Customer Reviews for

Katrina, The Beginning (Royal Blood Chronicle Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

This was a wonderful read. I really enjoyed the characters, the

This was a wonderful read. I really enjoyed the characters, the settings, the action/adventure aspects...it was all just so refreshing and entertaining. For me, I really liked reading this from Katrina's POV, as we obviously know she is a young vampire, so we read about...
This was a wonderful read. I really enjoyed the characters, the settings, the action/adventure aspects...it was all just so refreshing and entertaining. For me, I really liked reading this from Katrina's POV, as we obviously know she is a young vampire, so we read about her daily life, and about her training/feeding, and I found this to be a refreshing paranormal/romance story. And yes, there is romance, a love triangle, between the Human Watcher, Quinn, (very likable character); and Vampire, Damien. You will just have to read on whom she falls far! This is a story not to be missed, as there is a suspenseful plot that will lead you wanting to know more at the end! There is a second book to this, just to let you know, so go on and continue with Book 2 (The Protectors) but read this one first; it's a must! :)

posted by MarissaA on June 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I loved the classic feel to this novel, nothing like Twilight or

I loved the classic feel to this novel, nothing like Twilight or any other modern day Vampire novels. Because this was set in the 1800's, the time period felt right as the kind of creatures that they are. I don't know how to really explain it, but this novel didn't exac...
I loved the classic feel to this novel, nothing like Twilight or any other modern day Vampire novels. Because this was set in the 1800's, the time period felt right as the kind of creatures that they are. I don't know how to really explain it, but this novel didn't exactly pull me in. I was kind of putting along with it, you know, going with the flow. I loved how strong of a character Katrina is, and yes, I understand that the girls and her are usually by themselves (before this situation) are full gossipy etc etc I found them all very annoying. I wanted to skip some of the parts with all the girls in it. And the way her father is to her friends when she asks for a favour, is the kind of cool-father that everyone wishes and it just makes me want to go "pssshhhtt, whatever *eye roll* because of how he acts. Like it was like that back in the 1800's. Even now, fathers won't be like that, she based this on an unrealistic dream of most girls. A lot of things were going on throughout the novel, and this book did feel like a chronicle of her life, but it was evident that it was. I love how this story is very unique, which is mostly hard to do when having Vampires as the subject matter. It was good because we see the classic Vampires of the 1800's, but we also see a little twist on that to make it unique and something that now-a-days, we don't find. Sometimes, characters seemed to either jump up into the story out of nowhere, or just suddenly dissapear. Yet the story continues with the characters as they were there all along. Katrina is the kind of girl that anyone can get along with, we instantly feel connected to her. Although we notice her formality in her speech then compared to us, we still come ot know and love her as well as try to help her on the way (even though we know she can't really hear us)

posted by What_She_Read on July 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    A great book to start the series!

    Katrina
    by
    Elizabeth Loraine
    I am again fortunate enough to read and review a work by Elizabeth Loraine, and as with Phantom Lives- Collier, she did not disappoint me. And Katrina is the first in a series, so I am thrilled to death! As if that was not great already, this follows in the path of my favorite character, the vampire.
    Katrina is set in a different time period which is refreshing. In this era, Elizabeth has created a world with drama, action, romance and enough thrill to keep you turning those pages. This made this book a fast read for me, and left me wanting more!
    I invite you into the world and love of Katrina and Quinn but be forewarned, there are twists in this love scenario and a third party pops his head up. I do not know if this pleases me or not because by Quinn's description, he is a hottie! Elizabeth handles it all with great care, creativity and imagination that pulls the reader in. I felt as a reader, I was a part of that world and experienced the things the character feels. There were times I felt very frustrated at the pace or the direction the book was going, but I hung in there. I am confident with the next ones in the series will help bring it all together. =)
    I recommend this book to all who love the vampire/paranormal, but who also just want a terrific read! Give Elizabeth Loraine a chance, you will not be disappointed!!
    I give Katrina by Elizabeth Loraine five stars *****
    Reviewed by
    Nora Chipley Barteau

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Highly Recommend!

    I have fallen in love with the characters in this book. Excellent job!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    definitely worth the read!

