Customer Reviews for

The Keeper of Lost Causes (Department Q Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 126 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(64)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

More great Scandinavian crime fiction

Detective Carl Morck reports back to work after being injured on the job. One partner died, the other hospitalized indefinitely. Carl is a flawed character, seemingly difficult to work with, so he is assigned to a new unit, Department Q. Relegated to the basement, ass...
Detective Carl Morck reports back to work after being injured on the job. One partner died, the other hospitalized indefinitely. Carl is a flawed character, seemingly difficult to work with, so he is assigned to a new unit, Department Q. Relegated to the basement, assigned as an assistant an old Syrian, Assad, who won't leave the department alone, Carl passes time making piles of cold case folders. Eventually required to report something upstairs, Carl touches on the Merete Lynngaard disappearance and with Assad strangely helpful, Carl delves into the five year old mystery. I look forward to more books about Department Q and Carl Morck. I can only hope Adler-Olsen has already written them, the quicker to be translated and released on the American market.

posted by ethel55 on July 31, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

Copycat

Cover and layout is such an obvious duplicate of the Dragon Tattoo series that it's downright embarrassing. Apparently, there is only one cover-art designer in Denmark.

posted by SmokyMtnInngineer on August 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    More great Scandinavian crime fiction

    Detective Carl Morck reports back to work after being injured on the job. One partner died, the other hospitalized indefinitely. Carl is a flawed character, seemingly difficult to work with, so he is assigned to a new unit, Department Q. Relegated to the basement, assigned as an assistant an old Syrian, Assad, who won't leave the department alone, Carl passes time making piles of cold case folders. Eventually required to report something upstairs, Carl touches on the Merete Lynngaard disappearance and with Assad strangely helpful, Carl delves into the five year old mystery. I look forward to more books about Department Q and Carl Morck. I can only hope Adler-Olsen has already written them, the quicker to be translated and released on the American market.

    15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    Another great Scandanavian author

    Received ARC from Net Galley. A bit slow getting started (about 60 pgs) but definitely picked up and well worth the time. Inspector Carl Morck gets assigned to the newly formed Q Department (reminded me of Peter Benchley's Q Clearance). He's been assigned the old, unsolved cases and an assistant, Assad. The first case they re-open involves the suicide (was it??) of a goverment official (jumped from a ferry boat...or did she). Narratives switches back and forth from 2002 (when the 'suicide' took place) to 2007 when Carl re-opens the case. The villian's character is well developed and the tension steadily builds. Evolved into a real page turner. Great book by another (of many) accomplished and highly entertaining Scandanavian authors.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very Good Book

    I really enjoyed this book and the characters of detective Carl Mork and his assistant Assad in Department Q. The story drew me in from the beginning. There were a few spots in the book that were a little too slow paced for my liking, but it didn't detract from the overall tension for me of whether Carl would solve the mystery before it was too late for the victim. I also found myself laughing quite a bit throughout at Carl's opinion of some of his co-workers and at some of Assad's antics. I so wish everyone would stop comparing every book to The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo trilogy. Yes, I really liked all three books in that series. But in my opinion, this story was in no way, shape or form anything like Stieg Larsson's books, which I'm grateful for. If I want to read the same storyline over and over I'll just go back to those books and re-read them. The Keeper of Lost Causes was a great story with great characters that kept my interest throughout. I really hope the translation of the next book in the Department Q series hits the USA soon. I will definitely spend my money on that one as well.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    A Great Read

    I choose this book based on how much I enjoyed the Millenium Series and it did not fail me. First I must say that I don't like reading trillers where the victim get torn apart, shot to death or in some way tortured on the pages of the book. This crime novel has a victim and it does describe what she is going through, but it was in no way as disgusting as some crime novels I have read. I loved the detective team Carl and Assad. Assad's character brings a lot to the story for entertainment value and solving the crime. I definitely recommend this book to crime novel readers who don't like the gore that a lot of our novels possess. I am hoping that Jussi Adler-Olsen will now have the rest of this series translated for the American reading audience.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Delightful, suspenseful, and makes you root for the good guys.

