Customer Reviews for

Keeper of the Lost Cities

Average Rating 5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

I would love to blame Tina for the fact I'm reviewing a "mi

I would love to blame Tina for the fact I'm reviewing a "middle school" book, but Tina isn't at fault. The author of this book is. That's right, I'm blaming the author Shannon Messenger. It's okay, I can, I'm friends with the author. Friends in the sense I bot...
I would love to blame Tina for the fact I'm reviewing a "middle school" book, but Tina isn't at fault. The author of this book is. That's right, I'm blaming the author Shannon Messenger. It's okay, I can, I'm friends with the author. Friends in the sense I bother her via email and twitter. But that won't skew the review. I recently became friends with Messenger via snark, Saved by the Bell, and mocking of each other. I've read her blog for awhile now and quietly kept to myself, one day I wasn't quiet anymore, commented and we quickly bantered back and forth and amazingly I haven't scared her yet! (YAY!) It's probably for the best Shannon doesn't live closer to me because we would eat all the In-N-Out Cheeseburgers and she would get no work done. But as awesome as Messenger is, her book is even more awesome.

Really, it is possible. Almost every email to Tina during the period of me reading this book involves me yelling at Tina "YOU NEED TO READ KEEPER NOW." The book is about a girl named Sophie, who's 12 and in high school. Right?! I didn't enjoy high school when I had to go through it I can't picture having to go through it at the age of 12. But Sophie has a secret, Sophie is a Telepath. Has been since the age of 5 and no one knows. However one day a boy name Fitz appears and tells her that she isn't alone. That he, too, can read minds, but he isn't from here.

He's from another world, a world that knows nothing about where she's from. An ATM? An iPod? They know nothing about this technology. It is an amazing world that Messenger built because it is nothing like the United States in 2012. She had to create a whole new world, that is similar to the world we live in and yet nothing like it at all, all at the same time. Also, Messenger's world building? Amazing. She thought of everything, down to the smallest detail which is much appreciated as a reader.

Once in the "new world," Sophie is taken in by a family made up of Grady and Edaline, who have their own background issues, that get explained Messenger makes them, and family such an important part of this story to the point I may have shed a tear or two (okay many) various times in the story because I wanted to reach in and grab certain characters and tell them it would be okay, even though, to be honest, I had no idea myself if everyone would be okay. I only hoped.

Sophie is also extremely realistic. She has a stuffed blue elephant, who she can't live without and is one of the few things she takes from her current life before going to her new life. She freaks out, she doesn't fit in, she's an extremely realistic 12 year old girl. And then there are the boys in her life. The first boy in her life is Fitz. He's literally the first boy in her new life, he is a fellow telepath who's parents help her become accustomed to her new world. Then there is Dex, who ends up being her BFF, he hates Fitz with a passion and doesn't trust him, but trusts Sophie. Last there is the `bad' boy, Keefe. Oh Keefe, he's snarky, sarcastic, and he ditches class but he really likes Sophie and enjoys mocking Sophie. This is probably one of the reasons I relate to Keefe. I'm not saying that I ditched class, I didn't. I was the annoying one who was on time and never missed a day (yes, I hate me, too.) But the snark and the mocking? That's all me. My one friend jokes that if I'm nice to you, you should watch out, I love by being mean. Which is why I relate to Keefe and the snark.

And yes, there is already Team Dex, Team Keefe, and Team Fitz, shockingly I am Team Sophie. Yes, Team Sophie! Girl power! Sophie isn't a weakling. She handles the fact that her world is legitimately turned upside down quite well. If I was taken away from the only family I ever knew, I'd lose it. And while Sophie did lose it, she had an amazing path to self-discovery throughout this whole book.

