. Back home, a brightly shining bracelet on her wrist, and new gained self-knowledge, Kathryn realizes she needs apologize to mom.

    The book is extremely colorful, as one would expect from the title. The colors burst off the page and will delight any child between ages three and nine. Kathryn looks to be eleven or twelve years old. She is the only girl in the family of six. At dinner, while the boys excitedly tell their parents about their day, smiling and laughing, Kathryn sits and pouts. She wants attention, she wants to tell everyone about her day, and she wants to eat something other than a hamburger for dinner. Instead of expressing any of these desires, Kathryn the sour grape yells about dinner then storms off, still yelling. She sounds and acts like a spoiled child who, for once, was not the center of attention.

    Maggie, the magical butterfly takes Kathryn on a trip of self-discovery. At each stopping point, a lesson is waiting for Kathryn to learn. If she understands, the charm for that stop will shine brightly in a corresponding color. The tree charm shines red when Kathryn learns she belongs and the heart charm shines green when she admits she loves her family. Why does the heart shine green? Green is the color of envy, which certainly matches Kathryn’s attitude toward her brothers, but that is not the color of love. No, the charm of belonging, the tree charm, shines red. Another charm, the sun charm, shines yellow when she realizes she should trust herself, even more than she should trust her parents. Sure, she should learn to trust herself, but more than she trusts her parents?

    The stop where everything became dark and gloomy, because Kathryn let her thoughts wander to thinking her brothers were laughing at her (they were not) and her parents loving the boys more than they love her (they do not), made the most sense out of this trip. Maggie tells her

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Cant read print

    The font is small and doesn't seem to format for nook. Can barely read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Must-Read for Children - "Kathryn the Grape's Colorful Adventure" by Kathryn Cloward

    "Kathryn the Grape's Colorful Adventure" by Kathryn Cloward is a wonderful resource for children who need help building their self-esteem and who need help learning ways in which they are valuable to others. The story begins with Kathryn the Grape eating dinner. She doesn't like what they are having for dinner and never has and, because of this, she feels as if her parents love her brothers more than she because they, sometimes, serve the dinner she doesn't like.
    Going forward, Maggie, a fairy to Kathryn, is introduced and takes Kathryn the Grape on a magical adventure showing her that she has, within her, the values and the fruits that make her a great person, a "colorful" person. All she has to do in look inside of herself and act on them, and she will find them. Maggie also reminds her that everybody, including her parents and her brothers, are "colorful" too.
    Personally, I really liked this book. As a parent, I will definitely keep this book in mind for my daughter to read as she gets older.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Colorful, Great Message

    Kathryn feels that her parents love her siblings better than they love her. After being sent to her room, Maggie, the magical butterfly, and her rainbow charm bracelet show up and take Kathryn on an adventure. Where she learns about self esteem, self confidence,belonging and expressing herself. On this journey she discovers the rainbow of colors inside her.

    What an empowering book with a very positive message that all children need to hear. It offers practical examples and explanations. The illustrations are vibrant, colorful and beautiful.

    *A free copy of this book was given to me for a honest review. No other compensation was provided for this review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Colorful and Self-Esteem Building!

    Description:

    Kathryn feels like her parents ignore her and love her brothers more. So, after she yells at her parents and runs into her bedroom one night, her best friend, a magical butterfly named Maggie, takes her on a colorful adventure. Maggie gives her a colorful charm bracelet that transports Kathryn to a magical place where she learns that she is very colorful, and very loved; just like the reader!

    Review:

    This book is beautifully written and illustrated, and full of color and imagination! I love the story and I think that kids will do the same. The book is not only colorful, but manages to successfully tackle a difficult topic: feelings. It is an inspirational adventure and the perfect book for any child, but especially little girls, who always need a lesson in self-esteem. Highly recommended and enjoyed!

    Rating: On the Run (4.5/5)

    *** I received this book from the author (Bostick Communications) in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A delightful knowledge filled journey through the ambiance of a rainbow.

    Kathryn the Grape's Colorful Adventure is a bright and colorful story with beautiful vivid illustrations sure to keep any child engaged and wanting to return to this book again and again. I remember my children having their favorite books that they would ask my husband or I to read over and over again. This is truly one of those books children will cherish and want you to read more than once. The book is titled Kathryn the Grape because of Kathryn's love of everything colored grape. In the beginning of the story Kathryn and her family are at the dinner table. Kathryn is upset about the burgers her mother is serving, one of her least favorite foods. After making a comment about not liking the burgers, her mother sends her to her room without dinner. Kathryn wonders why her mother seems to not take her feelings into consideration, since she has told her mother many times about her dislike of burgers. After being sent to her room without dinner, Kathryn begins to wonder why she feels so disconnected from her family, which leaves her feeling lonely and like an outcast in her own home. But soon Kathryn receives a visit from her fairy friend Maggie the Butterfly. Maggie presents Kathryn with a gift, a charm bracelet with all the colors of the rainbow. She then takes Kathryn on a trip where she teaches her what each color represents and how she can use that knowledge to her advantage. One of the lessons Kathryn learns on her journey is how to express her feelings through speaking calmly instead shouting. I found this to be a very important lesson as most children lack this insight. Children can get really frustrated when what they are feeling is not taken into consideration when they shout. However, this book also teaches parents that each child is unique and not all children should be treated alike, even though we love them all alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2011

