Customer Reviews for

Keep Me Still

Average Rating 3.5
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good stort y Good story

I thought it was a good story but i wish it wasnt drawn out into three books. I hate waiting.

posted by 9902511 on August 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

HAS ANYBODY HAD TROUBLE GETTING THIS BOOK? I'V GOT BOOK2, BUT B

HAS ANYBODY HAD TROUBLE GETTING THIS BOOK? I'V GOT BOOK2, BUT BOOK1 SAY I'VE GOT ONE PAGE.

posted by wes2 on November 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Good stort y Good story

    I thought it was a good story but i wish it wasnt drawn out into three books. I hate waiting.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2014

    Cute

    Good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Quick note:  the edition that I just read included the novellas

    Quick note:  the edition that I just read included the novellas Let You Leave and Hold Us Close which in essence are the events leading up to and following the main novel, Keep Me Still.  I do recommend this edition, if for no other reason than you get more Landen!
    Keep Me Still is a novel by author Caisey Quinn and the first of her works that I have read.  Well, after this, I will be adding all of her other works to me to-read list (oh, goodie!  She’s got a bunch of books out!).  This book was a crazy, intense emotional trip that I absolutely loved.
    Among the many things Layla Flaherty has wished for in her life, being normal and happy are the two that mean the most.  She has been through more in her life than anyone should have to endure.  She lost her parents in a horrible act of violence that left her scarred emotionally and physically.  Even though you couldn’t actually see her physical scars, they have ruined her reputation at school in the form of a seizure disorder and threaten to ruin her chance at a normal life.  Things change, however, the minute new student and star soccer player Landen O’Brien moves to their school.  She thought things had changed for the good when they became fast and close friends that slowly grew to more.  Soon she realized that things actually changed for the worse when he broke her heart and ended up moving again…away from her.  Even a year later, freshly tucked into freshman year at college far away from her hometown and all those memories, she couldn’t forget him.  He was it for her and no one will ever live up.  Imagine her surprise when she finds out he’s on her college’s soccer team.  Is fate giving them another chance?  Would she be able to get over her broken heart now, with him here?
    As an army brat, Landen O’Brien was used to moving around.  He was also used to a crap home life with a less than warm and fuzzy father, to put it nicely.  The only good thing in his life was soccer….until he met Layla.  For once, he was thanking his lucky stars that they had to move again and that he ended up here, with Layla, in this small town in Georgia.  After spending time together, he knows he’s fallen hard and fast, but like all things in his life, nothing good lasts and he soon finds out he has to leave her.  He broke her heart the day he left and he knew enrolling at the same college she was going to may not be the best choice, but he has to try to get her back.  She was everything to him and he is going to do all he can to make her realize that.  Since he left her a year ago, he’s been planning this.  Even with his unanswered emails, texts, phone calls, he was determined.  Now, with a little undercover help from Layla’s aunt, he’s here and there’s no way is he going to let her slip away again.
    Layla and Landen embark on an emotional, moving, touching journey that will test their commitment to each other as well as to themselves.  Individually they carry their own heavy burdens and things will get hard along the way, but with love and trust in the bond they’ve found, they have the power to make it all work out in the end.  It may not be easy, but some things are worth fighting for.
    This book kicked my arse and I absolutely loved it.  Layla broke my heart at the beginning.  She was so damaged and lost and just plain sad.  To have gone through what she did and still be willing to try to get to some kind of normal life was so very admirable.  Then to see her grow with Landen’s help, and to gain some confidence was fantastic.  It was that confidence that had me loving her through the book.  After coming out of her shell, so to speak, she really learned that she could take charge of her future and that her scars and her past didn’t define her.  It was beautiful to see that change in her.  On the flip side, Landen ended up breaking my heart at the end.  He is a book boyfriend that I know tons of gals will be swooning over.  An adorable, all-American jock with a damaged side that slayed me.  Reading some of his scenes had me bawling my eyes out.  Of course, that made me love him even more.  His determination to be with Layla and his love for her was so real and intense.  The dynamic between Layla and Landen is amazing.  He helped her when she needed it most and pulled her from her darkness and eventually she has to do the same for him. Their trip to a happy ending is a really, really, REALLY rough one but so damn well deserved. Gut wrenching, sob inducing, heart breaking, emotional charged scenes put this book on my list of favorites.  I absolutely adore Layla and Landen and reading the last few pages of this book made me so very happy for them.
    Oh, and Layla’s roomie?  Corin…. KICKED ASS! That girl is a friend we all would be lucky to have.  She’s there for Layla when the chips are down and it honest even when the truth hurts.  Loved her!
    Yes, this is clearly one of my long and rambling reviews, because I just LOVED this book.  Again, I recommend getting the edition with the two novellas because, well, more is always better!  Thank you, Caisey, for Layla and Landen and for this amazing story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Star Rating: 4 stars Heat Rating: Sizzling/HOT Caisey Quinn





    Star Rating: 4 stars
    Heat Rating: Sizzling/HOT

    Caisey Quinn is a writer that can really tap into those younger characters and make the reader remember all the passion, drama and feelings that you go through when you are experiencing love for the first time.  Reading Keep Me Still, I was sent back in time remembering my first love and was able to connect to Layla and Landen on a more personal level.  I was captured by the first few pages of this story and hours went by as I was lost in this wonderful story of love that break or won't give up (it might bend a little).

    This version of Keep Me Still has the novella Let You Leave already in the book (it is a prequel), which is the best way to start the story.  Let You Leave introduces us to Layla and Landen, we get to know them as people, then as a pair before Keep Me Still begins.  Getting the background on these two characters is super important, it really enhances the story of Keep Me Still.  Then once you are done with Keep Me Still, you get to go right into the next novella, Hold Us Close (which is a lovely follow up/epilogue type sequel).

    I love Caisey Quinn's writing style.  Her stories flow naturally and turns regular words into beautiful heart-tugging stories that take you on an emotional journey that you can get lost in for hours.  The pacing was a bit fast in Keep Me Still, but it worked overall for the complete book, which encompasses all three stories: Let You Leave, Keep Me Still and Hold Us Close. (So I definitely recommend you make sure your copy of Keep Me Still includes the novellas, they really enrich Layla and Landen's story)

    Caisey Quinn won me over in Girl with Guitar with her storyline and original characters, and Layla and Landen in Keep Me Still stole my heart.  I love that you don't get cookie cutter characters, you get characters that are real, a little banged up and unique.    Layla and Landen were adorable.  I fell in love with them right away and was really put through the wringer with these two! My poor heart broke for them, I rooted for them and I found myself thinking about this book hours after I finished reading it and breaking out into a smile.

    Keep Me Still is just another example of why I love Caisey Quinn!  If you have read her Kylie Ryans series (Girl with Guitar) then you will love Layla and Landen!  And if for some reason you haven't read Caisey Quinn  (go and 1-click any and all of her books), you are in for a treat, she is one of my favorite author "finds" this year!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 7 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1