I finished this book and wanted to re-read it right away. Lately that rarely happens to me and a book. This book ends on a perfect note and yet leaves me wanting more. Thankfully this is going to be a trilogy. And, Messenger has another series coming out next year! I'd throw confetti in the air if that would be responsible, and I wouldn't have to clean it up.

posted by girlandhernook on January 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

Balrg

I hated it. Fantasy is retarded.

posted by 9451455 on November 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    I would love to blame Tina for the fact I'm reviewing a "mi

    I would love to blame Tina for the fact I'm reviewing a "middle school" book, but Tina isn't at fault. The author of this book is. That's right, I'm blaming the author Shannon Messenger. It's okay, I can, I'm friends with the author. Friends in the sense I bother her via email and twitter. But that won't skew the review. I recently became friends with Messenger via snark, Saved by the Bell, and mocking of each other. I've read her blog for awhile now and quietly kept to myself, one day I wasn't quiet anymore, commented and we quickly bantered back and forth and amazingly I haven't scared her yet! (YAY!) It's probably for the best Shannon doesn't live closer to me because we would eat all the In-N-Out Cheeseburgers and she would get no work done. But as awesome as Messenger is, her book is even more awesome.

    Really, it is possible. Almost every email to Tina during the period of me reading this book involves me yelling at Tina "YOU NEED TO READ KEEPER NOW." The book is about a girl named Sophie, who's 12 and in high school. Right?! I didn't enjoy high school when I had to go through it I can't picture having to go through it at the age of 12. But Sophie has a secret, Sophie is a Telepath. Has been since the age of 5 and no one knows. However one day a boy name Fitz appears and tells her that she isn't alone. That he, too, can read minds, but he isn't from here.

    He's from another world, a world that knows nothing about where she's from. An ATM? An iPod? They know nothing about this technology. It is an amazing world that Messenger built because it is nothing like the United States in 2012. She had to create a whole new world, that is similar to the world we live in and yet nothing like it at all, all at the same time. Also, Messenger's world building? Amazing. She thought of everything, down to the smallest detail which is much appreciated as a reader.

    Once in the "new world," Sophie is taken in by a family made up of Grady and Edaline, who have their own background issues, that get explained Messenger makes them, and family such an important part of this story to the point I may have shed a tear or two (okay many) various times in the story because I wanted to reach in and grab certain characters and tell them it would be okay, even though, to be honest, I had no idea myself if everyone would be okay. I only hoped.

    Sophie is also extremely realistic. She has a stuffed blue elephant, who she can't live without and is one of the few things she takes from her current life before going to her new life. She freaks out, she doesn't fit in, she's an extremely realistic 12 year old girl. And then there are the boys in her life. The first boy in her life is Fitz. He's literally the first boy in her new life, he is a fellow telepath who's parents help her become accustomed to her new world. Then there is Dex, who ends up being her BFF, he hates Fitz with a passion and doesn't trust him, but trusts Sophie. Last there is the `bad' boy, Keefe. Oh Keefe, he's snarky, sarcastic, and he ditches class but he really likes Sophie and enjoys mocking Sophie. This is probably one of the reasons I relate to Keefe. I'm not saying that I ditched class, I didn't. I was the annoying one who was on time and never missed a day (yes, I hate me, too.) But the snark and the mocking? That's all me. My one friend jokes that if I'm nice to you, you should watch out, I love by being mean. Which is why I relate to Keefe and the snark.

    And yes, there is already Team Dex, Team Keefe, and Team Fitz, shockingly I am Team Sophie. Yes, Team Sophie! Girl power! Sophie isn't a weakling. She handles the fact that her world is legitimately turned upside down quite well. If I was taken away from the only family I ever knew, I'd lose it. And while Sophie did lose it, she had an amazing path to self-discovery throughout this whole book.

