Customer Reviews for

Kathy Santo's Dog Sense

Average Rating 5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2006

    a must for dog owners

    I found Kathy's book to be practical & very helpful in training my dog. This is my second dog of the same breed and I found this dog to be easier to train using Kathy's methods. I find my dog is much better behaved & I have a better understanding of his behaviors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2006

    A Dog Training Masterpiece

    'Kathy Santo's Dog Sense book is a true masterpiece. Miss Santo conveys her love and the compassion needed to nurture a dog and its owner with understanding, kindness, and knowledge to make training a pure pleasure. She is truly a master trainer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2006

    Kathy Santo's Dog Sense makes sense!

    I am the owner of a 2 year old Shih Tzu and I have been following Kathy Santo's methods since the book came out and her methods really do work. You have to remember that your dog is like a child. You cannot give them free reign, for their own safety and protection. You have to lay down the rules and stick to them, otherwise you lose their respect. A little tug on a collar hurts a lot less than the bumper of a car.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2006

    Thank Goodness for Kathy Santos

    Great ideas that work, especially for our Stubborn Daschund!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2006

    a lifesaver!

    I bought Kathy Santo's Dog Sense at the same time I bought a Bernese Mountain Dog puppy. This puppy was my first large dog, and Kathy Santo's book gave me the confidence I needed to train her properly from day one. I had it by my side during the first months of my puppy's life, and, a year later, I still refer to it for useful advice and ideas. I highly recommend this book for anyone who needs a no-nonsense approach to establishing a lasting relationship with their dog!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2006

    a must have for the dog owner or considering to be owner

    Kathy Santo's book is sure to be a helpful aid to anyone with a dog and if you're considering adding that adorable puppy to your family, bring the book home first! The book is written clearly & with some humor and the child that says 'Please can we have a dog,I'll take care of it' will gain much knowledge from this book as well. I'm happy to say that we've taken some of Kathy's suggestions and applied them in training our Ragdoll cats and our ferret with great success too:) I was fortunate enough to buy a few autographed books and these will be given as holiday gifts to a few friends with 'unmannered dogs' along with some home made dog treats Happy Reading...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2006

    Simply effective techniques make it fun and easy to train your dog.

    I highly recommend Kathy Santo's DOG SENSE for all those interested in training and understanding their canine companion. With an easy to understand writing style coupled with an effective philosophy on working with dogs, Kathy shows the reader how to identify their dogs individual level of physical and emotional sensitivity further enhancing the training process. Written with a positive and upbeat approach it is certainly a must for all dog owners.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2006

    Kathy Santo's Dog Sense-A Must Read

    This book is a must read for every dog owner. Discovering my dogs' unique personalities was quite amazing, two border collies with totally different motivations. Training has become an enjoyment with each new success. The training methods outlined in this book have given me an insight to my dogs that I never thought possible. Thank you, Kathy Santo!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2006

    Finally... a dog training book that works!, August 22, 2006

    I have 2 dogs who are SO different from one another. This is the first book that takes each dog's personality into consideration in the training. The book is definitely the best I've read on dog training - and I've read alot on this topic! I'm anxiously waiting another book by Kathy Santo. I hope she gets one out soon. I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2006

    Saving us from Jake

    Kathy Santo's Dog Sense.makes sense. Her suggestions gave us a way to handle our new, very playful golden retriever. Until reading Dog Sense, Jake would tackle children and adults behind their knees and 'down them'! Now Jake is still playful and happy but no one has to brace themselves for his hello. Thank you Kathy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2005

    The Only Dog Training Book You'll Ever Need...

    This easy-to-read book is filled with intelligent, insightful, and often humorous, direction focusing on understanding your dog (or pup), and then forging a relationship armed with that knowledge. You will learn to love (and live with) your dog's individuality, but more importantly, your dog will learn to listen to you. I most highly recommend this book, without reservation, to both novice and pro alike.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2005

    If you love your dog, read this book

    This book is fabulous. Quite entertaining as well as practical. As the first-time owner of a dog (a big, energetic lab at that), I've been looking for help. Kathy's advice is right on: she bases her methods on what motivates each individual dog. Her explanations are very clear and can often be really funny--I laughed out loud at some of the examples and clever turns of phrase. I've been worried about keeping our active dog safe from cars and other animals, and stopping her from jumping on kids and older people, without stifling her enthusiasm and happy lab personality. The suggestions in this book have already started working a miracle of obedience. Now if I could just use these techniques on my husband...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2005

    Great Things To Come

    When I first began training my dog, Bianca, using Kathy's method, I thought it wasn't a very good way to get across to her. I thought it wasn't right to punish her for doing things wrong, but I soon realized that if I didn't enforce my commands, she would be unruly and wild. Even though it seemed harsh for my to correct her poor behavior, I soon noticed a dramatic change in her performance. I realized that some of the things I was asking her to do were for her own safety, and if she didn't listen, then she could get very hurt or sick. Bianca is my first dog, and I believe I would have been lost in training her had I not had Kathy's guidance in making her mind me. When she listens to what I ask of her, we can have more fun than when I'd call her and she would keep digging holes in the flower beds instead of coming. I strongly suggest taking Kathy's advice in this field, because I know from experience that these training tips work very well and they transform not only your dog, but you into someone who understand each other better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2005

    Training can be fun

    kathy santo gives a new approach to an ageless job --- training can be fun. not just for the one perfect dog but all kinds - formulated to fit each pet's needs. lots of good tips.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2005

    Now I Love Her

    I hated my new puppy. Before trying Kathy Santo's approach to training, I thought I would be bringing my wild puppy back to the breeder. Having had this particular breed of dog (flat coated retreiver) before, I thought I knew exactly what I would be getting. Surprise! This new dog is an individual with her own personality. Finding the key to what motivated her to want to pay attention to me changed her from being a dog I hated spending time with into one that interacts with me. I actually miss when I'm away from home! And now, I love her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2005

    Great Dog Training Book!

    I highly recommend this book for people who are serious about training their dogs. This method of dog training works because it is specific to the dog's particular needs and personality. My border collie couldn't care less about getting a treat for doing a good job, but if you toss him a tennis ball or a frisbee he's the happiest dog in the world!! This book focusses on training your dog based on his specific personality. I highly recommend this book, and I plan to keep it handy as a guide for dealing with my 'sometimes too smart for his own good' border collie and the ingenious things he tries to get away with!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2005

    WOW, TRAINING MADE SO EASY AND FUN

    Best book I have read about dog training. I have read a lot about dog training and am a big dog lover. We have a Golden Retriever. He obeys all commands taught in this book and we had so much fun with it. Kathy Santos is an awesome trainer and she loves what she does and it comes thru in her book and in her training. That is what makes this book so great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2005

    FANTASTIC!!!!

    I give this book 2 very enthusiastic thumbs up! I loved everything about it. I found it extremely informative and very helpful. I now have two well behaved dogs instead of two furry demons living in my house! Finally someone has written a book about training that actually works! Many thanks to Kathy Santo!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2005

    Dog Sense Makes Perfect Sense!

    This book is invaluable to both the novice and experienced dog owner. Kathy Santo¿s depth of knowledge and straightforward approach yield positive results in the form of a happy well trained dog and owner. I¿ve owned and shown Weimaraners in conformation, agility and obedience for almost 10 years and find her methods practical and effective. If you¿ve made the emotional and financial investment in owning a dog, you and your family will benefit by training the Kathy Santo way and have a dog you can love and live with. I highly recommend this book and will add it to my must read list for new puppy and dog owners!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1