    Butterfly Readers: Book Review

    Step into the colorful world that is Kathryn the Grape¿s Colorful Adventure. This is the second book in the ¿Kathryn the Grape¿ series. You don¿t have to read the first book to enjoy the second addition. However, after you read the first book your child will demand to read how it all began. We are introduced to Kathryn the Grape and she is not having a very good night .She is eating dinner with her parents and three brothers. Its Hamburger night and she dislikes hamburgers. Everyone is leaving her out of their conversations. No one is letting her tell her stories. She feels as if her mother and father love her brothers more than her. She storms out of the kitchen and slams the door to her room. In her bedroom she finds solace in her best friend Maggie the butterfly. Maggie bestows a beautiful charm bracelet to Kathryn. Maggie takes Kathryn on an adventure in search to unlock the colors in the charm bracelet and unlock the hidden colors in Kathryn. Young girls will love this book. The book empowers young girls to look within themselves and find their inner beauty and self-confidence. Along Kathryn¿s journey she teaches the reader how to belong, have excitement in your life, and trust yourself. The reader also learns to value and love themselves. Kathryn shows through her experiences the importance of family and to appreciate the ones you love. I love butterflies, (hence the name Butterfly Readers) so of course I love the fact that her best friend was a wise and beautiful butterfly. Maggie was beautifully illustrated by Christine Winscott. Winscott breathes life into Maggie and Kathryn and helps create a fabulously vibrant and colorful adventure. This book would be a wonderful gift to give to any young girl. When reading this book I thought instantly that this would be a perfect gift to give my nieces. It teaches a wonderful lesson of self-esteem and self-awareness, but never loses the fact that it¿s a children¿s book and still entertains its core audience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must-have for children...

    Kathryn the Grape's Colorful Adventure
    By: Kathryn Cloward
    Co-author: Ginny Hornby
    Illustrated by: Christine Winscott
    ISBN: 9780982927717
    Published August 1, 2011 by Kandon Publishing
    Available Format: Hardcover

    My Rating: ?????

    Kathryn often feels like her parents don't listen to her and they might love her three brothers more than her. One night after she storms into her bedroom, her special friend Maggie takes her on a colorful adventure. With the help of a magical charm bracelet, Kathryn must learn to make her rainbow shine. Kathryn and the reader learn that everyone has a special light and they must let it shine.

    I requested this book because I knew my daughter would just love it. Purple is her absolute favorite color, just like Kathryn, and her middle name is Catherine! She was thrilled with the coloring pages and other goodies the author sent along with the book. And, the book is so amazingly, well, COLORFUL! The illustrations are big, bold, and gorgeous. We had to go back through the book several times just to look at all the pretty pictures.

    The story itself is very informative and inspirational. Feeling things like jealousy, inadequacy, and anger is completely normal for everyone, and sometimes it is hard to teach children about their feelings and how to manage them. Kathryn tells a great story while teaching children to be confident in themselves, respect others, show love, and use words to calmly express themselves.

    This is a must-have book for children, especially little girls.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    A COLORFUL AND MAGICAL ADVENTURE! KATHRYN THE GRAPE'S COLORFUL ADVENTURE BY KATHRYN CLOWARD

    KATHRYN THE GRAPE'S COLORFUL ADVENTURE by Kathryn Cloward with Ginny Hornby is a wonderful children's picture full of colorful illustrations by Christine Winscott. It is the 2nd in the "Kathryn The Grape's" series.See "Kathryn The Grape's Just Like Magic".This is a wonderful addition to any child's library. It is colorful,magical,teachs important lessons,and helps build self esteem in young children. It will capture even the young at heart's attention. Follow Kathryn as she takes the reader into her colorful and magical world with Maggie,the magical butterfly. With the help of a special charm bracelet,Kathryn makes her colorful rainbow shine,while she learns trust,excitment,love,expressing herself,learning her things and her journey to belonging. A wonderful story that will help children build self confidence and self esteem.Received for review for Bostick Communiations and the author. Details can be found at Kandon Publishing and My Book Addiction Reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Lesson

    This is a wonderful picture book. There are many things I use to judge a picture book. No, it isn't first and foremost about the pictures. They are important. For me it is the message. Now I have to admit that I love picture books. But, if the book doesn't speak to the child then what good is it. It just so happened I received the book in the mail this week and my granddaughter came for a visit today. When she saw the book she grabbed it and ran to me. Her mother had read the first book to Haylee and I was unfamiliar with it. I knew Haylee had gotten the messages whenever we read the word "Bling". She would say, things like, "Hey, she learned everyone loves her." She then proceeded to tell me I needed to give the book to "her" teacher so she could share it with the class. Haylee is only in kindergarten yet has always loved books. I can't wait until she learns to write so I can teach her to put some of her thoughts, ideas and her own stories down on paper. In the mean time I am excited that she wanted to share the book with others. She didn't want it on her shelf at my house or hers. She had me write a letter to the teacher and she sealed it in the manila envelope. She is so excited. To me that is the sign of how good a book is, a child wanting to share it with others.

    Now to the slightly more technical aspect of the book. Not only are the pictures bright and colorful, but so is the message. I love books that try to teach something without the kids realizing they are being taught. The lessons are all about seeing yourself and others as they truly are. I am thrilled Haylee loves the book, but I have other grand kids who need to learn these lessons as well. Since I've not read the first one I need to purchase it. For me this is just one of many books I will be giving for Christmas this year. I look forward to reading more picture books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Live To Read

    This is a perfect book for a young girl between the ages of 3 to 9. The book is full of sparkle and colorful illustrations. The illustrations were terrific, they were not overly blocky or unrealistic. Some of the words in the book are colorful at random, a child will definitely appreciate this quality. My little cousin was completely in love with the story, it held her attention the whole time without fail.


    The characters are fairly well-developed for a childrens' book, particularly the main character. My little cousin literally wanted to play act this book out after she finished it-read it around eight times. The imaginative scenery is fun and exciting. The ending was terrific and the events were quick, but slow enough that my cousin could understand (she's four).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1