    I finished this book and wanted to re-read it right away. Lately that rarely happens to me and a book. This book ends on a perfect note and yet leaves me wanting more. Thankfully this is going to be a trilogy. And, Messenger has another series coming out next year! I'd throw confetti in the air if that would be responsible, and I wouldn't have to clean it up.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    COULDNT LOVE IT MORE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    if you have any doubts about getting this book. Dont hesitate!
    its soooooooooooo AWESOME! i mean its like shes a 12 year old girl thats completely lost and hopeless then this extremely cute boy finds her and kinda shows her who she is. If you liked Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, any 12 year old girl will totally love this book. :-) !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2012

    BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :)

    This book is about a 12 year old girl named Sophie who doesn't belong in the human world.One day a mysterious boy named Fitz tells Sophie who she really is and where she does belong.Although Sophie is new she makes many friends and even becomes popular but she still has trouble on certain things that could change her future and a mysterious secret that people want to know.BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!! :)







    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Excellent for tweens

    Fantasy in line with Harry Potter and Gregor the Overlander with 12 year old girl as main character, instead of usual boy. My junior high daughters loved it, so I had to read it and found it a fun adventure.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    LOVE!!!!

    LOVE!!!!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Anonymous

    This is a book that should make anyone who has read it proud to have entered this amazing fictional realm. I can think of no fiction books to compare to this amazing read. I strongly recommend this book to lovers of harry potter, septimus heap, and other such books. No book deserves a place on peoples shelf more than this one.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Awsome!!!!

    deffinatly a must read. it was more and way better than i thought it would be. the characters are great and the descriptions are so vived i could actually picture the scenes. the whole story line was just amazing and totally worth reading.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Love!!

    Ive read harry potter setimus heap and percy jackson but this is high up on my favorites. Im in middle school and this book is awesome, hilarious.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Amazing!!!!!!!! :D

    My mom order it a while ago in hardcover and I didn't find out about it until I found it a few weeks ago. I spent an entire weekend reading it, I couldn't put it down. Can't wait for number 2 to come out in October, deffenitly am excited!!!!!!!!! :D

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Loved it

    This book was sooooo totaly AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!; )

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Cool

    I love this book. It beats almost all the kinds of books i like to read! Its a combination of of giants and ice and the pecular! And that is a good combination!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Amazing

    I would DEFINITLY read the sequel(when it comes out)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2013

    I actually read this book a few months ago and am kicking my sel

    I actually read this book a few months ago and am kicking my self for A) not reading it sooner and B) not getting the review up until now.

    I don't read too much middle grade and I really need to because there are some great things happening in that corner of the bookstore that I just cannot ignore. When I do read MG I tend to lean towards Fantasy, and so when I heard about Keeper of the Lost Cities I was in. And boy am I glad I picked it up!! I fell in love with both the plot and the characters.

    Sophie is a great main character, she is both strong but she has just enough insecurity to be relatable. She also reacts to things in a similar way that I would think I would. Even though she is a lot stronger than I would be in her situation. All the secondary characters help bring this world to life.

    The world that Shannon Messenger has created is so original and beautiful, if I could visit I totally would. And I hate to say this but the whole book had a very Harry Potter vibe. It is completely different but the magic was there like when I read Harry Potter.

    This is a long book but younger readers should not be afraid because it just flies by, and by the end I was clamoring for the next book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    This just in, Keeper of the Lost Cities is the new must read

    This book is a great read that you will definitely like if you love to read fantasy and adventure, mixed in with a little reality. This book has lots of stuff any body that is a fan of the following series: Percy Jakson (all series conected to Rick Riordan), Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, and any series coherent to one of these topics. Many people will feel sad points in this book and might cry, I did it myself. This is a book that inflicts lots of points of sorrow and lots of adventure. This could be the next Harry Potter or Lord of the Rings, who knows, it might have its own lego sets, and/or movies. I am truly exited for the book, and if there are going to be books after that, I will make sure to get them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    When

    When does the second book come out? I read this amazing book LAST YEAR and still no second :(

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Love it!

    I cant wait to read the next ones. I enjoyed this book a lot.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    So incredibly Amazing

    I havent finished the book yet but already it is an incredible story. Cant wait to read the rest of them. HIGHLY RECCOMENDED

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    This book is wesome i love the main character

    I love it so much!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    My kids loved it.  Read the entire book and asked for the next b

    My kids loved it.  Read the entire book and asked for the next book because this one didn't end....lol

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Balrg

    I hated it. Fantasy is retarded.

    2 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3