BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Keeping

Average Rating 4.5
( 7654 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4957)

4 Star

(1774)

3 Star

(557)

2 Star

(183)

1 Star

(183)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

91 out of 98 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended!

I had to follow up and read this one since I enjoyed the previous book The Mating. This one was even better. The chemistry between hero and heroin was off the charts.The hero was a bad boy and I'm a sucker for those. The story it self kept me clicking the pages. This on...
I had to follow up and read this one since I enjoyed the previous book The Mating. This one was even better. The chemistry between hero and heroin was off the charts.The hero was a bad boy and I'm a sucker for those. The story it self kept me clicking the pages. This one had more action in it. A plus. It takes a while to get the info you need before things come together and get interesting. Hang in there though because it's great. Great Job Nicky Charles. You have a new fan here. I can't wait for the next one. Keep them coming.

posted by Amiee_Novelnose on January 19, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Good if you stick with it until the end!

I loved The Mating so I was excited for this next installment in the series. I was disappointed for the first 150-200 pages. It was good, but did not grab me from the beginning like The Mating did. I kept waiting for something to happen and kept wondering how the author...
I loved The Mating so I was excited for this next installment in the series. I was disappointed for the first 150-200 pages. It was good, but did not grab me from the beginning like The Mating did. I kept waiting for something to happen and kept wondering how the author would work out all the issues with the characters. I did love how she kept giving updates on Elise and Kane from the first book! By the end, she tied almost everything up in a pretty nice bow (but still left a lot hanging for the third book). It really picked up in the last 100 pages or so and that mostly made up for the slow start. I am on to The Finding now!

posted by CrescentBlue on April 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Sexually Over the Top

    The story was interesting, but the explicit sex scenes detracted from it. I do not have problem with sexual details, but after a certain point it becomes trashy.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Liked book but......

    I really enjoyed "The Mating" and couldn't wait to move to "The Keeping". HOWEVER , I wonder if the writer is aware of the fact that Ryne sexually assaults the reporter? I found that disturbing along with the way the men dominate the women. Rape is never acceptable or sexy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Zb

    Bv ab w q #& bzg S vctsa sg

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Eh....

    While I love most of her books, it was very hard for me to get into this book until about halfway. I think this was my least favorite of all her books. I expected more about Elise and Kane as I have grown very found of those two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    GREAT BOOKS - I have read all 4 I have been reading novels sin

    GREAT BOOKS - I have read all 4


    I have been reading novels since I was a teenager until now.  I am 47 this year.  I say all of that to get to the fact that I am hearing impaired an T.V and videos don't work for me. I  do not know but perhaps because reading is my single source of relaxation in the house, I can read extremely fast.  I can finish 3 books a day, 2 if my non driving teenager needs me.  I have read many of the popular author, Jessika Anderson, Keri Arthur, and some of the great authors of the romance writers such as Beatrice Small and Catherine Coulter as well as many others. I guess the greatest compliment I could give would be to say if tomorrow you advertise a new book and it was running the paper back average of $7.99, I would buy it. I read paranormal contemporary,historical romance and erotica and your book was just as good.  Keep them comin, Nicky.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    Free but

    It had a good story line which which was mostly rushed through to get to the next romantic scenes. Which is a shame. Pull back on the romantic scenes and beef up the story line some more and it would have been a great read. Interesting character development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    End Chapters?

    The end chapters after 35 are missing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    alpha seems to mean jerk

    I didnt enjoy this book. tried to but I failed to see any of those "attractive" qualities the hero supposedly had. Melody is spineless pushover

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    Im having trouble finishing this one..

    I read The Mating and LOVED it! Im on page 490 of this one though and constantly find myself skimming not just paragraphs but pages, so far its rather dull. So far I dislike the newcomer and am certainly not rooting for her. Glad to have the expansion on Ryne, though. Hopefully something picks this book up soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Nope

    Not much in character development or story just a lot of soft porn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Again, the sex was overdone

    Just like the first book - I skimmed over most of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    At least they're free...

    I read the entire series. The very first book was pretty entertaining but the other three were cheesy, even for romance novels. Loads of spelling errors and punctuation errors. The idea was sound but the books fell flat. Hey, though, they're free, so why not read them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Pretty good

    You can kinda guess whats going to happen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    frustrating!

    i like the writing and story but omg it drags...if she cut the 1100 pages in half it would be perfect. i dont need 5 pages on what the bar looks like. i really want to finish but...i just dont think i can. ugh, so frustrating! if it waa just shorter it woukd be a master piece

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Not the worst read ever.

    The entire trilogy is set on an interesting premise, yet the stories would've been better had they gone through a workshop of sorts. However, they are not the worst thing ypu can spend some time reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    The first books name...

    For the person who wrote on the 14th... if you haven't figured out the name of the first book it's called " The Mating"...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Book name?

    Does anyone happen to know the name of the first book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Anonymous

    Not enough emotional connection between main characters. Too much detail of the plot. Not enough romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    HIGHLY RECOMMEND

    This book is GREAT. When a friend of mine told me to read it, I thought no way, this is not my kind of book. Once I started to read it, I could not put it down. It is a WONDERFUL read and recommend for any one to read this book. Regardles of what your interests are in books, you find yourself also not being able to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    werewolves

    it was ok

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10