BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Keep Quiet

Average Rating 4
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

I am not a suspense person. I am a "life is scary enough&q

I am not a suspense person. I am a "life is scary enough" person but I had read Lisa Scottoline's non-fiction and loved it so I wanted to read the type of book she is most renowned for. I don't want to say anything that gives anything away. It was a great s...
I am not a suspense person. I am a "life is scary enough" person but I had read Lisa Scottoline's non-fiction and loved it so I wanted to read the type of book she is most renowned for. I don't want to say anything that gives anything away. It was a great story. The scenario of how things began was a little too realistic when you have kids that age which is what made it so suspenseful. It feels like what happened at the beginning of the book could happen. The story brings up the interesting point of how concerned we are with our kids' futures to the exclusion of what is actually happening in the present. Is what we imagine we want for their future more important than anything that's going on right now? But beyond that, it was just an incredibly suspenseful story that you just can't put down.

I received this book as a First Reads free copy. I loved it and it was a great opportunity to read Lisa Scottoline's fiction for the first time. I will definitely read more.

4/14/2014 A friend and patron at our library has read ALL of Lisa Scottoline's books but when she read this one she said it was her best ever. She read it in 3 hours and is suggesting it to all of her friends who also love it. She wanted me to add that to the review for her.

posted by L875 on April 14, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Scottoline's Best Book Thus Far- A Suspense Thriller!

As I began KEEP QUIET, this riveting thriller, via audiobook (highly recommend with narrator Ron Livingston), planning on a few chapters before bedtime, (you know just to relax and unwind)….KEEP QUIET hooked me within the first 10 minutes!

No way could I sleep, with ...
As I began KEEP QUIET, this riveting thriller, via audiobook (highly recommend with narrator Ron Livingston), planning on a few chapters before bedtime, (you know just to relax and unwind)….KEEP QUIET hooked me within the first 10 minutes!

No way could I sleep, with my heart pounding, waiting to see what would happen next to this family, hanging on by a thread, in this “on the edge of your seat “ (or bed), intense page-turner! I was glued to my iPod into the wee hours of the morning before finishing. KEEP QUIET is Lisa Scottoline’s best book yet. She is at the TOP of her game with another winner.

Having read many of Lisa’s books over the years, her last book, DON’T GO, (2013) 5 stars (highly recommend) and her latest KEEP QUIET (2014) a definite 5 stars+. Loving her fresh style and subject material, as an engaging and powerful read for a broad audience of teens, parents, adults-- men, and women, offering cutting edge topics, and trendy social media integration. (Love her strong titles with action words).

The mixture of law, family drama, flawed characters, and a legal thriller, combined with moral and ethical dilemmas – quite appealing.

Similar to Carla Buckley’s DEEPEST SECRET (great book), with the same premise of protecting one’s family with a hit and run accident; however, KEEP QUIET had its own unique identity and plot with a different twist, strong characters and emotion. When a cover up begins, things begin to unravel when a stranger threatens to expose creating another yet mystery.

How far would you go to protect your child? How one quick decision to bond with your teen could turn on a dime and ruin the lives of many. This realistic storyline could easily happen to any parent or teen, and Lisa tackles the issues, with emotion and clarity. A fast-paced psychological suspense dramatic novel with the unraveling of one family to the ultimate redemption.

Ideal for book clubs and discussions-- "what it means to be a parent and how far to go, to protect your child and family."

posted by quaintinns on April 18, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 14, 2014

    I am not a suspense person. I am a "life is scary enough&q

    I am not a suspense person. I am a "life is scary enough" person but I had read Lisa Scottoline's non-fiction and loved it so I wanted to read the type of book she is most renowned for. I don't want to say anything that gives anything away. It was a great story. The scenario of how things began was a little too realistic when you have kids that age which is what made it so suspenseful. It feels like what happened at the beginning of the book could happen. The story brings up the interesting point of how concerned we are with our kids' futures to the exclusion of what is actually happening in the present. Is what we imagine we want for their future more important than anything that's going on right now? But beyond that, it was just an incredibly suspenseful story that you just can't put down.

    I received this book as a First Reads free copy. I loved it and it was a great opportunity to read Lisa Scottoline's fiction for the first time. I will definitely read more.

