Customer Reviews for

Katie.com: My Story

Average Rating 4.5
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2007

    Love it

    It is the best book ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2006

    I loved this book

    I loved it, the lesson was extremely important, and tells everyone just how seductive the internet world can be. This is the type of book that's not only entertaining and thrilling, but it has a lesson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2004

    Must Read for Teachers and Parents, not Just for Kids

    This book lends a very rare insight into how a teenager's mind works and thinks. Afterall, not too many 16 year olds have been able to publish their own works! Katie very candidly reveals her thoughts as she recounts her experiences resulting from an encounter with a scheming pedophile whom she met on the Internet. Due to Katie's strength and fortitude, she is able to have the pedophile convicted to protect future potential victims from him, and through her book, tells us how she was able to be manipulated by him. By sharing this very difficult lesson with us, Katie is able to help us to understand how any kid could become a victim. In the end, Katie's strength enables her to turn a very negative situation into a much more positive one by sharing and teaching her lessons learned.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2003

    Outstanding Book!

    This book was great! I highly recomend it. It tells you the importance and safty precautions you should take while in a chat room. Never give people your personal information!!! Or you may end up having something have something happen to you simaler to what was done to Katie. You girls should NEVER EVER go in a chat room!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2003

    Katie.Com: Her story becomes everyones story

    Katie.com, by Katherine Tarbox, is a very sophisticated and great book. It is an autobiography about a certain event in Katherine Tarbox¿s life. Katie.com is a very real book, and it captures you mind into her life. When you read Katie.com, you get trapped in the story and keep on reading non-stop. It feels like you are the main Character. The story of Katie.com is very powerful. It is about a 13 year old girl who lives in New Canaan, Ct. She was in 8th grade, a top ranked swimmer on her swim team, had lots of friends, and a great family. Her life was perfect until she meets ¿Mark¿ a `23¿-year-old guy from California on the Internet. After she meets ¿Mark¿ and gets to know him a little better, she realizes that he was everything she was looking for in a guy. When they plan to meet, her whole world changed. Each character in Katie.com plays a very important role throughout the book. The first and main character is Katie. She meets Mark on the Internet. ¿Mark¿ claims that he lives in California and he meets Katie on the Internet. Abby is Katie¿s older sister who is in college. Abby brings a computer home over the summer equipped with America Online. Carrie is Katie¿s younger sister who looks up to Katie and Abby. Katie¿s mom and Dave (Katie¿s step dad) help Katie out through all of the hard times she goes trough. Frank, a 41-year-old man, is the creator of all the trouble. Katherine Tarbox¿s writing style is very different and creative. Her book, Katie.com, which is an autobiography, is written so well, that it doesn¿t feel like you are reading an autobiography. It feels like you are reading a regular fictional book. But, it is not a fictional book, it is a true story¿ Her story. I highly recommend this book to everybody. It is worth the time that you take to read. It leaves in you suspense until you turn on to the next page.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2003

    A MUST read book- Kaie.com

    Four years ago my mom purchased my first computer. Connecting to America Online was a big deal at the time. One of the first things my mom made sure was in place were child restrictions. I remember thinking that she was being neurotic, and making it into a big deal. Well, I guess I really never understood just how dangerous a 'click of the mouse' could be until I read Katie.com by Katherine Tarbox. Five years ago, a somewhat naive 13 year old Katherine Tarbox was introduced to A.O.L. by her sister. Katie lived a rather sheltered life, with not much control because her mother had to work very hard and didn't have time speak to her daughter. Katherine Tarbox's days consisted of going to school where she was a top student and she was also a nationally ranked swimmer attending an elite school in a wealthy community in New Canaan Connecticut. Materialistically, Katie had everything she could hope for except a 'listener.' However, when Katie enters a teen chat room, she finds that 'listener' who permanatley alters her life. She meets 41 year old Frank, a.k.a 'Mark' who states his age as 23. Mark gives Katie the attention she has longed for. He tells her things such as 'your smart,' 'mature for your age,' 'sophisticated,' and things of that nature. Mark's ability to capture Katie's heart online, was absolutely frightening to me. This book has shed light on just how dangerous the Internet is. Every young adult, who enters a chat room should read Katie's story so they will understand just how unsafe it can be. In my opinion in today's society, children are exposed to a lot of sexual media. Personally I would strongly urge that this book be available in middle school libraries, and it wouldn't hurt for parent's to read it either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2002

    An Awsome Book

    I usually don't read true stories,I am more of mystery book person. But I was assigned for school to read it over the summer. And I thought it was a great book. It's so scary knowing that someting like that can happen to anyone. You learn many great lessons while reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2002

    absolutely amazing

    i just finished reading this and let me tell u, i couldn't wait to sit down and start reading. u feel all the feelings that she does. beautifully written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2002

    The shocking truth of the dangers of the internet

    I thought this book was pure genius!!! It portrayed a lot of the dangers on the internet that many young teens don't know because they haven't been exposed to it yet. I believe that if you read this book, you will understand how a friendly, sensitive man can turn out to be your worst nightmare. Please read Katie.com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2002

    It's off the heezy!!!!

    this is a must read book, i mean this book is the best, it gets through your head. parents should let their children read this book because it will touch their lifes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2002

    A review of Katie.com by KeLLy.com

    This book is extremely well written, and is something we can all relate to. I recieved the book for Christmas, and finished it the same day--it is one of those 'you cant put it down' reads. The struggles and emotions of Katie Tarbox are so very close to home for teen readers of any age, that you gain insight, wisdom, and advice from this book. Any parent who has children that go online should buy this book for their child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2001

    This book was awesome and so true

    Hey mah names Katie....so thats wut attracted me to this book!I am reading it for summer reading.It is a great book and relates alot to me.i am being so much more cautous online now than ever before. I think neone mah age should read it.Even some of mah friends have decided to borrow it from me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2001

    Katie.com

    Wow. If you read it and think 'Well, that wasn't a true story, it could never happen.', I have something to say to you. It really could happen. You don't have to be who you really are on the internet. You can lie about your age, race and sex. It's scary, but it could really happen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1