    WOW! I am so glad I discovered this author on facebook. What a great book! I'm looking forward to reading the entire series now. Got sucked in (pun intended) in the first 10 pages and hung on for a great ride! woohoo! Elizabeth Loraine, keep 'em coming! see you on FB!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent books!

    I just finished reading the series. I picked up the first one 2 days ago and wasn't able to stop til i read them all. They are excellent books. They are different from all the other vampire books out there. I could actually picture the characters. Can't wait for more from the author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    Highly Recommended!!!!

    I LOVE this whole series! Its different from the other vampire books out there and is very hard to put down. There is always something going on, the story and scenery is very well described that it makes it very easy to picture everything in your head. I recommend this entire seiries to everyone. Each book just gets better and better!!! These are the kind of books you can read over and over again and still stay just as interested in it as the first time you've read it. (which to me is very hard to do once you've already read them)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    great book

    I would recommend this book to my friends to read. It doesnt drag on, and it keeps you wanting to know what is going to happen next. I cant wait to read the rest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    Love this book

    This is another added favorite to my book collection. Its not too fast paced it gets straight to the point without dragging things out before getting to some action and adventure. The characters aregreat and a little more then refreshing in the sence that they aren't whiney and helpless. If you like vampire books where they aren't the 'normal' gore, bloody evil type through out the whole book then you'll love this. There more to these characters then mindless bloodlust. This book kept me wanting more until the very end. Its more then worth the money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely Loved it!

    I went into this series with high hopes of finding something riveting, and was not disappointed!!! What a fantastic and fresh take on Vampire fiction! Katrina is a strong, powerful woman, intelligent and at the same time sensitive and loving...a heroine for today's real women! The book is intense and detailed...I could "see" the beautiful artistry of the era from the Ms. Loraine's descriptive writing...like watching a beautiful movie. Couldn't put it down! Thank you, Elizabeth Loraine, for hours of intense enjoyment!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2011

    I loved this book!

    Being the first of the series it was all I expected and more. It kept me interested the whole story and the character of Katrina is not only captivating, but very strong willed. It's unlike any other vampire series I've ever read and it will keep me coming back to read again and again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2011

    awesome

    Awesome start to a great series! It gets better and better as the books go on too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    Great vampire series!

    I loved this book, the charaters are strong females who can take care of themselves. They are royal blooded vampires in Europe. It's a page turner that I read straight through because I couldn't put it down. I have read the second one already and can't wait for books three and four to be uploaded. This is something so different I just loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2009

    Great book!

    The Royal Blood Chronicles is a treat for anyone to read. It's 324 pages whip by and leaves you begging for more at the end. The characters come to life in your imagination and you feel like your right there with them through their journey. A must read for any vampire fan!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    Loved the story, but...

    Grammatical errors should be fixed...they are a distraction from the story...my mind keeps trying to fix them as I read.
    Other than that huge pink elephant in the room, wonderful storyline and great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    Hooked!!!

    This collection of The Royal Blood Chronicles is so addicting. Ms Loraine cannot keep them coming fast enough!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Kathernia

    This was a great story. But when i got to page196. The story just stoped the rest of the pages were the same as 196 allthe way to 222. Crazy! Would love u to fix this problem and lrt us dowm load it again for free so those of us who payed can get the rest of the book .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Amazing! By Pam Carter

    The Royal Blood Chronicels are one of the BEST & most imaginatice vampire series written to date! It is written during a time when you can truely believe that vampires did exist!! I highly recommed this series. You will fall in love with all the characters, especially Katrina. I cannot wait until the next book. I must also mention that Elizabeth Lorraine is such a great lady. She reaches out to all her fans & thats awesome in my "book" :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    Must read

    I really love this book. It was one of those u sit down an don't want to put down.You think you know what's gona happen, only to find out its not. Not sure who to trust or who to believe.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2011

    New rocking vampire series!

    This is something so different in a vampire series, no whinning. Katrina is a smart tough yet vulnerable seventeen year old royal vampire. She is a heroine that saves everyone. The men in her life are hot and the twists and turns unexpected. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2009

    I like vampire books especially twilight.

    This book is fun, exciting and emotional I can't wait for book two. It's supposed to be out anytime now. If you like other teen/mom books you'll really like this. It takes you back in time and the author said on her website that she plans to bring the characters all the way to the present, I can't wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2