    4/14/2014 A friend and patron at our library has read ALL of Lisa Scottoline's books but when she read this one she said it was her best ever. She read it in 3 hours and is suggesting it to all of her friends who also love it. She wanted me to add that to the review for her.

    21 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    It's about protecting one's family. And how far would you go? Th

    It's about protecting one's family. And how far would you go? The story follows Jake who goes to pick up Ryan at their suburban movie theater. On the way home, Jake let Ryan drive and they met with a tragic accident resulting in the death of a girl from school. Keep Quiet is all about the split second decision that Jake made at that critical moment which changes everything. But can a secret remain a secret for long? Things begin to unravel when a stranger threatens to expose everything. Gripping, impossible to put down. Grabs you in chapter one and never lets go. Just when you think nothing else could possibly change, there is another twist. I've always been a fan, this is one of her best!  

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    This was an intense and powerful storyline that really is a mind

    This was an intense and powerful storyline that really is a mind-blower. This psychological suspense thriller will not allow you to tear yourself away from the pages. Interesting, incrediblae and so worth your time. I recommend all of Lisa's books. She's amazing!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Awesome!

    I have never written a review and read at least a book a week. This is by far the best book I have read in years! I couldn't put it down, every turn of the page was a new twist. I didn't get much sleep in the two and a half days! Loved it! SO Columbus Ohio

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Scottoline's Best Book, Thus Far - A Thriller!

    As I began KEEP QUIET, this riveting thriller, via audiobook (highly recommend with narrator Ron Livingston), planning on a few chapters before bedtime, (you know just to relax and unwind)….KEEP QUIET hooked me within the first 10 minutes! No way could I sleep, with my heart pounding, waiting to see what would happen next to this family, hanging on by a thread, in this “on the edge of your seat “ (or bed), intense page-turner! I was glued to my iPod into the wee hours of the morning before finishing. KEEP QUIET is Lisa Scottoline’s best book yet. She is at the TOP of her game with another winner. Having read many of Lisa’s books over the years, her last book, DON’T GO, (2013) 5 stars (highly recommend) and her latest KEEP QUIET (2014) a definite 5 stars+. Loving her fresh style and subject material, as an engaging and powerful read for a broad audience of teens, parents, adults-- men, and women, offering cutting edge topics, and trendy social media integration. (Love her strong titles with action words). The mixture of law, family drama, flawed characters, and a legal thriller, combined with moral and ethical dilemmas – quite appealing. Similar to Carla Buckley’s DEEPEST SECRET (great book), with the same premise of protecting one’s family with a hit and run accident; however, KEEP QUIET had its own unique identity and plot with a different twist, strong characters and emotion. When a cover up begins, things begin to unravel when a stranger threatens to expose creating another yet mystery. How far would you go to protect your child? How one quick decision to bond with your teen could turn on a dime and ruin the lives of many. This realistic storyline could easily happen to any parent or teen, and Lisa tackles the issues, with emotion and clarity. A fast-paced psychological suspense dramatic novel with the unraveling of one family to the ultimate redemption. Ideal for book clubs and discussions-- "what it means to be a parent and how far to go, to protect your child and family."

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Scottoline's Best Book Thus Far- A Suspense Thriller!

    As I began KEEP QUIET, this riveting thriller, via audiobook (highly recommend with narrator Ron Livingston), planning on a few chapters before bedtime, (you know just to relax and unwind)….KEEP QUIET hooked me within the first 10 minutes!

    No way could I sleep, with my heart pounding, waiting to see what would happen next to this family, hanging on by a thread, in this “on the edge of your seat “ (or bed), intense page-turner! I was glued to my iPod into the wee hours of the morning before finishing. KEEP QUIET is Lisa Scottoline’s best book yet. She is at the TOP of her game with another winner.

    Having read many of Lisa’s books over the years, her last book, DON’T GO, (2013) 5 stars (highly recommend) and her latest KEEP QUIET (2014) a definite 5 stars+. Loving her fresh style and subject material, as an engaging and powerful read for a broad audience of teens, parents, adults-- men, and women, offering cutting edge topics, and trendy social media integration. (Love her strong titles with action words).

    The mixture of law, family drama, flawed characters, and a legal thriller, combined with moral and ethical dilemmas – quite appealing.

