Customer Reviews for

Keep the Change: A Clueless Tipper's Quest to Become the Guru of the Gratuity

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2011

    Good book but...

    I enjoyed reading this book after reading his first, waiter rant... the downside is however, that he mentions his first book a little too much, it almost came off as being too commercial.... it made me feel like even he agrees that his first book was better, he couldnt stop talking about it. Very insightful and relatable, however it lacked the 'heartfelt ranting' seen in his first novel.... a bit disappointing, get it keeping in mind that they are two separate books, dont expect the same thing twice...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A good read.

    I enjoyed this book as it gives an inside look at tipping. From waiters and baristas to dry cleaners and valet parking, the author examines social protocal for tipping situations. Highly entertaining and humorous though I still enjoyed WAITER RANT (his first book) a little more. -Michael

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An Entertaining and Informative Read into the World of Tipping

    For anyone who consistently tips (this probably means you)"Keep the Change" is a must read. It is poignantly and at other times uproariously insightful in providing a behind the scene look not only of the history and culture of tipping but of the people and their professions. Once you read this book you cannot help but to better understand and appreciate the art of tipping. I became a big fan of Dublanica after reading his first book "Waiter Rant" that chronicled his life as a New York City waiter. Dublanica makes you understand that waiters, are more than just robotic individuals who fetch meals for their customers: you actually get a intimate look at the demands, rewards and sacrifices of this profession through some hillarious, maddening and very personal stories. It his experience as a past waiter in understanding the value of a tip that makes him connect well with others in various service industries, and we the readers are the benefactors of these stories from the card dealers in Vegas to the bartenders in L.A. to the doormen in New York and the parking attendant in Florida. Their are also first-hand tipping stories about chambermaids, bathroom attendants, furniture movers, strippers, limo and taxi drivers and a shoeshine man to name just a few. You learn some fascinating stuff. You learn that many in these services must live or die on their tips. That many of these vendors don't even make mimimun wage. And in some cases have to give back a portion of their tips. You learn how service providers work their profession to extract the best tips they can make. You understand from these providers what "little extras" their customers get for a good tip and what they get if there demanding and tip lousy. You also find out who gets bad ratings for tipping (Lexus drivers at car washes) and Canadians in general. And you will be stun to find out what sport superstars are at the bottom of the tipping scale in Vegas. Service providers tipping others services proviers are considered the best category of tippers. You will also learn about the inner working of their professions and you will come away with less misconceptions and more admiration for these workers. You will find that the shoeshine man is doing exactly what he wants and takes as much pride in his job as a Supreme Court justice. And of course you will become a better tipper by reading this book. For example, I didn't realize that you shouldn't leave your accumulated tip the last day of your stay at a hotel. I always thought that the tip would be split among the chambermaids who clean the room during my stay: that is not the case. Chances are the person who cleans the room last will get the whole tip. Therefore, you're better tipping on a daily basis. That's just one example among others I learned. Finally, this book is much more than just about tipping. It is a rare look at a group of service workers who we literally knew little about till now, and many took for granted. Dublanica is becoming the Studs Terkel of the 21st Century when it comes to writing about worker's. If you enjoyed Terkel's "Working", you will love "Keep the Change". That's my tip to you!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    A Lap Dance Right in the Sample

    There's a lap dance right in the sample, seriously? I hope it falls off, you skank! This is so gross...

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    A handbook for gratuity

    Well-researched, clearly written, and an intriguing read. A go-to manual for the vagaries of tipping, written in Dublanica's signature breezy style peppered with wry humor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2011

    Kritters Ramblings

    What an insightful book! From the author of Waiter Rant, which I will soon pick up - he dives into the details of tipping for every profession. A topic that affects every person in the USA - how much should I tip?

    I thought going into reading this book that I knew a lot about who to tip and how much to tip - in some cases this book proved me right and in other cases I was so wrong. I loved how he designed the hotel chapter, to go through how each job should be tipped by means of the order that you meet them when you check into a hotel - doorman to maid and beyond. There were some jobs that I couldn't believe were tipped at all and then learning about those who rely 90% on tips, unbelievable. So I will be keeping this book on hand for future reference and to loan out to others.

    A recommendation for male and female of all ages. Even an interesting read to give to a recent college grad who is entering the world of paying all bills on their own, even ones that include tips.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love this Author!

    I read this book after I discovered Steve Dublanica in "Waiter Rant". This book was almost as much fun and educational. I already knew a lot about tipping from jobs I have held in the past, but it did cast new light onto several jobs I have not.
    I do not know what type of book the author will come up with next, but I am a loyal follower.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    recommend

    this is a good read for general information about tipping but it gets a bit off track at times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1