    Don't get confused by the title. You'll soon find yourself enjoying "The Keeper of Lost Causes" with its subtle humor, interesting characters, and a unique take on kidnapping. Although this reader is usually wary of foreign police detective stories, I found myself moving through this story quickly, eagerly waiting to see where it would take me to next.
    Carl Morck is back to work in Copenhagen's homicide department after a murder investigation gone wrong, where one of his teammates died and another ended up paralyzed. He is promoted to Department Q, a newly created department in charge of what in layman's terms are called cold cases. Relegated to the basement and with the help of his enigmatic "assistant", Morck reluctantly eases himself into a five-year-old kidnapping case of Danish politician, Merete Lynggaard, as well as keeping his nose into current cases, including the one which temporarily put him out of action. The story jumps back and forth between the present day investigations and showing the horror Lynggaard suffers at the hands of her tormentors throughout the years.
    This story is character driven from the surly Mrs. Sorenson to the gruff, but empathetic Jacobsen to the mentally damaged Uffe. Adler-Olsen doesn't throw away minor characters, but brings them into a new light and shows the effect they have on others. You really feel the anguish of Lynggaard in her prison, the frustration of Morck with his assistant's tidbits of knowledge, his wife's constant nagging, and his tenant's quirks and sympathy for a confused Uffe. Despite the foreign locale, the unpronounceable Danish names, and the fact this reader deduced the bad guy early on, this award winning author's story is delightful, suspenseful, and makes you root for the good guys.
    Reviewed by Stephen L. Brayton, author of "Night Shadows" for Suspense Magazine

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    We hear you

    But who cares about your opinion of cover and layout. Was it or not a good book. What a bore you are

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    Recommended

    I especially like the detective in this novel. He is flawed like Wallander, but in a good way. The suspense builds and the ending is satisfying. I look forward to more from this series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    One of the best detective stories I have read yet.

    One of the best detective stories I have read yet.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    Very Good

    I hope this is the beginning of a new series. I definitely want more

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2011

    Copycat

    Cover and layout is such an obvious duplicate of the Dragon Tattoo series that it's downright embarrassing. Apparently, there is only one cover-art designer in Denmark.

    3 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    This is NOT under $5

    This not undet $5!!! ITS $9.99

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    A fun read

    Just a fun read. Can't wait for more translations.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    looking forward to the next one

    well plotted and characters are believable

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great characters!

    Yes, there is a plethora (I love that word) of Nordic and Scandinavian authors making their names known in North America lately, but here's one you want to take note of and write down - Jussi Adler-Olsen. Adler-Olsen is the author of the "Department Q" series featuring Carl Morck. The Keeper of Lost Causes is the first in the series and newly released in North America.

    "Twenty-five years on the police force and ten in the homicide division has hardened him. That's how things had gone until the day when a murder case pierced his armour." Both figuratively and literally.

    Carl has just returned to the force since a situation gone terribly wrong leaves his partner paralyzed and Carl seriously wounded. His usual inability to get along with others gets even worse as he attempts to come to terms with his guilt. His superior, under pressure to deal with cold cases, see a win-win situation. Assign Carl to head up what will be the new 'Department Q'. And the department consists of only Carl until he demands an administrative assistant. Assad is assigned to work in the basement with Carl. Assad is a bit of a mystery as we come to discover.

    The interplay between these two characters is fantastic. Carl's skills as a detective really are unparalleled in the department. Assad's myriad set of skills are revealed as the two work together reopening the case of a missing politician, gone for five years and presumed drowned.

    The politician's fate is slowly revealed in flashback chapters as Carl and Assad uncover more and more that indicates the case was never properly investigated the first time.

    "She was going to look after herself. For them she was the woman in the cage, but she was the one who decide how far apart the bars would be. She would think thought that opened out on to the world and kept madness at bay. They would never break her. that's what she decided as she lay there on the floor...."

    This was just a fantastic read for me. Adler-Olsen's dialogue runs the gamut from comic to compassionate. The plot is frightening and well thought out. The manner in which the case is slowly revealed was absolutely addicting, keeping me reading until late in the night. Carl's personal life is a mess, providing a secondary plot line that was also entertaining. But it is the flawed characters of Carl and Assad that are the real draw for me.

    A five star read for me - highly recommended. Adler-Olsen has released the fourth book of the Department Q series in Denmark. This reader will be eagerly awaiting the next North American release.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    Excellent read.

    Looking forward to more from this author. Captured my interest from the first chapter, liked the characters and moved along quickly . Read it in three days.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2012

    Interesting Book

    This was good, not as good as the "Dragon" books, but good. Some what more predictible, but I am looking forward to other Adler-Olsen trillers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Fantastic

    A book that is pure pleasure to read. This is a first rate translation. Sure wish there was another available because I am ready for more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    While I liked the Department Q team, the over-the-top ridiculous

    While I liked the Department Q team, the over-the-top ridiculous villain had me rolling my eyes through the whole book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2014

    This is just a great mystery read. I love the characters and th

    This is just a great mystery read. I love the characters and the pacing, and the story is good and makes sense. People keep comparing it to the Dragon Tattoo books, but it's not nearly so dark. The main characters have secrets, but they also inspire trust (to the extent that I trust fictional characters...hmmm...). I really enjoyed it and read it quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    STRIKING TO ALL

    MOVE TO RES TWO

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 126 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7