Customer Reviews for

Keep Holding On

Average Rating 4
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

This book was just beautiful. It was sad, but really uplifting t

This book was just beautiful. It was sad, but really uplifting too. It is a touching and emotional story about overcoming bullying. I don't even know where to start with this review or even where to go with it really. I have been reading much more contemporary lately, b...
This book was just beautiful. It was sad, but really uplifting too. It is a touching and emotional story about overcoming bullying. I don't even know where to start with this review or even where to go with it really. I have been reading much more contemporary lately, but I still find it hard for me personally to review. This book broke my heart, but also made me smile. It's definitely a very emotionally draining book to read if you are a sympathetic reader.

Noelle is one of those characters you just really ache for. At some times I did feel a bit angry at her, but I totally understand why she did or didn't do certain things. High school is rough and it's a shame that she was embarrassed, but the fault really lies on her mother. It's sickening that her mother just kind of gives up and Noelle is basically trying to take care of herself. He mom is embarrassing, she is ashamed that she is poor and has nothing. I remember how horrible some kids can be to the people who didn't have as much. She isn't the only one getting picked on, but what is sad is that she is too ashamed to even hang out with another girl who is being bullied too. She is afraid that it will make things worse for her. She keeps saying how she wishes that people would do something, stand up for others, whatever, but then she won't do it either.

I loved Julian. He is such a great character. He is plenty well off, but he doesn't act all high and mighty like the other kids do. He isn't ashamed to talk to people who get picked on, or stand up for them. He doesn't feel the need to be in the cool crowd. He like Noelle because of who she is, not because of what she has, or more accurately, doesn't have. There needs to be more Julian's in this world. He is a good example of how people should treat each other and act. Is he perfect, no. Nobody is perfect, but he is pretty close.

The bullies made me so angry, but besides them, the teachers and others made me angry too. Like, how can the teachers just stand by and let people be treated so badly. Warren I totally wanted to punch in the face...repeatedly. And Carly too! Ugh! Just the things that they do and say it so horribly sad. They treat people however they want, throw food at people, push them verbally attack them, I could go on and on. My heart was aching through so much of this book.

I loved that Noelle still had a good friend to stick with her through things. Sharae was really awesome and always reassured Noelle that she was a great person. Noelle had still hid a lot of stuff from Sharae, but her are Sharae have a great heart to heard and tell each other about the secrets they have been hiding and how they feel. Sharae has her own issues in this book to that are very serious too.

This book was just very real. I have seen these things happen for real. This book brought out a lot of my emotions, mostly anger, anguish, and disappointment. So many of the characters really, really disappointed me, but that's realistically how it is. I also did feel very happy at a lot of moments. I liked the strength that Noelle eventually found in herself with the help of Sharae, Simon and Julian. I also loved how brave Sharae was. She not only stands by Noelle, but she stands up for herself and what is right where a lot of girls wouldn't. I highly recommend this book to teenagers and adults. The message in this book is just so heartbreaking, but wonderful. You can overcome bullying, don't let it define you. Find your inner strength.

posted by Amabe421 on May 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Upset

I opened this book, and instead of giving me a teen romance it gave me a history book. Very upset because i bought this book to read after my exams and now i can't. I can't contact a represetetive because of crazy traffic. So mad!

posted by 11358448 on June 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 30, 2012

    Definitely one of the best books I've ever read

    it took me a while to finally decide to buy this book. Considering I'm a 17 year old guy it didn't really catch my attention at first. After reading more about it, i came to the conclusion that it would be worth the money. It definitely was. Like Amabe421 said in her review, this book will break you down if you're a sympathetic reader. i found myself on the verge of tears throughout half of the book, and the other half teansing every muscle in my body ready to throw the book across the room because of how angry some of the characters made me. although this book is very emotional from a negative aspect, all of that energy is then focused on creating an inpspirational thought process from the main characters point of view. this positive thinking that Noelle later gets a hold of changes her life for the better, as well as the lives of those around her. she goes from a poor, rejected loser and bully victim to a courageous girl who learns to make the best out of her life. This book tought me so much on how important it is to make every second count and enjoy life with the ones you love, and how there is always hope no matter how bad your situation is - life will always get better. It also tought me that there is ALWAYS something to eat in the pantry and fridge. This is a must read for EVERY teen whether you have been bullied or not. it will teach you how valuble life is and how to not let a barricade(s) completely block you from your hopes and dreams. Defintely one of the best books I've ever read

    22 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    ...

    You kidding nosumary only... that must be a really interesting book but all her others are the best i love this author!!!!