    Similar to Carla Buckley’s DEEPEST SECRET (great book), with the same premise of protecting one’s family with a hit and run accident; however, KEEP QUIET had its own unique identity and plot with a different twist, strong characters and emotion. When a cover up begins, things begin to unravel when a stranger threatens to expose creating another yet mystery.

    How far would you go to protect your child? How one quick decision to bond with your teen could turn on a dime and ruin the lives of many. This realistic storyline could easily happen to any parent or teen, and Lisa tackles the issues, with emotion and clarity. A fast-paced psychological suspense dramatic novel with the unraveling of one family to the ultimate redemption.

    Ideal for book clubs and discussions-- "what it means to be a parent and how far to go, to protect your child and family."

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Loved it

    Couldn't put this book down! Very thought provoking and lots of twists and turns. This would make a great movie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    Another great book from Lisa Scottoline that keeps you trying to figure out "who done it"to the last pages of the book.

    I would recommend this book to those who enjoy a pleasant reading experience with just the right mixture of intrigue and drama.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A page turner with a twist at the end

    Keep Quiet is an interesting story about a father and son bonding for the wrong reasons. It does make you want to get through the book so you can find out how everything works out.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2014

    could not put it down!

    Read this book at exactly the perfect time in my life when I was doing things for my daughter that I know where not right, but I wanted her to like me, instead of being strong and being the parent....thank you....you opened my eyes...great read...could not put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2014

    Do not bother

    Regardless of plot,the dialogue is juvinal at best. I think this wad a thrown together book to meet a publication deadline.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2014

    I enjoyed this book it was really great until

    the ending, i guess i thought it should of ended different. Kept my attention and didn't want to put it down but the ending was a let down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The novel begins with Jake and his teen-age son, Ryan, driving


    The novel begins with Jake and his teen-age son, Ryan, driving home late at night when they approach a dark empty road and the boy begs his father to allow him to drive. Against his better judgment and parental duty, he lets Ryan take the wheel despite the fact that it’s contrary to the law for one with only a learner’s permit to drive in the dark. Almost immediately, as the car turns a blind curve, he hits something which turns out to be a young girl, dressed in a black jogger’s outfit. Jake rushes out of the car and attempts CPR, but the girl is dead.

    Jake decides the ramifications for Ryan’s future life would be too onerous, and they leave the scene of the accident. From this unlikely decision, after all the circumstances probably and logically would result in little if any legal penalties given the facts surrounding the event, the plot moves forward with a myriad of complications affecting Jake, Ryan and Pam, wife and mother, who is a judge sitting in a state appellate court.

    The story is an interesting one, but is over-told, with numerous repetitions of one or another character being sorry and feeling dread. Supposedly, the tale poses the question: What would you do to protect your loved ones and family? Furthermore, the conclusion is as unbelievable as the original premise for the novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    Excellent reading and real life issues. Full of twists and turns and I have already made a suggestion for a book club reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2014

    highly recommended

    I was completely taken by surprise by the ending. Read the book in 2days..could not put it down.

    Will look for her other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Guy

    Runs to true

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2014

    I almost stopped reading this after the first 50 pages, but kept

    I almost stopped reading this after the first 50 pages, but kept going and was disappointed the whole way thru. The premise is awful. I'm not a fan of books where the kid is smarter than the parent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    I want more and will buy more from this superb author. I couldn

    I want more and will buy more from this superb author. I couldn't put this book down. My husband even commented because I kept taking it with me around the house so I could keep reading, and not much else got down. Finished it in 2 days, maybe 3. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2014

    Great book

    Really good book. Loved it and i am starting to read it. So far so good. I love this book :) Rachael if u have any questions just ask me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2014

    This book is very intense and addictive. This is a story about

    This book is very intense and addictive. This is a story about something that could really happen, about a family ripping its self apart trying to protect one another. Split 
    decisions, morals, judgements, parenting and salvation? Overall I really liked this book, however the mom & dads relationship at the end wasn't very believable.Keep quiet: Lisa Scottoline
    This book is very intense and addictive. This is a story about something that could really happen, about a family ripping its self apart trying to protect one another. Split 
    decisions, morals, judgements, parenting and salvation? Overall I really liked this book, however the mom & dads relationship at the end wasn't very believable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4