Customer Reviews for

Katie Up and Down the Hall: The True Story of How One Dog Turned Five Neighbors into a Family

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

great story

Don't pay attention to detractors. This is an entertaining read! If you feel that dogs are family, this is the book for youl

posted by 6318606 on March 11, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

A boring book about boring people...

I bought this book because I thought it would feature Katie. Instead, it was really about boring people who had little personality, whose characters never developed, and whom I couldn't care less about. It was repetitive and a bit too cutesy.

posted by mushcats1 on December 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 11, 2011

    great story

    Don't pay attention to detractors. This is an entertaining read! If you feel that dogs are family, this is the book for youl

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    AWESOME!

    I love this book, it just shows you how friends can become family. You might think different because it is pretty sad but I think this is a very touching story. And not to brag or any thing but my uncle wrote this and now he has a new dog named Lucy!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Charming, endearing, and totally adorable!

    Seldom have I read a book that I enjoyed this much! Katie is the dog I have always dreamed of having and would love to have. Failing that, being immersed in this book is the next best thing. Katie comes alive in these pages, and I was able to vicariously 'own' her ..... I find that there aren't enough superlatives to describe Katie and her amazing, bubbly, and caring personality! You won't regret buying this NookBook! It has stayed on my 'Currently Reading' shelf since I first got it. Thank you, Glenn, for writing this wonderful book!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL!

    Delightful book! Held my interest all the way, and hated to see it end. Thank you Glenn for a wonderful well written book----Laughed, cried, and thoroughly enjoyed!! Please write another book soon.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    I really enjoyed Katie Up and Down the Hall.

    It kept me interested all the way thru.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    great story!

    This is a fantastic story! Loved every minute of reading it. I am not a reader but this is the second true story of a dog that have I have truely enjoyed. It's amazing the effect animals can have in our lives.
    If you're looking for another great dog's story I would also recommend reading Oogy. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Anoymus

    I finished book last night. I liked it, but it made me cry! I think peoplshould read it, anyway even though it is sad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    Loved This Book!

    This book was warm, loving and very touching! It reminded me so much of my own two cocker spaniels! One an adopted retired show dog who was indeed a "princess" and fancied herself so and a male cocker raised from puppyhood. I loved the family they fashioned for themselves and the love and support it provided for Mr. Plaskin. This book was sometimes like wrapping a warm blanket around yourself. The love was that palpable. I'd highly reccomend this book for all animal lovers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    A charming well written, one that you will reread.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2010

    I really enjoyed this book.

    I downloaded this book and read it on my ipad. Despite crying through the last few chapters, I really enjoyed it. After seeing photos of Katie, Pearl, and others, on Facebook, and online at http://www.katiebook.com, I feel like I knew her personally.

    It was also fascinating to read first hand the events of 9/11 and the aftermath.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1