    7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Hmm

    I wonder.... no summary?

    5 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    I hate your reviews.

    No offense, but this is for REVIEWS. Not effin summaries. We will read the author's summary to find out what it's about. Or maybe even...the book?! Yeah, this book was fascinating. A wonderful read. But ya'll are starting to piss me off, k?

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Wow!

    This book was pure AWESOME. I seriously love susane colasanti! I cried, laughed, and sang my heart out to this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Power to the ppl! Lol

    WoW! This book is a great read. From begining to end it had me hooked. I loved the charecters and how the heroine stayed strong. DONT GIVE IN TO THE ABUSE! like...who cares what ppl think. Its your life...do you like it? If not change. :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Really Relatable

    I really like this book because it addresses the subject of bullying with grace. It has had a huge impact on me and helped me open up about my own bullying experiences. If you have ever been bullied or known someone who was bullied I suggest you read this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Beatiful

    This book was so touching. I felt like the author wrote this book amazingly. It was something that people can relate to.
    Noelle is bullied. Every single day she wishes her life was better. She is neglacyed by her mother. Every single day there isnt enough food. She so hungry in class her stomach is always growling. Her mom never talks to her like a real mother should. All her mom does is complain about how Noelle ruined her life just by being born. Her mom was a pregnat teen. Her best friend is the only person she talks to and she doesnt even tell her everything. Her crush starts paying attention to her. But all she does is push him away. She thinks she's not good enough.
    This book reveals the struggles of her life. They show how things get better no matter how much you get bullies. I recomend this for anyone who is bullies. It will really help you get through all the bullying. Bullying is an issue around the world. So just know you are not alone amd things WILL get better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    K

    Omg i love this book so so so much you have to read it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Colisantiers!!!

    I am one of susane's biggest fans! Ever since i read something like fate she has become my favorite author!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    One of my fav books ever!!!

    This book is the best i rwad it like 10 times already!!! Everyone should read this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    AWESOME BOOK!!!!!!!

    This book is awesome. It tells of how an outsiders life is and how people feel bout themselves. Bullying is something that needs to be stopped. This book had had me stronger and made me see that no matter the bad that had happened or is going on in your life that hope,love, and friendship is always there and will help make you stronger. All the pain makes you stronger,therefore your still standing. That is how this awesome book made me feel. Read this amazing book "Keep Going On".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Grrr last book

    This is my last book from susan ! CANT WAIT !

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    amazing

    i luved this book. its sad and made me cry at.parts

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This story is really good. I mean so good, that I want to re-rea

    This story is really good. I mean so good, that I want to re-read it again.
    What I adore most about this book is how great the issue of bullying is written. The reader meets Noelle, a young girl who has been bullied for a long time. Builled by not only her peers but by her mothers. I adore the tough life that is painted out for the reader. Noelle is poor, in a single parent home and doing her best to survive and get the heck out of there. I loved her ambition to work, save money and go somewhere, where she is not a prisoner.


    The love interest in this book is exactly what I wanted. Nothing to fast, but a slow friendship that forms with trust and then love. I like that Noelle trust is hard to earn. He gave her the space that she needed and is there as a friend when the time came.


    The plot wholy captured me. I adore reading each new plot twist as well as the build up to Noelle buring strenght that she has gathered all these years. To finally stand up for herself. *fist pump* That part totally felt good. Like "Booyah! In your face" good.


    Keep Holding On paints a dark image of what bullying is like. It's not something pretty or documented with facts. It's raw and edgy with hope that anyone can hold on to. Masterfully written with a dark tale turned beautiful, this book you will need to read.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2012

    So ve So very true

    This book portrays a life in high school that luckily not every one has to face. But the pride and courage shown my noelle is one everyone should want. Colisanti did a great job showing the true world of high school without becoming fake. This is a must read for any hopeless romantic or bully hater.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2014

    Truth Teller

    This book opened my eyes even more. I always knew kids get bullied so much they wantto kill themselves or they actually do. I cried with this book because the emotion was so powerful. Sometimes people just need someone to be there for them when no one will. This book is an inspiration and an eye opener. I tecommed this book to anyone because we can help stop the bullying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    I loved it

    It was amazing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Loved it !!!

    I loved it I thought it was well written. I also think it was the best of all of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    A Must Read

    It really touched me because I have bullying problems too and it helped me get past my old sadness from years past. And I must agree with one of the reviews. THIS IS NOT FOR SUMMARIES!!!!!!! But minus the harshish words. Do people really have to add on to all the cussing there is already in the word?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3